We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zur Post

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel zur Post
Ranked #51 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stafford
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

As the "Hotel" does not have a restaurant, I would class it as a very good B&B. The rooms varied in size. I asked for a smoking room and got a very large light airy room with, counting the bathroom, 3 large windows. Our friends who had a non smoking room had a room of similar size but only one window which made their room feel smaller and a bit gloomy. Overall the rooms were clean and modern. The funiture was of nice and useable quality. The beds were comfortable as were the pillows. Bathroom was large but only had a shower which suited us. The staff were warm and inviting, and were happy to answer any queries we had. The breakfast buffet was lovely with a large selection of fish, meats, cheese, cereals etc. Free parking for the car meant we could catch the tram just outside the hotel which took us to the centre of Salzburg (cost 8.5 euros each way for the 4 of us). The hotel is too far out from the city centre to walk but as I just said the tram made it a doddle. It made an excellent base for the city centre where you just have to see the castle, walk the tiny medieval streets full of superb little shops and the Mirabelle gardens (you can sing do ray me on the steps and dance around the fountain if you like and admission is free), and it was also a good base for excursions, we did Hitlers Eagle's nest where the views are just fantastic, the salt mine in Hallein and the largest ice cave in the world, the Eisreisenwelt at Werfen. (don't go if your not fit. Once you make it to the mouth of the cave you then have another 700 steps to climb followed by another 700 on the ascent!). All in all a very nice place to stay and we would stop there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    70
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
71
56
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our upper room was nothing fancy but nice with comfortable beds. Breakfast was about par for the course during our European vacation through Germany, Austria, and Hungary but better than most by a small margin. The whole place was very clean and a nice setting for relaxing. Not in the city center but close enough to walk - only 15 to 20 minutes at a moderate pace. Overall a very good stay, especially considering the good price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrimsonWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Hotel Zur Post is a very nice, very reasonably priced hotel. For 144 Euros a night, we rented a room for four that was large, clean and nicely furnished. The staff at the front desk was helpful and pleasant. The hotel is not close to the historic district, but there's a bus stop right across the street. It was a good value and very comfortable. We would stay at the Hotel Zur Post again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48andHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Lare rooms , large german style breakfast, large welcome.

We stayed for 4 nights mainly to go to the Mozart Dinner Concert at Stiftskeller St Peter. We arrived on Sunday so no bus was running from the airport.Lovely weather though so we walked wheeling our cases. About 20 mins walk in glorious sunshine and we saved the taxi fare for booze.

Staff very welcoming & helpful and speak English. Lovely big room, very clean. At the back of the hotel so quiet as well. On the bus route into town. Bus every twenty minutes. Buy your 24 hour tickets at reception for around 3 euros each. If you like brewery food, sauasages etc, and excellent beer in very comfortable beer hall surroundings walk to Stiegl Brewery 15 minutes from the Hotel, staff will give directions. We tested every beer on the taps.Delicious!

They have plenty of bikes for hire and Saltzburg has plenty of cycle routes on the flat. We were rained on so called off our ride at midday. We were charged only for the half-day's use.

No fridge or kettle in the rooms but reception staff will make you a coffee for a few euros. Next time we visit Austria we will bring our own kettle and coffee etc. so we can have it anytime. There is no bar or public areas so buy your booze at one of the may nearby minimarkets if you want it in your room. Lovely stay. Would stay with them again if in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterEShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Everything was very nice, and the staff was very friendly. Would stay here again if we come again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lactarius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Paul de Vence
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

As we arrived we understood that the family Maier will do their utmost to make our stay enjoyable. Though we arrived early in the morning we could drop our luggage in our room - still to be cleaned. The large room in a separate building from the reception was facing the courtyard and turned out to be very quiet. The room in itself was nothing special but comfortable enough. The bathroom was correct, no amenities but soap dispensers as in many similar places.
We didn't plan to use our car to visit Salzburg, so the free parking was appreciated. We were given all pertinent information to use the local transportation (lines 1 and 8) within 2-minute walk. Very easy to get into the center of town.
In the evening they let us use what looked like the family PC (kids were playing) to check our mails. Breakfast was excellent and we could not ask for more.
The hotel is not in the heart of the city but this is not a problem at all. It is really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We agree with all the folks that like this hotel for it's spacious rooms, friendly helpful staff and it's decent prices. My daughter and I rented bikes from the hotel for half a day and had a glorious time riding the back roads to the river and then riding all along the waterway with the beautiful trees blowing in the wind. It was a highlight of our trip. The breakfast room is charming and the breakfasts were very good. Our only complaint would be the distance from town if you are without a car. There is a handy bus that you get on just across the street but it is still about a fifteen minute ride to the old town. Not bad, really, unless it is 90 degrees like it was the day we were there. All in all I would still go there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#21 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#30 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#50 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zur Post

Property: Hotel zur Post
Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing