We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to see the appeal...”

Mozart Audio and Video Museum
Ranked #37 of 164 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hard to see the appeal...”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I found this museum to be very uninteresting, despite my enjoyment of museums AND Mozart. After entering, a sign prompted me to download all of the descriptions and background information which I began reading as we started to walk through the museum. The information was actually quite interesting, but I could have stayed home and read it on my iPhone. Most of the "exhibits" of the museum consisted of painted portraits of Mozart's family members and a few reproductions of music and letters. Unless you are the type to get excited just by standing where Mozart once stood, I'd skip this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJtravelrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    24
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“really cool for everyone”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I enjoyed this museum allot. they dont allow any photos inside of any kind so be prepared to put your camera away.. but everything is in great shape and its fun to look at. the gift shop has all the same stuff, mozart chocolate balls included lol.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TombRaider25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Even if you are not in to classif music”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ticket are affordable, place is not huge, but is very instructive. They do have several pretty old instruments very well maintained. As usual, your way out includes a forced pass to the gift shop

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not very interesting for non music buffs”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Had to go in as everything in Salzburg seems to evolve around Mozart and Sounds of Music. Doesn't stir much interest in me as I am not into classical music...... Probably a music buff might differ in opinion

Helpful?
1 Thank WLCHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband is a music buff and he was very disappointed - the museum didnt tell any story, didnt bring anything to life about his music. It just presented artefacts and letters - which is fine if that is what you are expecting. If you are going for music history, this is not the place for you. Replica piano was good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozart Audio and Video Museum also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Mozart Audio and Video Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing