We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Salzburg
  
Ways to Experience Salzburger Altstadt
from $18.66
More Info
from $23.20
More Info
from $60.77
More Info
from $131.49
More Info
Reviews (8,790)
Filter reviews
8,790 results
Traveler rating
6,214
2,182
322
48
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,214
2,182
322
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town narrow streets every corner beautiful city lots of shops walk around christmas market mozart's birthplace salzach river on foot walking tour mirabell gardens salzburg card sound of music tour altstadt architecture tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 8,790 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Beautiful old town and relatively compact.

The old city walls can still be seen in some parts while the Hohensalzburg Castle dominates from the hill. Various historical landmarks dot the old town.

The streets are narrow and winding, typical of medieval European towns yet paved and clean. These were the streets that Mozart, Von Karajan and other composers would have walked on in the past.

Even more recent, some parts of the old town was used as the scene for the famous The Sound of Music movie and the streets and shops that Maria and the Von Trapp children passed on the horse cart in the Do Re Mi song are still recognisable now.

We just came back from holiday in Austria but my wife said she already missed Salzburg.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank AFAK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

We stayed 3 nights in Salzburg & daytripped out from this lovely city. Stayed at the historic Hotel Stein--pricey buy AMAZING location!! View from hotel is spectacular! Has more of a "big city vibe" than we had expected, but we thoroughly enjoyed the sites, the Christmas Market & our day trips from Salzburg! Residents were not friendly to us, as Americans, which we must be an EZ mark--we attributed it to the larger city mentality.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank debracleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

this is a great trip Salzburge Altstadt well what a wonderful day out all the buildings have great History about them gives you the "Imagine the times of Mozart and Hayden"
we had a great time walking around and looking at all the buildings we were very pleased and its a must to visit

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

You just wander. Every corner, every building is gorgeous and full of history. Lots of great shopping and super restaurants to break up your exploration.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank markandcathycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

The old part feels (and probably is) Like straight from the Times where men wore funny necklaces and women powdered towers on their heads. Nowadays its LV and Schneiders . Small alleys with cobblestones wind around the Hill, intersectes with arched stone passages underneath houses which in turn Host more interesting places, such as small Cafés and shops selling homemade jams. You emerge on to another square with some mansions and churches, and dont know which direction to take to take it all in. Over Christmas with all the decorations the place becomes like a fairy Tale, and the shops selling traditional outfits look much more stylish than any Gucci or Prada.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Christine_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews