We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, would stay again”
Review of Pension Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Elisabeth
Ranked #18 of 62 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We had a nice ensuite room at the back which was was pretty quiet. Fairly roomy room and a reasonablely good sized bathroom. Very clean (as in all hotels we stayed in) and comfy bed. Staff helpful; breakfast basic but fine. We walked into Salzburg the first evening taking about half and hour but once we bought our Salzburg Card, which was excellent value for money, we got the bus back which took about 10 mins with a 5 min walk at the end. There is a supermarket nearby if you needed it. Although not a city centre location it was not too far out either, especially if you used the bus. We did not use the car at all while staying in Saltzburg - buses were regular and fed the outskirts well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Pension Elisabeth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 168 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed here over Easter weekend with extended family, so we booked the apartment and a motel room. Staff were very responsive and helpful to my email queries, even confirming we could check in earlier than usual. We stayed in the apartment which was a good size (one bedroom and a fold out couch for two), very clean and quiet. The shower was fantastic. Others stayed in a motel room over the road which they said was great too. We parked at the Pension and walked or got a bus into town which was easy. Supermarket down the road was handy. This place is really cheap so if you don't expect a hotel you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheYarralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed here 3 nights. For the price, it is a good place to stay. The staff was quite helpful. Our luggage had been lost and they stayed the next day until it arrived from Munich. The breakfast is quite typical - rolls, cheese, meat, jelly, coffee, tea - simple but more than adequate. Our room, which did not face the street, was very quiet - small but clean. The shared bathroom and shower never seemed to be busy and were well cared for by the staff. We walked to the pension from the train but took the bus when we left.

We bought a Salzburg Card which proved to be a great value - free access to lots of the sights and free transportation. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arpclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The place itself is great: It's impecable, the rooms are in perfect shape and are well-equiped (despite being basically equiped), there's a quite fast, free wifi in your room, and the number of bathrooms per room is quite high, so having to share is actually no problem. Nevertheless, it is far from the city centre and the train station. It is also somewhat isolated from restaurants or groceries, so we had some trouble to find something to eat when we arrived around 20:30. The included breakfast was not precisely amazing, either. Overall, what you get for your money is an excelent standard, especially considering the skyrocketing prices for a room in Austria.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ah-chuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I traveled with 2 other friends to Salzburg recently. We were on a budget trip and needed accommodation for just one night for the 3 of us. Pension Elisabeth offered relatively cheap rooms. We stayed in a 3-bed room with ensuite shower, but with shared WC. The shared WC was very clean and just outside the rooms. In fact, we preferred the shared bathroom outside of our rooms as it was more spacious. There was good water pressure for shower too. The shower within the room was actually like a capsule and was a bit too small for a person. For the price of 64 euro/room, simple breakfast was provided. We loved the hot semmels (a typical Austrian bread) which were served. Although our room was facing the main street, it was surprisingly quiet in the night. Lastly, wireless internet is free if you bring your own gadget!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed here in Oct 09 and the staff were helpful, the tips to find it from train stain where good, whichis only a 10 min walk, rooms good size, clean facilities, hot water for tea coffee etc. and helpful staff. What more could you want

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadgeGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is a great place to stay if you're on a budget. I was a bit nervous before we arrived but there was nothing to worry about.

It's located close to the train station, which was good for us, and the directions given were very useful. We only stayed for one night so had a room with a shared bathroom. The rooms were very clean and comfortable as were the loos and bathroom. The staff were all really helpful and friendly and there's lots of information in the reception about Salzburg.

It took us about 20-25 minutes to walk to the old town from Pension Elisabeth and it was an easy and nice route. There's also a good bus service and you can also hire bikes from reception too.

Overall, I was really pleased with my stay here. It's not classed as a hotel but it was better than some hotels I've stayed in! I would definitely return and recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.6 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#39 of 132 in Salzburg
660 reviews
1.9 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#85 of 132 in Salzburg
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Elisabeth

Address: Vogelweiderstrasse 52 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range: $61 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Elisabeth 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Elisabeth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing