We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Would return !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mostwastl

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mostwastl
Ranked #88 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Vilseck, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Would return !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend break in September to celebrate my birthday. The hotel is such a lovely place, rooms are spacious and very clean, and the view from the balcony is just priceless.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food in the hotel is also very good, breakfast being included, one evening we actually ate in the restaurant, everything was delicious. (no wonder it is popular with the locals !)

Although having a car is easier, we found that the bus route (a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest bus stop, which is a direct route into Salzburg) is quick and easy.

The hotel is in an ideal position, close to Salzburg, a 5 minute drive to the Untersberg, not to be missed ! Also within an hours drive a visit to the St Gilgen and St Wolfgang, beautiful little villages.

Just a little note to the Management of the hotel, a little suggestion for the rooms - an information package to maybe include, times of the restaurant opening (with maybe a sample of the menu), times for breakfast, telephone numbers to ie: reception, and details of bus timetable and where the bus stops are, with maybe a handful of leaflets outlining the local attractions. But this would not put us off staying at the hotel again, without a doubt, having spent a few wonderful days there and getting to know the way around !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaisaka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It is a beautiful place surrounded by mountains and wide plains. A little outside the main hustle bustle of the city which makes it even more lovely and a relaxing place to stay in. The room was the highlight of the hotel for us. Beautifully furnished and spacious and extremely clean. The staff was quite helpful and the breakfast was good too. We tried the restaurant one night and they had a some good vegetarian options too. All in all..its one of the most comfortable hotels i found.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poonam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was at Mostwastl in september wiht a small group of 10 people from Mexico and i have to say that our stay there was great !!!

it is a nice and charming Gasthof ( Guesthouse) 10 min away of salzburg downtown in a nice small village wiht amazing views on the mountains surrounding Salzburg.

Big rooms decorated wiht tipycal austrian wooden furniture, nice staff in austrian typical costume and beatiful breakfast... make you felling as an audstian from teh very beginning

Rudolph and his team went out of their way to make our stay as unforgettable as possible and for sure i will be back there asap... Thanks to everyone :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrikein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Let me start by saying that I stayed there with my husband in June of 2010. I didn't have a TripAdvisor account then, but was just looking through my pictures and wanted to share my feelings about this hotel.

This is one of the hotels that showed up on search through my credit card's travel rewards program. I definitely recommend staying there if you have a car! We spent the day in Salzburg and were traveling to Innsbruck following our stay at Mostwastl.

Everyone was very friendly. The breakfast was included and delicious. We also ate lunch there one day and sat outside; it was an amazing view and the food was delicious. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We had a nice balcony with a great view. I think having a room with a view/balcony was a few dollars extra.

(A person that I am assuming was) the owner greeted us one morning and gave us a tour. He didn't speak much English, but was very friendly and happy to show us around. I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4TozToFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I have just returned after staying for 5 nights at Mostwastl. In the past we have stayed at another nearby gasthof but we decided on a change.

We're very pleased we did as Mostwastl is an excellent establishment. The rooms, the restaurant, the terrace, the views and the staff are all brilliant. It's an easy walk/jog to Hellbrunn, there is a nice walk along the river which has a wakeboard area. Its a 10 min car ride into Salzburg but if you hire a bike there are some lovely cycle ways.

We're regular travellers to Salzburg and done the staying in expensive central hotels like the Hotel Stein, we've done other hotels and gasthof's but we've found one now that we'll definitely be coming back to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggerii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed here with a group tour and it was wonderful. The rooms had lots of wood and the bathrooms were very clean and modern. Nice comfortable beds. We had full board here and the dinner was exceptional for a hotel restaurant - delicious soup, chicken, potatoes, vegetables, and dessert! I can't really comment on the price because it was part of a package so I'm not sure!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Mostwastl is the best place we stay on our annual tour of Europe (or on my annual tour of Europe - I bring a different group of students and parents each year). It's affordable for a group used to hostels, but it is classy, spacious, and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
4.9 mi away
Schone Aussicht
Schone Aussicht
#53 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#51 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amadeo Hotel
Amadeo Hotel
#98 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
4.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
4.5 mi away
Hotel Turnerwirt
Hotel Turnerwirt
#62 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mostwastl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mostwastl

Property: Mostwastl
Address: Mostwastlweg 3, Salzburg 5082, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mostwastl 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guest,welcome at Hotel Gasthof Mostwastl.We are a Family runned Hotel situated in the beautiful south of the old town of Salzburg.We offer our guests comfortable hotel rooms in a quite sourrounding and view to the mountains. We offer an Autrian á la carte Restaurant for lunch and dinner and a beer garden as well. In our Annex you will find a hotel bar and Bowling.We are looking forward to welcome you in Salzburg and spend your vaction in our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mostwastl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing