We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel in Salzburg”
Review of Scherer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scherer Hotel
Ranked #63 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Typical of European hotel with few rooms one small elevator. Rooms are new with a big television. Bed are comfortable with standards size bath. Breakfast is average. Wifi is not free in lobby or room. Had a one night stay here. By the way, Salzburg is know for Mozart and The sound of music movie. The movie can be seen in the television.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Good Hotel with nice location as walking distance from train station. Service was average as we had specified all three double rooms but got only one considering its a big hotel with many rooms. The rooms are comfortable, very clean with good air conditioning to beat the summer heat. Would recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamalpreet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great hotel located a short walk from the old town and railway station. The room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. The staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandaceW811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It has a very cosy and warm atmosphere. It is not far from the old center (approximatelly 10-15 minutes walk by the river). Also breakfast is very nice not the biggest varietty but not poor as well. Actually it has almost everything. Also the people there are very polite and willing to help if you need something.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and cannot say enough good things about our experience. We definitely would love to go back to Salzburg if only to stay in Scherer Hotel.The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable.The breakfasts were wonderful; many different delicious items to choose from. The assortment of homemade like jams in their own specially marked pots were a gourmet's delight.The front desk service was most welcoming,charming and we had every attention immediately tended to. Being able to watch the continuous run film of the Sound of Music was a special treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdkElyria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is located 15 minutes walk from the old town centre, and the walk is very pretty and enjoyable.
The rooms are very clean and specious and there is a cosy sitting area in the room that gives you the feeling of a home-away-from-home, and not just another hotel.
the staff was extremely kind and helpful (especially an employee named Micheal, who sat with us for two hours to help us plan our trip according to unexpected weather).

On the down side- Wifi connection and parking is with charge

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just completed a tour of four major cities across Europe. We began in Salzburg and selected this hotel because it is not far from the railway station and it was reported as 4*. Well, it wasn't too far from the trains- but it was quite a distance from its 4* claim.

OK it is a nice hotel; reception staff are friendly; indeed they kindly provided us with an additional room to take a bath as we had only a shower in our room. The hotel is well maintained and is very warm. Our room was small but adequate for our needs.

So why am I griping? Well, if this truly is a 4* then a guest shouldn't have to ask twice to have the room safe fixed; by the time we left it was still unusable. We wouldn't expect a dining room waiter in a 4* hotel simply to shrug his shoulders when telling me that there was no English Breakfast tea; the scrambled egg wouldn't be rubbery. These may seem petty but the hotel claims its higher rating and should earn it by providing the appropriate service. I will write other reviews about 4* hotels in Vienna, Budapest and Prague congratulating them on their standards. I can't do the same for the Scherer.

Having got this out of the way Scherer isn't a bad hotel; it is average and needs to up its game to earn the higher accolade.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VolvoC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
321 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlosswirt zu Anif
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
#102 of 132 in Salzburg
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scherer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scherer Hotel

Address: Plainstrasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $126 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scherer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in the city center. Air condition in all rooms, WIFI, Welcome Tray, Sound of Music, we look forward to welcoming you with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Scherer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scherer Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing