We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you're driving and need internet”
Review of Ibis Salzburg Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ranked #52 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good if you're driving and need internet”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is on the outskirts of town right off the free way and has plenty of included parking. It's about a 5 minute drive into town. There is public transport options just out front but we didn't use it.

The room was very clean but with the basics only(no fridge etc.). The cabled internet worked great. Brekky at the hotel was too pricey so we made alternative plans. There's a McDonald's as part of the same complex.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuppingerChristiane, Manager at Ibis Salzburg Nord, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear IBIS guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are really happy to hear, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. The public transportation with the bus is normaly truly easy and departures direct in front of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again soon in Salzburg.

Best regards to Australia

your IBIS team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    345
    181
    55
    22
See reviews for
148
316
61
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lamezia Terme, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis one night in August 2012. The hotel is simple and clean, as other of the same hotel chain. Among the few hotel available when we did a last minute booking this was the one with the best quality/price ratio. The bed was very confortable and there is a bus running from the hotel and the city center, that permits to leave the car at the hotel and avod to deal with the worse problem in Salisburg: finding a parking - or paying 15 euros per day at an undergroung parking. Bad note: the hotel did not have a reastaurant working and there is not much around. We eneded up to have dinner at the close by McDonald's ... We did not take breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lluca31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuppingerChristiane, Manager at Ibis Salzburg Nord, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Ibis guest,

we are glad to hear that you had a great time in our hotel!

There is a restaurant about 10min. walking distance away from our hotel, which has a very good traditional austrian kitchen. We don't have a restaurtant in our hotel but our bar is open 24 hours and there we offer also something to eat, like pizza, lasagne, toast,..

We hope to welcome you again!

Have a nice sunday!

Best regards,

Your IBIS Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A nice comfortable and a small hotel, although a bit outside the main city. It's about 15 min by taxi, from the railway station. The entrance is a bit tricky and you have to turn off the road and enter from the side, and then go to the first floor. You have to take two lifts to get in. Rooms are typical Ibis, small and clean, with very basic amenities. There are a group of several girls at the reception (who seem to be there all the time!) and do everything, from attending the reception to bartending. The catering is only for breakfast - after that there are are only some very limited snacks available for the rest of the day; so if you are out late in the city, it's better to have a meal in the city before getting back. There's a MacDonalds in the ground floor, but other than that, there did not appear to be any other eating joints nearby. However the bar is open all the time. Breakfast was also typical Ibis, the same what we had during our entire stay in Austria - we stayed at Ibis wherever we went. Plenty to eat and lots of fresh fruits and breads, enough to energise you for the day (11 Euro). During our stay of 3 days, there was a large Chinese group also staying in the hotel and so breakfast was a bit of a scramble as space is somewhat limited in the restaurant; finally we ended up by checking the departure time of the group and then getting to the restaurant after that. There is no Wi-Fi in the room, you have to go to the lobby, although wired internet is available in the room. This is a bit of an anachronism in this age of the IPad!

The way to get to the main town, is to take bus no. 21, which stops just outside the hotel. This bus runs every 15 min on weekdays and every half hour on Sundays, till about 10.30 pm. This bus goes to the old town (HanuschPlatz, Mirabelgardens) so one can get the sights straightaway. It takes about 20 mins to get the town. We got stuck a couple of times after attending music concerts in the town, which ended late, and we missed the last bus due to heavy rain, and had to take a taxi back a couple of times. That was one of the times we regretted that the hotel did not have a full-fledged dining facility - we were soaked, and all the restaurants in the town were closed at that late hour! It costs about 10 Euro, by taxi, to get back to the hotel from HanuschPlatz. As the hotel is located near the main highway, there is hardly anything of value nearby, and one has to get to the town for almost everything.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and were of great assistance in guiding us on how to go to various places. Other than the somewhat akward location (just outside the town) it is a value-for-money hotel and made a good base for a sightseeing tour of Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sekharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuppingerChristiane, Manager at Ibis Salzburg Nord, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear IBIS guest,

thank you very much for taking so much time to write an assessment about our hotel.

We are very happy that you had a good time in Salzburg and you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I am sorry for you that you had problems to find a good dining restaurant. There are 2 restaurants and a supermarket located about 10 min. walking distance from our hotel. And if you are getting hungry late, we offer snacks 24 hours in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in Salzburg!

Best regards,

your IBIS Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

A very average ibis. Nice bathroom, big, comfy bed; air con that works; but the parking is abysmal, not enough of it and the access complicated via 2 lifts; plus an awkward turn off the main road. Having said that, the staff were very friendly and considering its in Salzburg durin the festival, very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeathenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuppingerChristiane, Manager at Ibis Salzburg Nord, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear IBIS Guest,

We have parking places directly in front of the door and the big parking place is behind the barrier. The guests only need to tell us at the reception than we will open the gate.

Nevertheless, if some guests don't find any place we are always pleased to help finding a solution.

We have one lift in front of the hotel that goes from the ground floor up to the reception and to the rooms.
The second one only goes from the parking spots to the reception in case that our guests have heavy luggage and don't want to use the stairs.

Best regards,

your IBIS Team Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
864 reviews
4.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#40 of 132 in Salzburg
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Turnerwirt
Hotel Turnerwirt
#58 of 132 in Salzburg
375 reviews
2.4 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Salzburg Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Salzburg Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Salzburg Nord

Property: Ibis Salzburg Nord
Address: Carl-Zuckmayer-Strasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Salzburg Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Salzburg Nord hotel is located to the north of Salzburg, 4 km from the city centre and 8 km from W.A Mozart airport. The Festspielhaus and Landestheater theatres are 6 km away. The hotel offers for booking 103 air-conditioned rooms, with Wifi Internet access, including 1 for disabled persons. A bar is at your disposal as well as snacks 24/24. Parking is free. Close to the hotel, a golf course, tennis courts and a thalassotherapy centre await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Salzburg Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Salzburg Nord Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing