We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the stay: The building and setting is amazing: A must stay destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the stay: The building and setting is amazing: A must stay destination”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The grounds and breakfast hall, stairs and library live up to every expectation an more. You must stay in a suite in the front of the main building for the full wow factor: Waking up in the morning to that lake and mountain view was outstanding: The room decor is not plush by any modern standards, but for value for money, it is brilliant, and the fruit bowl is a nice touch: and overall the place amazing: Breakfast is great, service fantastic and we really enjoyed the whole experience. I could not recommend it enough. It is not a corporate hotel, it is quirky and different, as it is an educational establishment, but see past that and you see a place with real depth, that's different, special, unique. Take time to wander the rooms of the palace. My son was allowed to play the baby grand, and filled the room with Ludovicio Inaudi music, which it longs for,

Room Tip: Room 35 is excellent - facing the lake: We had 35 and 36 for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartholomew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Barholomew B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the Schloss!

We are indeed a little 'different' but most importantly, we are authentic and - as you say - unique. I am also glad you found time to explore the Schloss, wandering through and discovering the historic rooms is only one of the many privileges our guests enjoy.

Shame I missed your son's piano performance, the sound of the baby grand filling up the Great Hall is always very special!

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    126
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
150
242
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

As we are Hoteliers, and spend at least three months of the year in Hotels, we are very critical guests, so before I being I would like to say that you MUST stay at this hotel. Its quite unique.
It's truly a grand palace with breathtaking rooms, artwork, gardens and lake.
Not only this, but all of the palace rooms are available to guests to use. We are only used to being taken on guided tours of such properties, but here you really can USE the library, or take your coffee into the Chinese drawing room. An unforgettable expereince.
Not only this, but if you book a suite (which are very reasonably priced), you can stay in the Palace itself. We had a room with a huge lounge, separate bedroom and ensuite. All of which were newly renovated and furnished to a very high level sympathetic to the period of the building. We could not fault the Suite at all except the lack of tea/coffee making facilities. Although this is quite often the case in German speaking countries. In this case there were many English and American visitors at the hotel who would all expect this facility. Its not expensive to install, and the room certainly had the space for it.
The second fault of the room was the internet. Unfortunately it was so slow that most internet pages would not load. I would not be disappointed if a building like this did not have WIFI. So it would almost be better for the guests to have one room with good quality internet, rather that internet in every room that does not work.
We were recommend an excellent restaurant only 5mins walk, and we were also left some Christmas biscuits and a bottle of Sekt by the Staff in our room (thanks!).
We had our two dogs with us and the staff had kindly left feeding bowls and a blanket for them!
We were so looking forward to breakfast the next morning, which is served in the Ballroom, complete with original chandeliers - stunning.
However, although we tried not to be, we were disappointed.
The atmosphere was very strange. This was due to the huge tables and silence. In such a large room, there needs to be background music so that people are not to shy to speak. Also they should take out some of the huge tables and put in a few smaller ones, it feels very strange for two people to eat at a table for 12. It was not just us that felt this, we spoke to other guests who felt the same.
The breakfast was adequate, and we would not have had a problem at all with a slightly limited choice except that half of it was empty when we arrived.
Because they used a huge table to lay it out, it looked like there was not much food (even though it was enough). Make the table smaller and it won't look half empty!
The water in the tea-earn was only luke-warm and the coffee cup warmer was turned off (I turned it on for them), so my coffee was only luke-warm but the time I got back to my table.
We asked for some fried eggs as we do in every hotel, but were told "we don't do that". This is strange as even tiny two star hotels do eggs, after bread,they are the cheapest part of a breakfast.
There were so many staff around, and so much table space, that I would have put a member of staff with an electric hob on the table to fry or scramble eggs for guests. You don't need a Chef for that.
However, towards the end of our breakfast, some eggs were delivered. I hope the other guests also got theirs in the end!
So in conclusion, these are such easy problems to fix and I hope they will be, because we must insist that you try this hotel.
I think that if these faults were fixed, it might rank in our top 10.
It also compares very well in price to other hotels in Salzburg, and was only a €10 taxi into the centre.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Only stay if you can stretch to a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little-Gables-BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear pauledwardreeves

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your recent stay, I always appreciate valuable feedback from fellow hoteliers.

First of all, I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your suite and I am happy you were able to take advantage of exploring our public rooms in the Schloss, it's one of the unique privileges our guests enjoy while staying at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron.

I appreciate your comments on the internet, this is something we are currently looking into. The library and other public areas all have complimentary Wi-Fi but we are still having some issues in the rooms, after all, it's a 277 year old castle with rather massive walls.

Thank you for your comments on the breakfast, I was disappointed to read about the issues you experienced and would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. At the same time I can assure you that these points are being addressed: we are currently in the process of revamping our breakfast and will be making some significant changes shortly. Although for the near future we will unfortunately not be able to offer a-la-carte egg service, I am convinced you will be positively surprised by the differences we are implementing in 2014 next time you come back.

The lack of music was a slip, sorry about that, we normally always have classical music accompanying our breakfast - the Marble Hall without music is indeed not ideal.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and comments. I do look forward to welcoming you and your partner along with your lovely dogs back to Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in the meantime.

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The place which you will regret if you didnt go there .
Photos gives you 1% of the place great details.
Most perfect staff you will ever meet... Food is great.. Everything is great.
I attended session 507 for salzburg global seminar .

Thank you

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Makram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Makram

Thank you for your review about your recent stay and the kind compliments about our staff; I will be sure to pass them on.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron in the future!

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have booked a night for this hotel because of the Sound of Music movie. The view from the garden of the hotel was gorgeous. The reflection of the mountain on the lake was so beautiful. The breakfast was excellent and nice. Service was very good too. However the building is very old, so don't expect any modern decor or facilities provided. We wish we could have stayed there longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake if you can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaFamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MaFamily09

Thank you for your review and kind feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back to stay longer.

The Schloss is indeed very old, 277 years to be precise, and the period furniture and decor reflects our sparkling and illustrious history. We might not have the latest amenities, but the magnificent Schloss, stunning views over the lake and mountains, and our authentic Austrian hospitality certainly do make up for it.

Once again, thank you very much for your review.

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The experience of the Leopoldskron Schloss is not necessarily to be found in the impeccable rooms. They are fine. It is the castle that you are there to experience. If you love the Sound of Music, and have any clue of Austrian history, then this Hotel is a delight. Original art works (damaged from bomb shrapnel in WWII), the library, the ball room, and the gorgeous grounds are all available for guests staying in the palace. Breakfast is served in the ballroom, and is fantastic. Our stay here was a highlight of our trip

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is very nice and the Superior Suites are fine, but the Max Reinhardt Suite is where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear schowgirl

Thank you for your review of Schloss Leopoldskron. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Indeed, the Schloss has witnessed a lot in its 277 years of history and it is still very much 'alive'. What makes it particularly special is that all public areas are available for our guests to explore, including Max Reinhardt's wonderful library and the ample park surrounding the Schloss.

Thank you again for your review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Salzburg I remain with

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband just left the hotel this morning. The grounds are beautiful! The palace is a beautiful building. We had the opportunity to stay in a suite in the main house. I was expecting more given the location. The room was clean and had plenty of space. There was a bowl of fruit on the table waiting for us when we arrived. I think that they miss the opportunity to make the experience really shine. The furnishings were bland. The overhead lights in the room and hallway were too modern for the atmosphere. It would have made more of a statement with some period wall sconces in the halls and something more accurate to the time period than the white ball from a stick hanging from the ceiling in the room. While we enjoyed the hotel, I think with more attention to detail in the decorating that this could be a really special place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite in the main house, there are a few. I do not know what the other rooms were lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Tammy C

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Schloss Leopoldskron.

I appreciate your comments about the lights and decor and apologize the suite did not live up to your expectations. You will, however, be pleased to know that we are about to enhance our suites and their decoration to make the experience of staying at the Schloss even more authentic. Furthermore, we will begin the renovation of all our rooms and public areas in the Meierhof building later this year! Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to get the latest updates and hopefully I will be able to welcome you and your family back to Schloss Leopoldskron once all the work is complete.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron

Property: Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Address: Leopoldskronstrasse 56 -/58, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 55 rooms, 12 suites, and two townhouses, the historic palace of Schloss Leopoldskron, birthplace of the Salzburg Festival and a location for the filming of "The Sound of Music", is an exclusive and discreet hideaway just minutes from the center of Salzburg. Built in 1736, and surrounded by 17 acres of manicured grounds, the palace is nestled by a small, idyllic lake, and features majestic views over the mountains and the Hohensalzburg Fortress. The hotel features a small cafe, fitness center, and over 1000m2 of spectacular function space, which is also used for international strategic convening conducted by the Salzburg Global Seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Leopoldskron Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing