We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Pension Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Elisabeth
Ranked #20 of 61 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Bennet, Nebraska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed here 3 nights. For the price, it is a good place to stay. The staff was quite helpful. Our luggage had been lost and they stayed the next day until it arrived from Munich. The breakfast is quite typical - rolls, cheese, meat, jelly, coffee, tea - simple but more than adequate. Our room, which did not face the street, was very quiet - small but clean. The shared bathroom and shower never seemed to be busy and were well cared for by the staff. We walked to the pension from the train but took the bus when we left.

We bought a Salzburg Card which proved to be a great value - free access to lots of the sights and free transportation. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arpclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    70
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
31
53
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The place itself is great: It's impecable, the rooms are in perfect shape and are well-equiped (despite being basically equiped), there's a quite fast, free wifi in your room, and the number of bathrooms per room is quite high, so having to share is actually no problem. Nevertheless, it is far from the city centre and the train station. It is also somewhat isolated from restaurants or groceries, so we had some trouble to find something to eat when we arrived around 20:30. The included breakfast was not precisely amazing, either. Overall, what you get for your money is an excelent standard, especially considering the skyrocketing prices for a room in Austria.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ah-chuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I traveled with 2 other friends to Salzburg recently. We were on a budget trip and needed accommodation for just one night for the 3 of us. Pension Elisabeth offered relatively cheap rooms. We stayed in a 3-bed room with ensuite shower, but with shared WC. The shared WC was very clean and just outside the rooms. In fact, we preferred the shared bathroom outside of our rooms as it was more spacious. There was good water pressure for shower too. The shower within the room was actually like a capsule and was a bit too small for a person. For the price of 64 euro/room, simple breakfast was provided. We loved the hot semmels (a typical Austrian bread) which were served. Although our room was facing the main street, it was surprisingly quiet in the night. Lastly, wireless internet is free if you bring your own gadget!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed here in Oct 09 and the staff were helpful, the tips to find it from train stain where good, whichis only a 10 min walk, rooms good size, clean facilities, hot water for tea coffee etc. and helpful staff. What more could you want

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadgeGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is a great place to stay if you're on a budget. I was a bit nervous before we arrived but there was nothing to worry about.

It's located close to the train station, which was good for us, and the directions given were very useful. We only stayed for one night so had a room with a shared bathroom. The rooms were very clean and comfortable as were the loos and bathroom. The staff were all really helpful and friendly and there's lots of information in the reception about Salzburg.

It took us about 20-25 minutes to walk to the old town from Pension Elisabeth and it was an easy and nice route. There's also a good bus service and you can also hire bikes from reception too.

Overall, I was really pleased with my stay here. It's not classed as a hotel but it was better than some hotels I've stayed in! I would definitely return and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Pension Elisabeth is located close to the train station in Salzburg. In fact, the web site provides directions for the walk between the station and Elisabeth. However, note that you must carry your luggage up and down stairways to get over the railway tracks if you are walking. Otherwise, exit the front of the station and use the local buses downtown or take a cab to Elisabeth. Pension Elisabeth provided rooms which were good in size, clean and had a modern bathroom. Breakfast was good and plentiful in their buffet area. Using Bus #21 to connect to Old Town and return was easy. The bus stop is across the street and just around the corner. Purchase 24-hour transportation passes at the Tobacco Shop a few doors away to save money. Overall, Pension Elisabeth is a very good value in Salzburg and we were very happy with our stay. In fact, it was better than I had expected from the reviews.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Booked a room with a shower in the room, and yes seriously there was a shower IN the room, no door nothing, only a curtain, was a bit bizarre. Both ended up using the shared bathroom at the end of the hall which was spacious and very clean. Don't pay extra for this shower stall in your bedroom.

Breakfast was basic, a couple of rolls and spreads and a coffee. However this was the cheapest place we stayed in europe so can't really complain.

Walking distance to town centre is about 15-20 mintues which is easily manageable and never caught the bus.

Internet available at a cost, usually took ages for the staff to set up so not worth it, internet place on the way to the city is much cheaper so use that.

Was on the ground floor at the back (near intersection) but can honestly say that traffic noise was never a problem.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fran-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.9 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#66 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Elisabeth

Property: Pension Elisabeth
Address: Vogelweiderstrasse 52 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Elisabeth 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Elisabeth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing