We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The place which you will regret if you didnt go there .
Photos gives you 1% of the place great details.
Most perfect staff you will ever meet... Food is great.. Everything is great.
I attended session 507 for salzburg global seminar .

Thank you

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Makram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Makram

Thank you for your review about your recent stay and the kind compliments about our staff; I will be sure to pass them on.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron in the future!

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    131
    45
    15
    5
See reviews for
162
257
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have booked a night for this hotel because of the Sound of Music movie. The view from the garden of the hotel was gorgeous. The reflection of the mountain on the lake was so beautiful. The breakfast was excellent and nice. Service was very good too. However the building is very old, so don't expect any modern decor or facilities provided. We wish we could have stayed there longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake if you can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaFamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MaFamily09

Thank you for your review and kind feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back to stay longer.

The Schloss is indeed very old, 277 years to be precise, and the period furniture and decor reflects our sparkling and illustrious history. We might not have the latest amenities, but the magnificent Schloss, stunning views over the lake and mountains, and our authentic Austrian hospitality certainly do make up for it.

Once again, thank you very much for your review.

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The experience of the Leopoldskron Schloss is not necessarily to be found in the impeccable rooms. They are fine. It is the castle that you are there to experience. If you love the Sound of Music, and have any clue of Austrian history, then this Hotel is a delight. Original art works (damaged from bomb shrapnel in WWII), the library, the ball room, and the gorgeous grounds are all available for guests staying in the palace. Breakfast is served in the ballroom, and is fantastic. Our stay here was a highlight of our trip

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is very nice and the Superior Suites are fine, but the Max Reinhardt Suite is where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear schowgirl

Thank you for your review of Schloss Leopoldskron. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Indeed, the Schloss has witnessed a lot in its 277 years of history and it is still very much 'alive'. What makes it particularly special is that all public areas are available for our guests to explore, including Max Reinhardt's wonderful library and the ample park surrounding the Schloss.

Thank you again for your review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Salzburg I remain with

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband just left the hotel this morning. The grounds are beautiful! The palace is a beautiful building. We had the opportunity to stay in a suite in the main house. I was expecting more given the location. The room was clean and had plenty of space. There was a bowl of fruit on the table waiting for us when we arrived. I think that they miss the opportunity to make the experience really shine. The furnishings were bland. The overhead lights in the room and hallway were too modern for the atmosphere. It would have made more of a statement with some period wall sconces in the halls and something more accurate to the time period than the white ball from a stick hanging from the ceiling in the room. While we enjoyed the hotel, I think with more attention to detail in the decorating that this could be a really special place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite in the main house, there are a few. I do not know what the other rooms were lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Tammy C

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Schloss Leopoldskron.

I appreciate your comments about the lights and decor and apologize the suite did not live up to your expectations. You will, however, be pleased to know that we are about to enhance our suites and their decoration to make the experience of staying at the Schloss even more authentic. Furthermore, we will begin the renovation of all our rooms and public areas in the Meierhof building later this year! Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to get the latest updates and hopefully I will be able to welcome you and your family back to Schloss Leopoldskron once all the work is complete.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were there for an extended weekend and fell in love with it. My girlfriend didn't want to leave the library once she found it and my son fell in love with the breakfast room with it's beautiful Kachelofen. I personaly loved relaxing by the lake with it's fantastic view of the mountains which surround Salzburg. Make sure you read up on the history of this beautiful hotel before you go there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jem357

Thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at Schloss Leopoldskron! I am glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how each member of your family had their own favorite.

I, too, have fallen in love with the Schloss the moment I first walked in!

As you might know already, we are planning a large refurbishment in the Meierhof in early 2014 and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Schloss after that.

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you will ONLY be happy in a "5 Star" hotel with every amenity, then stay elsewhere. BUT, as the other reviewers note, this place is special in so many ways, not least of which is the breakfast (superb) and free run of the property (find Max Reinhardt's hidden staircase!). Explore away, or just sit lakeside and stare at the Alps. (Hitler's "Eagle's Nest" is off in the distance.)

Our room was a not-yet refurbished one, and it was clean, large and comfortable, had good beds, a powerful shower built for tall people. Plus, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room -- the rest of the property and the town called us elsewhere. (Town is about a mile away, a nice walk.) Also nice: check out is not until noon.

Do note: The third floor rooms are smaller, with smaller windows, and stuffier in warm weather. Our larger second floor room cooled off wonderfully with the fan and large windows.

Finally, the staff was fabulous: friendly, welcoming, and accommodating in every way.

A stay here will make your trip indelibly memorable, and may make your friends jealous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear cdth

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

I am particularly happy to hear your remarks about our staff: while we are indeed not a 5 star hotel, we do strive to fulfill all our guests' wishes in a friendly and welcoming way.

Also, I am glad you found the hidden staircase! Our wonderful public areas in the Schloss, including Max Reinhardt's library and his former office, certainly add to the unique atmosphere of Schloss Leopoldskron.

Due to the nature of the building, some rooms in the Meierhof are indeed slightly smaller than others and some were recently refurbished. You will be pleased to know that later this year we will start a comprehensive renovation project in the Meierhof to bring all our rooms up to speed.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Schloss Leopoldskron in the near future and remain with

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
1.0 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron

Property: Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Address: Leopoldskronstrasse 56 -/58, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 55 rooms, 12 suites, and two townhouses, the historic palace of Schloss Leopoldskron, birthplace of the Salzburg Festival and a location for the filming of "The Sound of Music", is an exclusive and discreet hideaway just minutes from the center of Salzburg. Built in 1736, and surrounded by 17 acres of manicured grounds, the palace is nestled by a small, idyllic lake, and features majestic views over the mountains and the Hohensalzburg Fortress. The hotel features a small cafe, fitness center, and over 1000m2 of spectacular function space, which is also used for international strategic convening conducted by the Salzburg Global Seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Leopoldskron Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing