We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Salzburg Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ranked #57 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent value for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Budget hotel. Clean and efficient. Good transport options into the old town/Mirabelle gardens. Internet was slow in the rooms, but generally fast in the lobby and there is a computer available.

One word of caution: if you are arriving at night, while there is a bus from the train station that gets relatively close to the hotel (bus 23) it does involve walking through a rather shadowy underpass. I'd suggest getting a taxi (7-8 euros).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenofVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    327
    172
    51
    22
See reviews for
139
302
56
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at the ibis Salzburg while backpacking around Europe. We arrived into Salzburg late at night, and ended up taking a taxi (about 8 euros) from the Haptbahnhof to the hotel as we couldn't figure out the buses (the bus that runs past the hotel doesn't actually go to the station).

The room and bathroom were both adequate and neat, and it was nice to have some private space after a week in hostels! Catching the bus into the city was a minor hassle, but seeing as we paid 80 euros for 2 nights (not much more expensive than some hostels!) we weren't complaining!

The ibis Salzburg is a good option for accommodation, considering the lack of hostels in Salzburg, despite the distance out of the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Location is less than ideal, in fact it is the least impressive part of the hotel. During the day, there are four buses (bus 21) to/from hotel and city center, later hours just two an hour. If you happen to be around main station, you can go back to hotel by bus 23 instead (there's a bus stop across the rail track, 2 minutes walk). What can be tricky is if you have walked all over town and want to go back to hotel for a little nap, it can be daunting to wait for the bus, 15 to 20 minutes bus ride back to the hotel. Same for going back to town. So bear that in mind.

There is no vending machines for drinks or snacks. They are available from the bar 24 hours and there is a McDonald's right next door, but it would be kind of nice if there was a vending machine on the floor. If you want to avoid paying a lot for little munchies, there is a grocery store across the rail track, so you can stock up snacks and drinks instead.

Overall, room and facility is basic as Ibis cater for basic no frill market, but considering location and time it takes to go back and forth, it might be better to choose something closer to the center. Especially if you don't have a Salzburg card, you might end up spending a lot on bus rides.

On the other hand, if you have a car, it can be a good location, as parking is available and right on the road into town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polarrrbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Hi I have visited Austria from 18th September 2010 to 21st September 2010 with my wife. I have stayed Ibis Innsbruck and Ibis Salzburg. I would recommend Ibis Innsbruck but not Ibis Salzburg. Service is poor. Toilet was not clean. They didn't even provide a separate dustbin in room and when we have asked we were told to use the toilet's dustbin. I have paid in cash still they have deducted from my credit card. Completely poor service. It's far away from the town. The receptionist lady on the 20th September morning didn't even provide Salzburg card. Unless you are a big fan of Ibis hotel never ever stay in this hotel. Every day you have to travel a lot from old town to here by only bus 21.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIARINDAMDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

A typical Ibis 3*, but far from the city centre & only 1 bus to reach it (every 15mins from 8am--5pm, every 30mins early morning & late evening)
McDonald just outside--good for breakfast, if U dont want to pay extra for the Ibis Buffet breakfast.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Hotel is small and cozy. We had absolutely no bad experiences at all. Free parking is available in front of the hotel. Room is ok, but nothing fancy. Bathroom is very clean, nice, supplied with hair dryer. All kind of internet services is free, in room you have speed transmittion line that you can use.
Breakfast was excellent. From eggs and sausages to all kind of cornflakes, definitely worth of the money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

Good updated hotel. Comfortable, clean room...though small. Free parking. We took the bus to town becuase it was snowing and didn't want to deal with the car. Easy, convenient commute both ways by bus, about 15 mins. Staff was very helpful.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#43 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
2.7 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#69 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Salzburg Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Salzburg Nord

Property: Ibis Salzburg Nord
Address: Carl-Zuckmayer-Strasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Salzburg Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Salzburg Nord hotel is located to the north of Salzburg, 4 km from the city centre and 8 km from W.A Mozart airport. The Festspielhaus and Landestheater theatres are 6 km away. The hotel offers for booking 103 air-conditioned rooms, with Wifi Internet access, including 1 for disabled persons. A bar is at your disposal as well as snacks 24/24. Parking is free. Close to the hotel, a golf course, tennis courts and a thalassotherapy centre await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Salzburg Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Salzburg Nord Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing