We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay in Room 101 to 103!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau
Ranked #1 of 61 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do not stay in Room 101 to 103!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Firstly, we have to say that the location of this hotel is excellent. It is on Linzergasse ("New Town" Shopping Street) and a short walking distance to Getreidegasse (Famous Old Town Street). We also have no difficulties navigating to MirabellPlaz for our day tour meeting point when signing up with Panorama Tours/Viator.

On Linzergasse, there are plenty of cafes for your meals and if you need some groceries, Billabox (something like 7-eleven convenience store) is behind the hotel and Spar (local supermarket) is a short walk away. We were also glad that round the corner of the hotel, the L'Osteria (Pasta & Pizza, Pub, Cafe) opens till 12am on weekdays since our meal time is sporadic.

We did our booking last minute (2 days before) while we were in Linz so it was NOT €70 as stated at the hotel entrance, it was €120 per night with extra €12 for hotel continental breakfast.
We were okay with it, did our booking via Booking.com and stayed in the Business Class Double Room. We reckon it is supposed to be better than the Standard rooms but it is not.

The reception was quick and friendly. We also also able to check in 30 minutes earlier.

We have no complain about the room itself, it is modern, having double panel windows to keep the cold out since we visited in September (the start of Autumn). Housekeeping is relatively clean. We had trouble figuring out the TV as it always reset itself to German when switched off and the interface is not friendly at all. Wifi is bad, dropping connection every few minutes and we are supposed to be near to the reception where the routers are. I had to reconnect 3 times just to post this review in the hotel.

The main issue we have is the location of the room. It may be given to us due to our last minute booking, however, we feel that there should be no rooms along this entire corridor! The guests staying in the room beside us were also having the same problem.

The problem is that this corridor leads to the breakfast "restaurant". The buzzing starts at around 4am or 5am as the waiters are preparing to serve at 6am. The room door is NOT soundproof, you hear everything. When we say everything, it means footsteps, heels, vacuuming, crash of glasses, slamming of doors, people pausing in front of your room door to have conversations - EVERYTHING.

Some guests also checked in late and since these rooms are so close (1 short flight of stairs to the reception) to the reception, lost guests will often wheel their luggages along this corridor, late into the night. Needless to say, we were constantly woken up by all the noises. I admit to be a light sleeper but my husband, being the heavy sleeper, was also woken up. The irony is that the street beside the hotel is so quiet and the noise actually come from within the hotel!

It is either the hotel management do something to soundproof this corridor (with carpeted floors and better room doors) or not have any rooms at all. I think one of the worst service a hotel can provide is sleepless nights for the guests. We even requested a quieter room but the request was ignored. It is very disappointing to us as we love the location of this hotel! We will just have to find another place to stay the next time we are in Salzburg.

Room Tip: Request for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milretse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guests!

Thank you for booking our hotel and for taking the time to comment on the Hotel and the services.Please be assured, as much as positive comments are appreciated, we also take critics seriously as these help to improve our services

We would like to express our position regarding some of your comments.
The price you meton on the door of the Hotel says "ab € 70" which is from € 70 onwards. This is a basic price indication. The room rates depend on the season, event and fair periods.

The rate of breakfast is offered separately and the guests are free to book their rooms with or without breakfast and can also decide to do so on arrival.
May we make a correction regarding our breakfast: We offer a warm buffet breakfast and not continental. The buffet serves a variety of regional high quality warm & cold products including salmon and sparkling wine!

We absolutely regret you did not have a restful night in our hotel. Most hotels have rooms close to the elevator and activity around this area is inevitable. Your Suggestion regarding noise-proof doors will be forwarded to our headquarters.
Please be assured, it is not our policy to ignore the requests of our guests.During your stay our hotel was fully booked and as you mentioned, the last rooms were allotted to last minute bookings. In this case we had absolutely no possibility to offer you a change of room.

We will be very dissapointed if you checked in elsewere during your next visit to Salzburg since we would very much appreciate the opportunity to show you our dedication to hospitality.
Looking forward ro welcoming you at the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu once again we remain
with best regards from Salzburg

GM C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    240
    40
    8
    7
See reviews for
115
260
44
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a three night stay and can highly recommend. We had a suite for four adults, it was spotlessly clean and of a large size which comfortably accommodated all of us with plenty of space for four large and four small suitcases. Parking is "off site" but given the location this is not a surprise and the Mirabellplatz car park is only a short walk away (we arrived at the hotel at 23.00 and it wasn't a problem to get there and back).

The location is ideal for everything you want to see and there are a couple of bars/restaurants immediately opposite.

The bar in the hotel is a great, well priced, place for a nightcap or two. We can recommend the drinking chocolate to take to bed.

All the staff were extremely helpful and cheerful and always ready for a chat when getting our drinks late at night.

A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guests!

Thank you for booking our hotel and for taking the time to comment on the Hotel and the services.Please be assured, as much as positive comments are appreciated, we also take critics seriously as these help to improve our services

We would like to express our position regarding some of your comments.
The price you meton on the door of the Hotel says "ab € 70" which is from € 70 onwards. This is a basic price indication. The room rates depend on the season, event and fair periods.

The rate of breakfast is offered separately and the guests are free to book their rooms with or without breakfast and can also decide to do so on arrival.
May we make a correction regarding our breakfast: We offer a warm buffet breakfast and not continental. The buffet serves a variety of regional high quality warm & cold products including salmon and sparkling wine!

We absolutely regret you did not have a restful night in our hotel. Most hotels have rooms close to the elevator and activity around this area is inevitable. Your Suggestion regarding noise-proof doors will be forwarded to our headquarters.
Please be assured, it is not our policy to ignore the requests of our guests.During your stay our hotel was fully booked and as you mentioned, the last rooms were allotted to last minute bookings. In this case we had absolutely no possibility to offer you a change of room.

We will be very dissapointed if you checked in elsewere during your next visit to Salzburg since we would very much appreciate the opportunity to show you our dedication to hospitality.
Looking forward ro welcoming you at the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu once again we remain
with best regards from Salzburg

GM C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Great friendly staff, superb locations, selection of restaurants right outside, hotel is basic with a modern feeling. Highly recommended.
Parking was a bit irritating with a quick dash to get the luggage out of the boot before another car came around but in no way a problem to stop you from choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guests,
Dear Sir, Mr.Higgins,

Thank you for choosing the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu for your stay in Salzburg!
Thank you too for your wonderful comments about our Hotel and for taking the time to do so.
Ever since the brand Star Inn has been created, emphasis has been placed on top quality products and services. We are pleased to know we have conveyed our philosophy to our guests.
Your highly motivating comments have been passed on to our staff too.
We hope you had a safe trip back home and look forward to welcoming you, your faily and friends at any one of our Star Inn Hotels in Europe.

Best regards from Salzburg
Ms.C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family of three just stayed 3 nights in this hotel last week. After booking well in advance at a rate of Euro 212 per night(not a small amt ) we were given a so-called-suite on top floor. It was an attic room with no windows and all you could see was the sky through a sky light. On seeing the room we asked for a change but were told all suites were on the top floor. Later, we discovered this to be untrue. Also, found other Indians given this type of room. Does not seem to be a coincidence ! Visitors need to check out beforehand if possible because the hotel description was much better. Also , no toiletries, water or coffee maker. Anyother hotel would definitely provide these at such tariffs.Thankfully the location was good and we loved the city.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not given a " suite "" on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rksd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guest,

First of all I want to thank you for choosing the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu and for taking the time commenting on our services. We are thankful for all the feedback we get, whether if it is positive or negative. We always try to get better and take all of the comments we get totally serious. For us it is a big disappointment that you did not have a good and comfortable stay. Please note that our hotel is a listed building. Due to this fact we have a couple of rooms which do not allowe to open them. But there must be a missunderstanding by telling you we only have suites on the fifth floor. I checked again and I saw that we have been fully booked at your arrival date, that was the reason why we were not able to change you to another floor. Also we only have 4 suites and it is not always easy to handle the room allocation and to fullfil all expactions. Apart from this we have high season in August, what means most of the time we are fully booked. Regarding the toiletries you will understand that a 3 star hotel is not able to offer a wide range of these products. We offer soap, shampoo and a shower lotion. A water maker can be loan 24 hours at our reception staff. Anyway we hope you had a save trip back to India and we really would be pleased welcoming you and your family again in any of our Star Inn Hotels.

Best wishes from Salzburg,

C. Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at starinn for 4 nights in June.
Location - great! 5 mins walk to mirabell, old town and the river front .. Numerous restaurants all around. There's a garage to park ur car in case u hire one which is a convenient 5 min walk. So all in all the location is great! But that would be true of any hotel in this vicinity. So lets get to the hotel specifics!
Rooms - We had booked an apartment (supposedly with 2 double beds) for stay of 3 adults. very neat & clean & spacious rooms with daily housekeeping. Nice big windows in the room so plenty of air n light. Outside the room next to the elevator was a small common balcony which had seating - great view of the church nearby. we sat there every night chatting n drinking our wine.
We found the double beds to be far too small and narrow to alow for 2 adults - & no we're not large sized individuals !! they were more like 2 large sized single beds and were separated by a fixed bedside table in between. We requested for an extra fold out bed or mattress in the room since the room was large enough to comfortably accommodate this (we were agreeable to pay for it if required) which was refused. Hence one of us slept on the floor all 4 nights.
The linen and towels were very clean and the bath/toilets were spacious. The toilet did not have an exhaust fan or a window which was most surprising given the modern decor of the hotel/room & this turned out to be an unpleasant feature every morning for obvious reasons! The rooms do not have any kettle/tea/coffee bags for ur early morn cuppa incase your used to that (I missed this terribly!). We had two wine glasses & 2 regular water glasses in our room - one evening we went down to the reception n requested for an additional wineglass and for that too we were told that there already were 2 in the room.
All in all I'd recommend the place for its location n spotless rooms but just be sure the double beds aren't really double beds (or at least ours weren't!!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guest!

Thank you for choosing the Star Inn Salzburg Gablerbraeu and for taking the time to comment on your stay with us! We hope you had a good time in Europe and a safe trip back home.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for your compliments. We also apologize for the inconvinience caused.
The furnishings and services we offer are according( and even above) to the required standards of a 3-star hotel. Kindly excuse the misunderstanding due to the bed which was only not supplied because we do not provide extra beds or mattresses at all.
The location of our appartements and the hotel is in the historical part of the city which means limitations with building regulations due to preservation laws. We are in the process of implemeting alternatives to enable a comfortable stay for our guests which we hope to offer in the near future.
We do hope to greet you, your friends and family in any of our Star Inn Hotels in Europe once again!
Best regards from Salzburg

Ms.C.Tuppinger
GM & Team of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Please note that there are three Star Inns in Salzburg! We accidentally went to the wrong one; however, the staff were really lovely and ordered us a complimentary cab to the correct Star Inn. We stayed at Gablerbrau and it was really good. Great location, with lots of restaurants and shops nearby and less than 5min walk to the Old Town. The rooms are a comfortable size (small bathroom), very clean, the beds are comfortable although (as with everywhere in Austria) the pillows were too thin. There is a flat screen TV, fridge, free wi-fi (you need to ask for a separate login per device), cupboards, dresser, chair and lounge (but no safe or shampoo and condition). Staff are nice and were very helpful. The hotel includes a 24hour bar (its very small and is basically just in the reception area) and beer/drinks/snacks in a vending machine. However, there are plenty of restaurants nearby (including a few downstairs in the same building). We went to Hallstatt overnight and Star Inn was happy to look after our luggage for us which was very handy. Overall this is a great hotel if you are looking for a nice, comfortable hotel without anything too unique.
Btw I would recommend staying here rather than Zentrum based on location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Star Inn guests!

Thank you for choosing the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu and for taking the time to express your positive comments about us!
We hope you had a pleasant Holiday in Europe and a good trip back home to Melbourne!
Although you would have loved to be at the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum too, we are glad you did stay with us!

As a Hotel Chain of the 3-star executive level category, we strive to meet the needs of today's travellers. Services are limited (no vanity sets in the bathroom) but offered at top quality levels at affordable rates. Another top priority is the location of our hotels (anywhere in Europe )which are downtown or located near good transit connections.

So. although you did miss a few amenities in the room, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us!
Positive and critical commetns are welcome to help us improve our services and motivate us!

It will be a pleasure to welcome you,your family and friends at any of our Star Inn Hotels - anytime!

Best regards from Salzburg

Ms.C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Pleasant, modern, functional, comfortable rooms. Mine was on the top floor with a lovely view of the church and surrounding streets. Conveniently located between the Salzburg Congress and the old town/St Peter's. Only 6 minutes walk from the congress so very convenient. My room was a business superior grade with a kitchen. Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Free wifi was a great help too. Made my stay in Salzburg a great and memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolphinGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guest!

We hope you had a good time in Salzburg and a safe trip back home. It is a pleasure to know your stay at the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu was also a part of your memorable stay in Salzburg.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the time you have taken to comment so positively about us.
We look forward to greeting you, your family and friends in any of our Star Inn Hotels in Europe!
Best regards from Salzburg

Ms.C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau

Property: Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau
Address: Richard-Mayr-Gasse 2 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in our new Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau! On the 1st of May 2012 our third Star Inn hotel in Salzburg has opened its doors. Situated in the middle of the Linzergasse, this hotel provides an ideal starting point to go on a sight- seeing trip through the city. Many historic destinations lie in the direct vicinity of the hotel: the Castle Mirabell, the birthplaces of Wolfgang A. Mozart and Christian Doppler and the Domplatz. Stroll through Salzburg's shopping streets Linzergasse, located directly at the hotel, or Getreidegasse. A total of 71 newly furnished rooms in different categories await you. For more detailed information please click here. The hotel itself is located in a time- honoured, medieval historical building, constructed as early as 1408! Since 1429 this site is home to a Brewery. In 1535 the building was purchased by the family Gabler, thus the name "Gablerbrau" became commonly used and is still used to this day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing