We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cosy, perfectly located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
Ranked #47 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, cosy, perfectly located”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a family trip to Salzburg (3 kids) last weekend and it was just great! We travelled by car. The hotel was easy to find and it has enough parking places. The staff is very kind and helping. We had a 5-bed room, it's clean, spacious, with all neccessary facilities. Breakfast is lovely with many organic and housemade products. Just a few meters away from the hotel is the bus stop, with buses coming every 10 min. The ride to the city takes around 5 min.
We were very pleased with the hotel and we'll definitely come again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGolicnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    83
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
85
72
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This looked like a very typical traditional rural Austrian hotel but in reality it is on a very busy main road and I did find the traffic noise disturbing and not pleasant to walk from the hotel in either direction. However the interior was very well appointed and appealing, the room and bathroom spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The buses were close by and frequent into the town centre. It would have been helpful to know there was a bus from the train station almost to the door to save on taxi fares.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the building would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnrusselllobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Great place to stop off in Salzburg. Easy access from motorway, parking available.

Rooms are very clean, spacious. its on amain road so can be a little loud but there are shutters on windows.

Breakfast is good. Children welcome. Bus stop right outsice door to city centre.

Would recommend if you are stopping off in salzburg on a longer trip somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricpra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiene, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

bedroom are very comfortable, staff is nice, breakfast is great, hotel is clean. My boyfriend and I stayed there 2 nights for new year's eve. There is possibility of parking, the closest bus stop is at 20metres, even if you can walk to the city centre. I would return there! Consider that for New Year's Eve the price are higher, that is the only thing that disappointed me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giuliaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Everything exceeded expectation at this off the beaten path hotel. Easy access to downtown via the number 1 bus. We loved the breakfast. Bathrooom was lovely with instant warm water and towel warmers. Hotel staff was warm and helpful, seems to be family run. Will stay here every time we visit Salzburg.

Room Tip: We were two couples so split the cost of a shared apartment--separate bedrooms but a shared bath. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here around 2009, reception excellent, staff excellent. Our room was a good mix of traditional anmd modern, really comfortable andclose enought o centre to walk. Ample car park. They even gave us a nice bar of chocolate when checking out. Super small hotel, would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We asked for no extras and room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackem73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I can certaintly recommend this hotel! It was reasonably cheap (hey, it is Salzburg!), and close to a bus stop which could take you directly to old town. I and my family lived in a so called "family room" with 2 bathrooms, and 2 bedrooms, and was very satisfied. The most impressing detail was the cozyness of the room, with lots of decorations on the wall and sturdy-looking furniture. The fact that there was access to free WLAN was very appreciated. The staff was very service minded and had allready made our room even though we arrived at the hotel hours before regual check in! The breakfast was good with diversity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utan_namn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
1.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Turnerwirt
Hotel Turnerwirt
#59 of 132 in Salzburg
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
814 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post

Property: Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Hotel zur Post)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zur Post
Zur Post Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing