We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle very to climb up there”

Salzburger Altstadt
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.94*
and up
Hellbrunn Palace Visit And Old Town River Cruise in Salzburg
Ranked #1 of 164 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Zanzibar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Castle very to climb up there”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Mozarts Birth palce is very nice and the Getriede gasse.but very expensive for the torries.The Padlock bridge was interesting to see.The churches and theri atmospheres.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SumaKiwengwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,052
    1,727
    255
    34
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Salzburg's old town is one of those places that transport you to the enchanting past. It is very well-maintained and very, very, VERY charming. Beautiful. You don't even have to go inside any museum because it's right there in front of you. I couldn't shake the "Sound of Music" tunes out of my head while on vacation. Really, you must see this!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank charedbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Plenty to see, easy transport & walking”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Architecture, history, culture, shopping Salzburg has it all. See the fortress high on the hill, stroll around Mozart's residence and birth house nice place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank eggbap47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
573 reviews
299 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk around”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I didn't dislike anything. The only bad part is we were in Salzburg on a Sunday so almost all the stores were closed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Staff and City”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The entire City and the people were beautiful and very friendly. Our hotel was located within 10 to 15 minutes walking distance to the old city. The variety of eateries was wonderful. Within a block from our hotel was a wonderful bakery where we had our breakfast each morning. The city is great for any age. It has beautiful trees and mountains, walking and bicycling lanes. Renee at the Hotel Mozart was brilliant. He provided us with names of wonderful restaurants. The first night we dined at the Alder Fuchs or Fox that served a variety of traditional foods. The food was very affordable and delicious. An excellent choice for all ages. The breakfast at the Mozart Hotel was by European standards very large and impressive, even for Western standards. This is the first place in Europe where they served bacon and eggs. But why settle for bacon and eggs when you can have a variety of deli meats, cheeses, freshly baked croissants, fruits etc. We were limited to a two day short stay as we were visiting other countries in Europe and we just happen to choose Salzburg as one of our stopovers. Therefore, we hopped onto the "Hop On Hop Off" sightseeing bus and visited the "Baron's home on the lake where they filmed the Sound of Music". We were also impressed with the history of the old city. The residentplatz had an interesting history we were not aware of. One very pleasant surprise we did not expect from the Hotel Mozart was their free gift of a CD of Mozart musical symphonies. This came handy later to calm our nerves while we were driving through the city of Munich. We will definitely return to Salzburg on our next visit to Europe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IvanoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salzburger Altstadt also viewed

 

Been to Salzburger Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing