We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great hotel for visiting Salzburg"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Ranked #50 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Mansfield, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Great hotel for visiting Salzburg"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 9th July 2012 to visit Salzburg on our way through Austria after a trip to Italy. The receptionist was really helpful when we checked in, explaining breakfast and how to walk into the town centre. We opted for a small room which was more than adequate for our needs for one night, although it was really warm and not air conditioned. The room was very clean and smelled fresh. Breakfast on the terrace the next morning was excellent, coffee, teas, cold pastries, rolls, cheese, meats, cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc. all very high standard. The walk into the town centre was about 15 minutes, through a small tunnel and directly into beautiful Salzburg. Would definately use again and recommend to others, although I would recommend paying the extra for a larger room. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade and get a larger room instead of the smaller attic rooms which in the summer are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecorolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    88
    32
    4
    6
See reviews for
51
67
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel is very convenient for a visit to Salzburg as there is a bus stop directly across the street putting you just a few stops away from Mirabelle Gardens and the fortress. The rooms are very nice. Parking is very limited though hotel guests are allowed to use some of the residential parking in the area. The breakfast was good, juices, brotchen, cheese and meats, and yogurts with some cereal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are interested in taking a Panorama Sound of Music Tour, book it through the hotel and they will arrange for free pick up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in this family Hotel (for the third time) and I was very satisfied again. That is a very nice staff there, Hotel is clean, rooms are nice, good breakfast- and that is a walking distance (15 minutes)to the main City center.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cut121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and even though my fiancee fell sick throughout the entire time we were at Salzburg, the experience at Hotel Astoria was great. The hotel was about 10 stops away from the main train station (15-20 minute bus ride) and two/three stops from the old town - not the absolute best location, but Salzurg is a small town, and the area around the hotel had all the amenities that you will need for your stay here (there is a Pennymarkt and another department/grocery store around the corner) Hotel Astoria has a really cozy feel about it. Right off the bat, the receptionist (who was on duty when we arrived at about 6pm) was really helpful. She had a lively and cheerful personality which impressed upon both of us. The room was extremely clean and tidy, with a small balcony overlooking the main road. Breakfast was good - a decent selection of (and the usual) breads, cereals, cold cuts, yogurt and fruit.
My booking included two 48hr Salzburg cards for our two night stay, which meant that most of the attractions in Salzburg, including public transportation, was free! All in all, great value, great comfort, great service, and this is definitely one hotel I'll come back to on my return trip to Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here over Christmas with my husband and a friend. The staff were unbelievably helpful!
On Christmas Day we wanted to go to a nice Austrian restaurant but many were booked out. One of the girls on reception rang around until she found us a restaurant and made a reservation for us - she was very helpful!
Rooms were nice, spacious, clean and quiet. Breakfast was lovely, good quality and fresh. Not as extensive range as other hotels but good quality.
Internet is not in your room, you have to buy internet credit from reception and you get a code/password: they do say you can buy six hours worth and use it whenever you want, but once you log out once you can't get back into it again - just use it all up at once if you want to.
They did let us use the computer in the breakfast area since we didn't bring a laptop.
We arrived by train and caught a bus from the main train station. Easy enough to get to - the bus stop is just across the road.
Markets nearby are lovely, but lots of places do close down over the Christmas period.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed one night here last weekend and it was a very comfortable hotel. The rooms were very modern looking and clean. They made us an early breakfast since we were leaving before 7 which was nice. Staff was helpful and in general the hotel was quiet. It was about a 15 minute walk to the old town but we knew this ahead of time and it was easily doable. The location of the hotel is very near to the Stiegl Brewery which was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Trapani, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This family-run hotel is your place to stay if you don't like the tourist crowds - and overly expensive hotels - in the Altstadt. Easily reached by bus or a good 2-km walk from the city center. Rooms are not big but sufficient. Ours had a nice balcony with two chairs where we enjoyed the sunny moments of the early spring. Bathroom was somewhat outdated but spotless clean. The breakfast buffet is a good bonus with various breads, cheeses, cereals etc. Very generous. All together good value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supergaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#46 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
1.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#48 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#56 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Salzburg

Property: Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing