We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“​Nice food near Mozart's birth place”
Review of Zum Eulenspiegel

Zum Eulenspiegel
Ranked #63 of 736 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $57
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Austrians most wanted restaurant in the old town of Salzburg. Traditional austrian kitchen and an atmosphere to stay. We're looking forward to your visit.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Good location. Enjoyed Vienna schnitzel and young Chicken breaded, which was so tender and tasty, it may be better than the schnitzel. sachartorte cake was ok, but not one of the best.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danny_S_Is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 492 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Stopped there to have a cup of coffee and a piece of apple strudel. The strudel itself was wonderful, but the vanilla sauce was a little tasteless.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterr936, Inhaber at Zum Eulenspiegel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Thank you.. for the advice! Nevertheless send us your friends!would make us happy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

We had the distinct pleasure of dining at Zum Eulenspiegel during our recent trip to Europe. It is such an amazingly beautiful and historic building, the food is spectacular and we even had the awesome honor of meeting the owner, Mr. Walter Ritzberger-Wimmer. He told us all about his organic farm where he raises the delicious vegetables that are served at his restaurant and showed us a book with photos of his farm.

If you ever have the occasion to dine in Salzburg, you definitely need to make time for a trip to dine here....and while you're at it, ask to speak with Mr. Walter. You will have a wonderful dining experience!

I only wish we lived in Salzburg....I can dream, right?

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 570jillf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterr936, Inhaber at Zum Eulenspiegel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Thank you very much! I am happy you love our place.. espiacially our farm with we work together is the oldest organic farm in upper Austria/ Pucking. Please send your friends .. I can organice also a show around also for them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Right opposite Mozart's birthplace (Gebursthaus), this restaurant serves one of the best seafood Linguine we've come across in a long time.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sakusa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterr936, Inhaber at Zum Eulenspiegel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Thank you very much for Tal big your time to get us such a good script.. we Fall do our best.. so also in future.. s nd your Friends please

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

My family and I as well as some family friends wanted to eat here for lunch, traveling here as tourists all the way from California. However, when we sat down on the OUTSIDE tables, we were rudely yelled at by a waiter to leave because we had had Starbucks drinks on us (Starbucks is directly next to the restaurant). All we wanted to do was to eat at the well known restaurant for lunch but this waiter had to ruin our plans. When we nicely told the waiter than we wanted to eat there, he yelled at us saying that because we had Starbucks on us we had to leave. Eventually, the waiter just yelled and stormed off back inside and we left for we didn’t feel that we were treated with any amount of respect and that the restaurant didn’t deserve our business.

Food = no idea because we were kicked out
Hospitality, respect = horrible

I hope that this waiter would treat future guests differently than how he treated us.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank justinmei2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterr936, Inhaber at Zum Eulenspiegel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Dear guests!! It is a strange story wich never happened here! When guests come in to our restaurant with drinks or food from Starbuck‘s we send them to garden next to us. You said you went to Starbuck‘s and came with the staff into our restaurant? All this story seems to me a bit ‚strange‘...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Eulenspiegel also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Zum Eulenspiegel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing