We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel zur Post
Ranked #49 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chester, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Zur Post for 5 nights. The owner was very helpful and when we said we were on honeymoon he upgraded our room,. The hotel is very clean, as are the rooms, and the breakfast was excellent. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is in a nice area of the city, but is only a few minutes from the centre with a bus stop 50 metres from the front door. I would stay again without hesitation.
Salzburg is a beautiful city and an excellent and safe place to visit. It is a very civilised and relaxing. It is also close to the most stunning scenery in the nearby Alps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    80
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
66
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for a one night stopover on the way to Zell - two rooms accommodating five. The three bed room was very spacious and across the corridor from our double. Both rooms were spotless.
There is free parking - we were allowed to leave our car in the car park after we checked out so we could walk more of the city. The hotel is on a fairly busy road and whilst not in the centre, is easily manageable on foot.
A very good, competitively priced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Criminalhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Zur post hotel, for one night, at the separate building next to the hotel where the apartments are located. Very large rooms and very clean apartment. The poor review comes mostly from the fact that the apartment was on the second floor and there was no elevator! Trying to bring luggage of 4 up the stairs was a task. All the beds' mattresses could use changing as they were extremely bumpy and uncomfortable to sleep in. Most furniture old and damaged, there is a flat screen tv in the master bedroom though. However, there is no minibar/fridge which I would believe is a must for a 4 star hotel. The breakfast the following morning was good and the parking places provided are only few but at least they are free.

Room Tip: the ones with elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mialeopanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Located just a five minute bus ride from the centre of Salzburg this hotel is easy to find by car but on the other side of town from the main train station. Parking is possible and free. Made up of seperate buildings in a nice suburban location the hotel is very clean and our family room was spacious. The beds were comfortable and rooms cleaned daily. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful with tourist information. Breakfast includes a range of fruit, cheese and eats and a variety of teas. This is a great place to stay for a pleasant few days enjoying the sights of Salzburg.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ABaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice rooms, beautiful and spacious bathroom. A short walk (20 minutes) from city senter. Nice breakfast. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gitte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of our bike ride from Salzburg to Vienna with eurobike. It seems multiple cycling companies use this hotel judging by the bike pants seen at breakfast!
On bus route or 15 min walk to old town.
Strange that once we found t he place, the reception staff said our room was in a separate building about 150m up the road so we had to drag our bags up there. Glad it wasn't raining at that point!
Breakfast was back at the main hotel.
The place was clean and massive rooms. The glass walking to the bathroom was 'interesting'. Unfortunately the glass door was to heavy to slide properly and kept getting stuck.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lissc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#51 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.4 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#53 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ceconi
Villa Ceconi
#76 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zur Post

Property: Hotel zur Post
Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing