We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the new town”
Review of WEIN & CO Platzl

WEIN & CO Platzl
Ranked #119 of 737 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
Description: Visit our bar and enjoy a glass of wine at Wein & Co Platzl! We are located in the town centre of Salzburg, Platzl 2.
Restaurant details
Description: Visit our bar and enjoy a glass of wine at Wein & Co Platzl! We are located in the town centre of Salzburg, Platzl 2.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

Just over the bridge into the new town we found this really lovely wine bar. Great to sit outside in the evening and we shared some food (the Spanish antipasti and the curry- both of which were average but not bad at all). The wine there was delicious and it was all reasonable priced. They have a shop inside selling all of the wine. A lovely way to spend a Sunday evening.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lauramorgan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2018

There is nice outside seating which is always full. The concept is that you can buy wine by the bottle and have it served there. Not unusual for a restaurant, but this is more like a wine shop with a very large choice. Service was friendly and we very much enjoyed the tasting.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DickZe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEINCO, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at WEIN & CO Platzl, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hello Dick Z,
thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our concept!
Kind regards,
Markus from WEIN & CO Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We just stopped in for a glass of wine, we couldn't read the menu but the waitress was very friendly and gave us some great wine suggestions that were from local vineyards. They also serve food but I can't comment on it since we just had wine. There is also a wine store attached to it that had a fantastic selection of wine from all over. If you bring your receipt from the tasting you will get a 10% on anything you buy from the store.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEINCO, Leiter Gästebetreuung at WEIN & CO Platzl, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear Nancy F,

Thank you for your nice Feedback!
We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards,
WEIN&CO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Great place to have few glasses of wine in nice and relaxed atmosphere. Great service and lovely wine, they also give you voucher for wine that you can buy in their shop.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank aniavoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEINCO, Leiter Gästebetreuung at WEIN & CO Platzl, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear aniavoo,

Thank you for your Feedback!
We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards,
WEIN&CO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018

At the Platzl square between the Staatsbrücke over the river Salzach and the pedestrian Linzergasse, thus in one of the towns favorite areas to go out, is this Wine Shop and Bar, called simply 'Wein&Co', but in fact part of a chain with about 19 branches all over Austria, from Bregenz to Vienna.

Staying nearby, I went there after dinner for a night cup in form of a glass of wine. I was lucky that I found a place by the bar, because the place is very popular and the next evening it was completely packed. There is some seating available, inside and outside as well.

Togteher with the wine - or plenty of other liquids, from beer to high percentage drinks, to coffee, tea or non-alcoholic beverages - can also be had various tapas-like snacks. The wine in the glass is served in amounts of 1/8th liter, as is usual in Austria. I first went for the wine recommended as 'Unser Tipp', a Grüner Veltliner from the Kremstal, which I found a bit boring. Next I tried a more exciting Sauvignan Blanc from Southern Styria. Very special is the fact that when a wine is not available anymore they put a stamp under its name in the menu card, saying 'Ausgetrunken'.

Naturally the 'Wein&Co' is also an ideal place to buy some wine bottles from their very big selection found at the back. Staff, although very busy, was smiling and friendly.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Service
Thank saronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEINCO, Leiter Gästebetreuung at WEIN & CO Platzl, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Dear saronic,

Thank you for your detailed Feedback!
We would be pleased, to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Wein & Co Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WEIN & CO Platzl also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to WEIN & CO Platzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing