We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would revisit but could do with redecorating.”
Review of Scherer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scherer Hotel
Ranked #63 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the main train station without being effected by the noise or any of the people that hang around train stations. Enjoyable walk into Salzburg centre, and only about 20-30 mins slow paced.

The two female receptionists were not overly friendly or informative, but two male receptionists on at nighttime were very chatty and helpful.

The breakfast was very good and the rooms were big, clean and comfy and had great AC. Another bonus was the channel dedicated to showing The Sound of Music film in English! A sweet touch was the chocolate left on our pillows after the room was serviced everyday.

The decor of the hotel is very 70s and could definitely do with updating; but I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroGirlTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Scherer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is no more than a 10-minute walk from the Salzburg train station, which is likely its main advantage. Walking to the old city centre along the river bank is pleasant and takes about 20 minutes at a good pace.

My single room was clean and cute and had a working air conditioner. Being a corner room, it had big windows in two directions, both looking out at big trees. A good variety of hot and cold options for breakfast and a leafy terrace for eating outside in good weather.

Wifi costs 2 euros for 2 hours. The front desk attendant took time to explain both how to connect and to logout, so that the 2 hours can stretch over multiple days and sessions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FanofBanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The city of Salzburg is a magical place, Mozart's music surrounding the area, beautiful landscapes, nice weather, and the hotel was fantastic, affordable price, excellent service and food, highly recommended, the hotel is close to the main attractions, every single attraction can be reach just by walk....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzalo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Not sure where to start with this review...I was traveling with my wife and 2 kids.i had been to 3 other cities before salzburg and was very excited to see this wonderful hotel in a beautiful city but oh was I wrong..I was greeted by the worst receptionist EVER..her attitude was unbelievable for me to list all the things she did wrong would take hours...bottom line is that the hotel is a 2star at best,location is in worst part of salzburg ,don't go to this hotel if you plan on sleeping as its in a crossroads and traffic is
nuts 24/7. We paid above and beyond what was first advertised because when we got to hotel room was not equipped for 2 adults and 2 kids even though I had called to confirm my booking wks in advance.The main problem we had was with its false advertising and the hotel receptionist made us feel like gum on her shoes I believe her name was michaela she reminded me of nurse ratchet from the movie "one flew over the cuckoo nest". I've stayed in many 4/5 star hotels and some basic 2/3star but this hotel should black listed as the "worst hotel in salzburg" . My advice if you have kids and standards are to avoid hotel scherer at all costs...ps salzburg is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Casperbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found the Hotel Scherer easily as it is only a stone's throw from bus stop, bus took approximately 20 mins from the airport.
We checked in and took the option of a second floor room even though I have a disability. Unfortunately, at the time of our visit, the lift was out of action due to flood water affecting the lift motor. We were pleased with our room it had enough space for clothes and luggage storage, the bathroom was spotless and a sensible size (shower is excellent). There was a table and bench which was useful. It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facility in room. The decor was clean and light.
The windows open which is just as well as we found the hotel extremely hot. We didn't get the air conditioning to work so opted to sleep with the windows open which proved a bit noisy from traffic.
The hotel is in a good location and if you don't mind walking it is an easy walk to the city. Buses are regular and often and stop very near the hotel. We discovered on the last but one day that you can reach the bus terminal itself in 10 minutes going through the side streets.

Staff were a bit varied. Two gentlemen were friendly and chatty, there is a little bar which they have to dash to in between doing other jobs. two waiting staff presentable and efficient but not terribly chatty.
We found that the hotel has a lot of coach parties that come and go. Coach party people tend to take over wherever they are and they did at the Hotel Scherer. We felt that staff were stretched a bit to cater for the coach guests and the ordinary guests.There simply are not enough staff at very busy times. The coaches generally arrive in time for an evening meal and leave again after they have consumed most of the breakfast on offer. They leave quite early so you have to be really early to get the full range of breakfast on offer. Breakfast is good, the usual fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cold meats, cheese, toasting machine and preserves, plus there were scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. The coffee is lovely. Tea is a bit more tricky.
The hotel is a comfortable, clean place to stay if you are out and about most of the day. There is not much area of social seating.
I find it difficult to use the scale given as it was better than average but not very good, settle for good, clean, good location, reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had a room over the restaurant and the little garden, this proved to be noisy when a coach party...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked this hotel online and received a confirmation email. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that they had no record of the booking. When we showed them a printout of the confirmation, then said that someone must have missed the booking. They did send us to hotel literally just round the corner, which was OK but a little seedy looking. The next morning when we went to pay the bill, they were at least 3 other couples who were complaining about having reservations at the Hotel Scherer but finding that the hotel did not have a room for them. So our experience was not a one-time error.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bexleygirl-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is close to the train station and bus stop. The room is OK, The breakfast is good. The internet is quite expensive. We booked a double and triple room. Some of the staff is helpful but not all. Some of them are rude. When we are checking out, the receptionist hurried us to pay them so much that it annoyed me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny-Oomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
#80 of 132 in Salzburg
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#43 of 132 in Salzburg
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scherer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scherer Hotel

Address: Plainstrasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $112 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scherer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in the city center. Air condition in all rooms, WIFI, Welcome Tray, Sound of Music, we look forward to welcoming you with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scherer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scherer Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing