We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, close to train station”
Review of Pension Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Elisabeth
Ranked #18 of 61 Salzburg B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, close to train station”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Easy walk from the train station. Just make sure you find the overhead pedestrian bridge located at the northern side of platforms 12/13 [GPS 47.814137,13.046646 ]. Once crossing the pedestrian bridge, it's about a 10 minute walk.

We chose a "Room with shower/sink, WC down the hall". It was 20 Euros cheaper than a room with both shower and WC, but only 5 Euros more than a room with neither. It's located on a busy street but the back-facing rooms are quiet. The continental breakfast was just fine.

Room Tip: It's on a busy street, but rooms facing the back are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    73
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
33
54
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham Uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the garden rooms ,sleeps 4 ,its downstairs only one toilet and bathroom so better suited to a family with children.or use as a small suite as the sofa made the double bed.The rooms were quiet and cosy not too hot as it was blistering sunshine when we were there.,we got a kettle and a small fridge super for me as i need several caffeine drinks before functioning in the morning.
Parking wasn't so easy,but that's reflected in the price.Good T>V,and garden area with this room
Breakfast was very good value,had to pre book but worth it.Walking to Salzbugtook15 to 20 min .it was a safe walk,but there was a good bus connection near the Pension , took the same time to walk though .good supermarkets nearby to buy those essentials (beer,choc,water)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have just stayed a weekend at the Pension Elisabeth and although the place is warm and friendly... I am leaving rather sleep deprived!

My room is on the top floor of the building, facing the main road. Being up high, the room gets very hot very easily. There is no air conditioning. So I've been sleeping with the window open which brings the temperature down... but the road is so damn noisy that it is hard to get some shut eye! But I simply cannot stand to leave the window shut as it is way too stuffy and hot! Even with the window shut, it is still noisey!

On the plus side, I do enjoy breakfast but be warned, the room doesn't really 'include' breakfast unless you consider bread, butter and a few spreads breakfast... however, you can buy all the extra's for just €1 extra per piece (for example, I usually have 1 boiled egg, 1 muesli and 1 yoghurt and it is €3 extra for all of that which makes it a complete breakfast). The breakfast would have to be my only plus to the place.

Other than the noise of the room, the pillows are pathetically thin, so much that I've had to use my blanket as a pillow. Both myself and my friend that I'm staying here with are leaving this place very sleep deprived, we both have not had a decent sleep through.

The positives are that the breakfast is cheap and nice, and the room is very clean, spacious and looks fairly decent. if they just double glazed the windows, and put aircon in the rooms, and provided decent pillows, I would have rated this 5 stars. Its not much to do but it would make the place that much better.

Personally - I wouldn't stay here again for the reasons mentioned above. If you are not fussy on pillows, temperature and noise, then you will be fine here as everything else is good

Room Tip: try and get a room that is not facing the main road, you might get a better nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I pass through Salzburg once or twice a year on business and invariably stay at the Pension Elisabeth. I was attracted to it first because it was inexpensive and could be booked over the Internet - a rare thing in those days, but typical of the way they've always tried to stay ahead of the trends. The Pension is clean, well equipped, efficiently run and friendly (every time I book I get a wonderful e-mail back within the hour saying how nice it will be to see me again!) and the services on offer seem to improve every time I come.

It isn't luxurious - no carpet on the stairs, formica-topped dining tables, etc. - but everything you need is there, and in top condition. I can't understand the review which complains about every room smelling of smoke; this certainly hasn't been my experience, and in fact there are tactful but strong reminders about where you can and can't smoke in the handbook which is found in every room. (The handbook itself - in German and wobbly English - is a large looseleaf folder which is an absolute mine of information, both about the facilities on offer and about Salzburg too.)

Everyone on the staff appears to be female; I don't know if this is policy, but it seems to have been this way for quite some time. Anyway, they're all extremely nice, very courteous and unfailingly cooperative.

Despite being on the busy Vogelweiderstrasse, the rooms are quiet and sleeping at night has never been a problem with comfortable beds and fluffy duvets. One reviewer said the Pension is "off the beaten track"; well, it's not in the city centre, which is one reason it's not expensive, but the railway station is just down the road, and you can arrive by train then be settled in your room fifteen minutes later. Also, there are buses to everywhere (including crucially the airport) from the station, so communications are pretty good. Getting down into Salzburg is simple, with a bus stop directly opposite the Pension; Salzburg's transport system is good and frequent, and the 24-hour tickets can save you a small fortune.

For style and grandeur, go to the Hotel Sacher. But for a comfortable experience offered by friendly people, with great beds, efficient showers, and a good continental breakfast in the morning, I haven't found anywhere to match the Pension Elisabeth.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for the best-quality rooms with private bathroom; they don't cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We wanted to spend the night in Salzburg and the choice was either the Pension Elisabeth (bookable through tourist information) or the Hotel Sacher. Pretty much everything else was booked due to an international event in the City.
The Sacher was about 8 times the money and we went with the Pension. Not a bad decision. Small pension in a more commercial neighborhood of Salzburg, so we took a taxi every time. Room was clean and bright, but smelled a bit like smoke. The lady at the front desk (which is not manned after 7pm) was super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWondererNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights in December. Location is walkable from the train station but not from the old town. Breakfast was included (only a basket of buns with various spreads). Well priced for adequate arrangements except for one major issue, smoke. While booking this accommodation, no where was it mentioned that EVERY room was a smoking room. The sheets, pillows, and blankets smelled like disgusting smoke. Our clothes smelt like smoke after one night! For travellers, it's incredibly inconvenient and annoying when you are limited in clothing and limited in washing, moving from city to city. This ruined our stay and I would not recommend it if you are a non-smoker. I would have paid more for a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fox64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Booked via email, good prompt replies. Very easy and safe 10 min walk from the main train station (which is also the main bus station). Nice warm welcome on arrival, although we were given a double bed rather than the two twin beds we had requested! Clean quiet room with en suite shower and basin, comfy bed and terrestial TV. The communal showers and toilets were impeccably clean.

Breakfast basic, consisting of coffee, juices and fresh bread rolls, but perfectly adequate.We were too early and too late for breakfast on 2 occasions (our fault) but they very kindly accommodated us anyway!

City centre 20min walk from hotel, old town 25-30 min walk.

Overall, nice basic clean hotel, very good value for money, ideal for couples on a budget break, students or back packers! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Beware that the 'en suite' shower is not in a separate bathroom - it's a shower cubicle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonito74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.9 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#71 of 132 in Salzburg
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#16 of 61 in Salzburg
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yoho International Youth Hostel
0.8 mi away
Amedia Express Salzburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Elisabeth

Property: Pension Elisabeth
Address: Vogelweiderstrasse 52 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Elisabeth 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Elisabeth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing