We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptionally quiet and relaxing accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Knonau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“exceptionally quiet and relaxing accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is a 18th century castle, adapted and restored, very well kept. A beautiful lake and park are nearby; the location is still close to the city, but completely immersed in the green and very cilent. During my stay I was only able to ear, in the morning, some goose near the lake (they are a number, going often around in the park and very funny to see).
The hotel hosts marvellous rooms and a huge biblioteque, with origianal historycal documents about the life of Max Reinhardht, who lived here in the last part of his life. The price is in the average and appears really cheap if compared to the value of the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boogiesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear boogiesurf

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Schloss Leopoldskron. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad you met our resident geese! They love roaming our gardens and provide a pleasant sight for our guests.

Our beautiful library, home to over 15'000 books and commissioned by Max Reinhardt, was modeled after the Stiftsbibliothek Sankt Gallen in Switzerland. I do hope you also visited some of the other wonderful rooms in the Schloss, like the Chinese Room, the Judge McGowan Room or our small chapel?

Thank you also for hinting on value for money. Our rates include parking, wi-fi and breakfast and as such are very competitive but the beauty and exclusivity of the Schloss and grounds are unmatched, especially this close to the center of Salzburg (a 20 minute stroll).

I look forward to welcoming you back to Schloss Leopoldskron and remain with

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    117
    38
    13
    3
See reviews for
137
219
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Gorgeous place, which over the centuries was an archbishop's palace, Max Reinhardt's home, German army headquarters, an NGO meeting place and a site for the 1964 movie The Sound of Music. The palace public rooms are beautiful, especially the Venetian Room, and you can hardly keep from singing "Do, Re, Mi" when looking out over the stone horses facing the pond. Stay in one of the 12 suites if you can. Some are nicer than others and all are nicer than the regular rooms in the building next door. Pleasant 20 minute walk to old town Salzburg, and an easy walk around the lake to where movie fans come in droves to photograph the charming hotel that lucky you are staying in.

Room Tip: Reserve a suite in the palace, but some are much larger than others, so try to see them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pueblohouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Pueblohouse

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay at Schloss Leopoldskron. As the new General Manager I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

The history of the Schloss and adjacent Meierhof is very much alive and among others The Sound of Music plays a very important role for us. In fact, we just had Elizabeth von Trapp visit the Schloss again! Have a look at our Facebook page for more information and pictures: facebook.com/schlossleopoldskron

Our 12 suites in the Schloss indeed vary in size and each one is a unique piece. One thing they have in common is their period furniture and lovely views either over the peaceful garden, the Salzburg fortress or the idyllic lake and mountains.

Like you say, it is only a 20 minute stroll into town but as I am committed to constantly improving our services, facilities and infrastructure we have just introduced a brand new red Vespa scooter available for rent, allowing you to reach the city in less than 10 minutes.

Later this year we will also start a comprehensive renovation to enhance our rooms and public areas in the Meierhof building.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Schloss and showing you all the exciting news which I am sure will also become part of your 'favorite things".

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

There are limited rooms in the actual palace but most likely guests will stay in the hotel in the same grounds, you do however have breakfast in the palace and you are able to walk around it and the grounds. It is a wonderful place to stay with terrific views and only a 20 minute walk over Monks Mountain into the old town. This walk is a great experience on a nice day. I would totally recommend staying here if you get a chance, the opportunity to start the day with a superb breakfast in such wonderful surrounds is top.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaronb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This palace is gorgeous, loaded with history and overlooks the lake and castle on the mountain. The rooms are nice and spacious and the desk staff is very helpful. It's a 10 min. taxi ride or a 30 min. walk from the main attractions in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a fantastic one night stopover at this hotel. Having previously read reviews on Trip Advisor we booked a Junior Suite in the main Palace building which seems preferable to rooms in the annexe. I'm not sure how the room qualifies as a 'suite' but it was comfortable. However, it is the rooms within the Palace which create the overall experience. There were only a few other guests there and so we were able to wander around the magnificent library, hall and ballroom, whilst also enjoying the lake side garden and terrace made famous in The Sound of Music. We really did feel special and privileged to be there.

Breakfast was served in the grandest location I have ever had breakfast! A magnificently decorated high ceilinged room. Considering the small number of guests the choice of breakfast food was excellent and very high quality.

All in all, a lovely and memorable stay.

(P.S. If you are visiting Salzburg for Sound of Music reasons, don't miss Fraulein Maria's bike ride. That was also great. However, the bike ride takes you to the far side of the lake to view the Palace. It appears that it is only by staying in the Palace that you can properly view the gardens and terrace as seen in the film.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richp4nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I just loved it here. After reading mixed reviews I booked it anyway, as we were going to Salzburg to see the Sound of Music sights. We stayed in a suite in the palace, two adults and two children. The kids slept in the sitting room (in a very comfortable fold-out single bed and a large portacot) and my husband and I slept in the bedroom. The view from the room was breathtaking and breakfast in the ballroom is such a treat. If you stay here you must check out the library. Just note, however, that it is not a hotel, and therefore doesn't have services such as roomservice. And when you book make sure you are booking a room in the palace itself, and not the house next door. Reception staff were okay. Oh and the rooms had shutters on the windows, which kept the early morning light out, making sure our kids slept in. Made a big difference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were surprised to learn that one of the main settings for the famous "The Sound of Music" was available as a B & B. Even better, was when we arrived and learned what a fantastic place it was.

The Schoss Leopoldskron is not a traditional hotel. The B & B part of it is a sideline, as the palace serves as an international symposium institute. The office is in a separate building, and the people at reception give you your key, and tell you how to get to your room. We knew that ahead, so didn't expect hotel service, and were fine with that.

What we found out is that this is a huge, elegant palace built in 1736. It is right on the shore of the small lake outside of Salzburg where some of the scenes of the movie, "The Sound of Music," were filmed. The interiors of the palace are amazing. There are also many items of antique furniture that seem to be of the age of the structure, itself.

Our room was the smallest available in the Schloss. It was completely adequate for us, with a nice view over the lake. There was a fruit plate waiting for us when we arrived. At 155 Euros, it seemed a lot first, until we realized how lucky we were to be staying in such an amazing place. The palace is huge, and as a guest, we were given the key to the front door. After we returned from dinner, we were the only guests there, free to wander all over and enjoy the ballrooms, the immense two-story library, the grounds, everything. My husband sat down and played the piano in the first-floor sitting room.

There is internet access for guests in the library. You are also free to read the books there, enjoy the space, etc.

We loved it.

Breakfast was served in the two-story dining room. The space was gorgeous, and the breakfast was very good, as well.

The Schloss is an easy two-minute drive into Salzburg. In the summertime, they have bicycles available to rent.

Salzburg is a nice city, but the stay at the Schloss was the highlight of our stay there.

Room Tip: There are only suites available in the Schloss - though I wouldn't have termed our room a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinziaOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 131 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron

Property: Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Address: Leopoldskronstrasse 56 -/58, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 55 rooms, 12 suites, and two townhouses, the historic palace of Schloss Leopoldskron, birthplace of the Salzburg Festival and a location for the filming of "The Sound of Music", is an exclusive and discreet hideaway just minutes from the center of Salzburg. Built in 1736, and surrounded by 17 acres of manicured grounds, the palace is nestled by a small, idyllic lake, and features majestic views over the mountains and the Hohensalzburg Fortress. The hotel features a small cafe, fitness center, and over 1000m2 of spectacular function space, which is also used for international strategic convening conducted by the Salzburg Global Seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Leopoldskron Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing