We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Travelling McGee's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centro Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Centro Hotel
Ranked #109 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Travelling McGee's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

We stayed there for 7 night in September 2005. Found the staff very helpful, (didnt arrive til late on). The breakfast was fantastic and the room was more than adequate. The hotel itself doesnt do dinner but there is an authentic austrian restaurant. Go over the bridge at the mirabell, up to the main road (Mullner Haupstrasse), take a right and you will see a green "bungalow" type of building. Take a phrase book, the staff werent to good at english but the food is lovely. Then you can finish the evening off in the beergardens. recommended and would go back

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank McGees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2006

The hotel was nice and the staff are friendly. The breakfast was good and delicious. I felt it's a bit far from the attractions but maybe I was there on the raining day.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank kirinhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

Close to Mirabell Gardens and bus station. 15 mins walk to old town, and considerably cheaper than Hotels there.

Very reasonable price, and nice room for 3 stars.

Breakfast selection extensive.

Internet a bit pricey at 1 euro for 10 mins.

Salzburg good for short break. Not a lot of night life though.

Recommend Steiglbrau restaurant in on Reissestrasse just before the railway bridge.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Double bed just two single mattresses next to each other - Mind the Gap!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Docsology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2006

We spent two nights at the Centro Hotel in Salzburg, Austria and found it very enjoyable. The staff were beyond helpful, and the breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip. We got a room for 5 (2 adults, 3 children [13,11 & 9]) for 120 euros/night. The bathroom was next door, and the shower (oddly enough) was 2 floors down (in the sub-level near the dining room). I believe most rooms had baths inside - we were just a large group. Street parking was included (they gave us a permit to put in the windshield). It was also an easy walk to the train station (where a laundry is located). Very near a good brewpub (Die Weisse). I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParentsOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2005

The Centro is in a quiet area, but quite handy to the Salzburg town centre and old town.

The room was large and reasonably well equipped, with a little balcony overlooking the garden. The whole hotel looks fresh and clean, with a very welcoming ambience. The staff were all friendly and very helpful.

The only downside is that the building is split-level, and there is no way to get from the street to the lift without going up or down some steps. This might be an issue for the elderly or disabled.

Overall, we were very pleased, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Centro Hotel in July 2005. We found it to be very convenient, near to old town and train station. Rooms were clean, well appointed and comfortable. Bathroom and shower were good. Double-glazed windows deadened any road noise. All rooms overlooked a garden terrace. Breakfast was particularly good and well provisioned, so if you you happened to be the last to arrive, there was still plenty of food available. Staff was courteous and helpful. Rooms were cleaned quickly and efficiently. In short, it was a very convenient place to stay for the Salzburg Festival. Only one complaint – prices were relatively high for the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2005

We stayed here over easter and were really pleased with the location, size of rooms and breakfast served. Decor and building is a bit basic and not really stylish but excellent value for money and helpful staff so this was a very minor aspect in my opinion. We will probably stay there again when we visit Salzburg.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank proffitt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
#61 of 137 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#54 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#47 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#34 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#55 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Hotel

Property: Centro Hotel
Address: Auerspergstrasse 24, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Centro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing