We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like peace and quiet with easy access to old Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steinerhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Steinerhof
Ranked #84 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Chico, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you like peace and quiet with easy access to old Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter and I loved our stay at the beautiful Steinerhof! Norbert and his family were all so friendly and helpful. The don't speak a lot of English but they work hard to please the guests. We enjoyed being away from the crowds and surrounded by the peaceful countryside. The yard is beautiful with sitting areas and a little pond. The house is just how I pictured an old Austrian country house with window boxes filled with flowers.The room we stayed in had a small deck where we enjoyed the view of Untersberg, farm land and the sunset. A nice reprieve after the hustle and bustle of tourist crowds. It's an easy bus ride from the center of old Salzburg and you can get bus passes for one day or multiple days. They serve a beautiful breakfast of juice, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit and fresh breads. I would recommend an early dinner in Salzburg (the Augustiner is fun) before heading back for a quiet evening and restful night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kacondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here in may..we were a family with kids...the place is done up very nicely ..problems started just after check in when the owners wife came up to our rooms and stated that no food can be had in the rooms! since we were with small kids it was a silly request...also the hotel is far away from the city centre and there are no restaurants nearby...we decided to move to another hotel the next day..if not for the unfriendly owners i think this place would be a good option to stay on moosstrasse..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MusafirMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our fourth stay over eight years, what more can we say; Norbert and Renate are perfect hosts. It is an exceptional home with beautiful gardens and the views from our bedroom were wonderful - mountains and flowers. The location is quiet, with a bus taking you to Salzburg in 15 minutes. We enjoyed a typical hearty Austrian breakfast - yoghurt, eggs, fruit, cereals, cold meats, variety of breads, coffee & tea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadperth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent two night in this old and charming place in September 2012.
Norbert, the owner, is a very pleasant gentleman, friendly and hospitable.
The hotel is an old farm typical of the region.
The rooms are not fancy, but they are well kept and clean. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JYFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our family of 3 really enjoyed our stay at Gaesthaus Steinerhof. Norbert added a single bed to our room for our son, which worked well. The guest house is located in a suburb of Salzburg. There are a few houses in front and to the side of the guesthouse, but only fields and a view of the mountains to the rear, so you feel like you are in the countryside. The gardens and regular landscaping are very nice. Our room only had one small window with a few of the barn. Our room and the entire guesthouse were very clean. Our host, Norbert, was very friendly. His English is limited, but a whole lot better than my German. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. We ate twice at one of them, the Reiterhof. I am going to review it on TA as well. Breakfast was fine. The only negative is that you have to take the bus into Salzburg, which was not difficult. We paid 80 Euros per night for 3 people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandHeidi392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We appreciated staying in a quiet residential area with efficient and direct bus service into the city rather than battling the traffic. Our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony with a view of the mountains and the lovely, meticulously manicured gardens below. The flowers, inside and outside, were gorgeous. Herr Haslauer speaks only a little English, but his enthusiasm and warmth made us feel quite welcome. Breakfast was nicely laid out on our table, rather than buffet style. We had a great biergarten dinner at Pflegerbrucke, a few miles away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Escambian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenems, Vorarlberg, Austria
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The rooms were quite old, but it did have some flair too. Breakfast was alright, nothing special, but we were satisfied. If we had stayed a bit longer, it would have been more of a problem. In the end my girlfriend and I had a nice trip to Salzburg. The owner is a very nice fellow and highly motivated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_JBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salzburg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Frauenschuh
Hotel Frauenschuh
#28 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
2.7 mi away
Schlosswirt zu Anif
Schlosswirt zu Anif
#71 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lilienhof
Hotel Lilienhof
#68 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Austria Classic Hotel Hoelle
Austria Classic Hotel Hoelle
#61 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#53 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steinerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinerhof

Property: Steinerhof
Address: Moosstrasse 138, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Steinerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing