We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Imlauer & Brau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Ranked #33 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I actually booked another hotel which have the lobby located next door called Steiglbrau ( but both hotels are on the same building but separate lift) at hotel.com at a price less than 80 euro which was a good price. Located just about seven minutes walk from main railway station and five minures walk to Mirabell palace which is connected to the old town. Th room is not big but not so small. The bed is really comfortable and the staff seemed to be helpful but provided us some wrong information about tax refund. The restaurant in the hotel is nice too. We ate at both lunch time and dinner.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    130
    60
    13
    8
See reviews for
76
95
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel had a great free breakfast buffet and free Wifi in the hotel room. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station and a stop on the bus line into downtown. The staff isn't overly friendly but they do take care of any concerns you have. There are several good restaurants within a few blocks of the motel as well as a good restaurant on site. There is also a cash machine approximately one block from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a Salzburg Card if you are going to be site seeing. It gets you admission into almost every sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slag77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My mom was traveling with us so I reserved a suite/family room after looking at pictures on the Internet which reflected a separate room as well as reading a review that stated how wonderful it was to have the separate room in the family room.  When we arrived, we were not given a suite or family room with a separate room.   I was told you cannot reserve a suite (even though my reservation stated a suite).  My mom's bed was crammed into the room with ours and there was no place to sit except for the beds. Upon arrival, we began experiencing problems with the air conditioning. Later that evening some other guests walked into our room.  We went to the desk to complain about the air conditioning and the fact they gave other people access to our room. When we arrived at the desk, there was another upset guest complaining about no air conditioning.  The lady at the desk admitted they made an error in keying our room to other guests.  She only went to check the air in the room because my husband told her we weren't leaving until she did something about it.  When she returned, she acknowledged the room was not cooling and offered the fan at her desk.  The next morning I overheard another lady complaining about no air in her room.  On the second night, the air was working but it began dripping water from the ceiling.  Austria was experiencing high temperatures during the time of our stay and this hotel was not equipped with a backup plan for air conditioning  malfunctions (i.e. fans).  The bathroom did not have a step in shower and they apparently don't vacuum the rooms before a new guest arrives as there were peanuts on the floor.  I did speak to the manager regarding the "family room" prior to departing and she explained to me that the room I was describing is not available in Hotel Imlauer but instead in the sister hotel next to it.  It is my understanding the "sister hotel" is not as nice as Hotel Imlauer.  

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel and need privacy, book separate rooms. There are no adjoining family rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DVHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Imlauer Hotel would be a good place—it’s clean & modern enough, the breakfast is very good, and the location is convenient—but the staff is unpleasant. Our original reservation was for the Stieglbrau, which is right next door—the two properties share a dining room and staff, and an interior corridor connects them. I’m wondering if these hotels are geared to giant bus tours; perhaps the staff is trained to deal with tour guides who are delivering masses of anonymous paying customers.

Our “welcome” began as soon as we drove up. We pulled in front of the hotels and a woman immediately ran out and asked which one we were staying at. We told her we were booked for the Stieglbrau and she ordered us to pull our car up so that we were in front of that hotel and not the Imlauer. So we moved the car ten feet; I hope that made her happy. When we checked in, an unsmiling fellow told us we were being moved from the Stieglbrau to the Imlauer. He gave us our keys and a map and was done with us.

Breakfast would have been excellent, but the mood was spoiled by an abusive manager. On the first day, we walked into the breakfast area and waited momentarily to see if we should seat ourselves or wait to be seated. We then asked the manager if we should seat ourselves, and he barked at us that we could not. Later, he upbraided the staff right in front of the guests. The next day, we were told by someone else to seat ourselves. The manager could be heard once again talking to the staff in a degrading manner. Breakfast was served until 10:00 a.m.; at about 9:50, the staff started scurrying around putting “reserved” signs on all the unoccupied tables. The message seemed clear—we had enjoyed our free food and it was time to get ready for more busloads of tourists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanteBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Imlauer over the Easter period and enjoyed our stay. The staff are not very chatty but efficient, breakfast was same each day but there was sufficient choices and as much as you wanted. Very close to train and bus station if you are taking trips and a bus stop outside the door if you have the salzburg card bus is free so we used to hop on to station and then get bus out. The hotel was very clean in the rooms and all other areas, would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RILEYGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel's advantage is definitely its vicinity to the station, 5 to 10 minutes and you are there. Apart from that its offer is average to below average. Upon our arrival we were offered a room for EUR 130, even though their online price stated EUR 87. After several minutes we were eventually offered the same price however were suddenly moved to their sister hotel Stieglbräu next door. This hotel is also a 4-star rated Best Western however looks kinda dated and more like a 2-star. Instead of the enquiried double room we only got a very narrow twin room which was overall clean (the shower curtain was rather stained though) but only offered the most basic commodities. Breakfast was optionally and charged at EUR 20 a person, an offer which we passed on.

Overall (especially for the station related location) probably okay for one night, but for what it offers by far overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

My family stayed at this hotel twice in one week. We stayed in one of their family rooms which was perfect. Our small children get a room and my wife and I get another room and there are doors that separate each room and an external door that separates both rooms. A very secure setup that allows families to have some space. The rooms were clean and heating was good.

The hotel staff has been very nice. They let us keep a couple of suitcases in their luggage hold for a week and were really helpful in getting us checked out and calling us a taxi.

The location is also great. You can walk to the old town in 10-15 minutes. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and the train station is around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD_Amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#54 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#42 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#31 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#18 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer & Brau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer & Brau

Property: Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Address: Rainerstrasse 12-14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Altstadt)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer & Brau 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Imlauer & Brau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Imlauer
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing