We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dual personalities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imlauer & Brau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Ranked #37 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dual personalities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I think there were two side-by-side hotels bought by the Imlauers, turned into Best Westerns, each had a lobby with a different feel, but the reception desk opened to both sides. One side modern, the other traditional. A little weird at first, just don't get confused, you can enter either side and use lobby facilities on either side (luggage room, computer, breakfast room).

We stayed on the modern side. The room was comfortable enough ('American-ish') and had a nice big windows and a view toward the mountain and some more traditional buildings. It isn't advisable to sleep with the windows open, because it's right in the back yard of the station tracks where the trains come and go, but with the windows closed, it's fine.

Breakfast was in a charming courtyard with every imaginable breakfast food. You want to linger.

Location right down the street from Mirabell Gardens where every bus seems to make a stop, so very convenient. Staff was very helpful many times, but didn't seem to know about the summer toboggan track nearby, a highlight of our trip once we found it, but that's for another review.

Weak wifi, handy computer in the lobby though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    104
    50
    12
    7
See reviews for
62
78
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Best Western Hotel Imlauer shares a lobby with the Best Western Stiegelbrau. It is in a great location walking distance from the train station and just a short walk across the river from Old Salzburg. The rooms were large. Only issue we had was a weak wifi signal--we were on the ground floor but had to sit in the lobby to use the internet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlamingoAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of an Austrian tour and stayed for two nights. Our room on the second floor (207) was spacious with a large double bed, a comfortable seating area, a bath/shower and air conditioning. Also provided were tea/coffee making and free wifi. The room was quiet and we slept well.
The staff were pleasant to us and the hotel very clean.
Our stay included buffet breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was perfectly OK with cold meats and cheeses, hot bacon sausages and eggs, cereals, fruit and a toaster for the bread.and kept replenished (eventually). The jugs of coffee provided on the breakfast tables were awful,( but they were awful at our other hotel on the tour too).
Dinner was a good choice of meat fish, veggie dish and sides as well as soup and desserts.
We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with numbers in the hundreds - e.g. 106, 205, 310 - they are in the newer part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Friendly staff. Large rooms however the rooms are very basic. No safe. Handy to old town and a shopping centre nearby. The breakfast is terrible and the coffee I took one mouthful only as it was that bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rydeboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I commend this hotel if you like spacious hotel rooms. The interior is clean and we especially liked how we can open the windows to let the fresh air in particularly when summer is getting near. The rooms are also cleaned well.

Downside is that the elevator is the slowest we've ever seen in all hotels we've been to. We're not joking. Some of our group mates would just use the stairs even if its 4 flights down and they'd still beat the elevator to it. Trust me, you wouldn't want to use the elevator if you're in a hurry; time is very important nowadays.

Another concern we have is our breakfast buffet. The food isn't much. For cooked food you're only given 2 choices -- sausages and scrambled eggs. The rest are your choice of bread, salad, cereals, etc. Typical American breakfast. We didn't touch our food anymore because they were oily and buttery.

Other than the 2 main concerns above, the location is good. We don't like staying in city center anyway. We enjoy our short 20-minute walks to the old town instead of staying in the busy old town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank passportpleasePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

About 5/10 minutes walk from the station. Quick pleasant check in. We had a large comfortable room with a nice bathroom. Excellent hot and cold buffet breakfast. About a 15 minutes walk to the old town across the river. Other sights about the same distance. Hotel bar was smoky though (it is odd the smoking is still allowed in public places in Austria). All in a pleasant stay and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
331 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had rented a Ford Mondeo for our ten-day driving tour of Germany and Austria last summer, but at only one other hotel in Germany (Best Western Plus Hotel St Raphael in Hamburg) did we have more trouble parking it. Before we even checked in, we turned into the parking lot to the left of the main building. There were a few vacant spaces, but it was so cramped that we had a hard time getting the proper turning radius to make it into the space without bumping into another parked car. I climbed out of the passenger's seat. My son climbed out of the back seat. We guided my husband into the space the way we used to guide him when he was parking our 22-foot Class C Motorhome back in the States. I complained to the hotel manager. They said that the parking lot was perfectly standard for Salzburg. I feel very sorry for the drivers in Salzburg if this is true.

Every time we drove in and out of the lot, a bar came down in front of us. We had to show our room key card to get through the gate. This is again not what I would expect of a hotel or motel in the USA.

This hotel pulled a swift one even before we got to Salzburg. We were supposed to have forty-eight hours to cancel the reservation. But three days ahead of time they put through a charge on our card for the entire amount of the stay. This is predatory. And for this reason alone I would never stay here again. No other hotel on our trip did this, and we were away from home for 76 nights in a row.

But despite all the problems there were redeeming features. It was within easy walking distance of the Mirabell Gardens and the Marionettentheater. Also there was lots of shopping and many outdoor cafes nearby. We patronized the restaurant every meal of the trip, including the lunch where I met a friend from college that we hadn't seen in years. The menu was varied enough that we could do this without getting bored. It was one of only two hotels in Germany that had rooms on the ground floor, which was very convenient.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the ground floor. It's right down the hall from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCargillTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#21 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#54 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#31 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer & Brau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer & Brau

Property: Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Address: Rainerstrasse 12-14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Altstadt)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer & Brau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Imlauer & Brau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Imlauer
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing