We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be back if I could”
Review of Hotel Drei Kreuz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Ranked #63 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Would be back if I could”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Clean, smells good, let me in early because the room was ready, helped me find our way with the public transport, the tour operator, arrange a taxi, find a grocery store. In general, service was great, understood my English (I'm from Texas). Room was plenty big and they have a breakfast (I did not partake, my room rate was VERY competitive. It is one short walk from the #4 bus, so public transportation is possible. I would certainly recommend this to any friend, but not to some loud punks, because this is not a party house.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daanderson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    124
    68
    16
    7
See reviews for
78
106
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 2 nights in September. Lovely hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Very clean and the location was very quiet. The location is about a 15 minute or so walk from the city center; however, the walk is a pleasant one and there is a bus route that travelers can take if needed. There are a couple of nice restaurants neaby, our favorite was Urban Kellar--fantastic food. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with a lot to choose from to include scrambled eggs, cold cuts, tomatoes & cucumbers, and a selection of breads, If I had one complaint, and it is a minor one, would be for the bathroom linens to be updated, but again-very minor. Useful tip for travelers who are not familiar with European customs: If you require a washcloth, bring one from home as most hotels do not supply this item. I would definitely choose this hotel again when I return to lovely Salzburg.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CrazyAboutParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were off to a good start, the lady at the reception was nice and the room sparkling clean, but then the problems started.

We booked the hotel for three nights. I got some bites on my body the first night, but we thought it could be mosquitos. The second night, I got 14 bites mostly on my legs and I noticed that they itch more than mosquito bites and stay very red after 24 hours, which is abnormal from mosquito bites, so we suspected bed bugs. We told the hotel owner our concern in the morning and she said they will change the sheet and check the room. When we come back on that day, the bed was changed. To make sure, we lifted the mattress ourselves and found dead bed bugs and some transparent shed skin of bed bugs. We told the hotel clerk about it and he called the owner we talked to in the morning.

1. The hotel owner denied that there were bed bugs because she said she did not see them when she checked. We do not know how she checked, or whether she lifted the mattress at all. Her logic is that because she did not see them, they don't exist?

1a. The clerk offered us bug spray.... We told him what they need is an exterminator. He laughed.

2. The manager refused to talk to us directly on the phone but only through the clerk. They didn't have any spare room. To "compensate" us, they would refund this (last) night if we leave right away. Why should we pay anything if we don't even stay here? How is that a compensation? At 7:00 pm in Salzburg, it is not easy to find a hotel room and they refused to pay for any price difference because they claim our leaving had nothing to do with them !!

3. As we tried to book another hotel, the clerk, after initially helping us to make a few calls, eventually refused to let us use the hotel phone for free because, again, this had nothing to do with them. He insisted we use our room's phone and pay for phone calls.

4. We invited the clerk to the room to check the dead bugs. He claimed that they were all dead, he needed to see live ones...

We were outraged by their attitude and after arguing for two hours, the owner finally called us to talk. She accused us of bringing the bugs (although she was insisting there were no bugs at first) regardless the fact of the numerous DEAD ones and shed skin under the mattress. She finally agreed to refund the previous night (during which I could not sleep anyway, because of the itch), as well as this last night, if we leave right away. This only came after threats on our part to share this story online.

Obviously, we know it is not the hotel's fault that they have bed bugs. It could happen to anybody. It is their attitude that is outrageous. What kind of hotel management refuses to talk to customers ? And the owner keeps implying that we were liars and told us it was out of her kindness to refund.

And obviously they don't realize the gravity of their situation, as they didn't seem to think that an exterminator was needed and thought that changing the sheets and pillows would be enough... Regardless of what I suffered and the trouble we might have to get rid of the bed bugs if they got in our clothes, they could have the most basic manner of apologizing for our misfortune instead of treating us like liars and refusing any help as simple as using their phone.

Room Tip: Room 15 has bed bugs until they get an exterminator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dimensionless99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for one night. Instead a double room we got an apartment. The lady who worked at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The center of the city and Mozart's birth house can be reached on foot in 20 minutes. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikolaradul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keynsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for just one night and found that we could walk into the main part of the city in about 15-20 mins. Lots of the sights of Salzburg are therefore on the doorstep and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Our family room was plenty large enough and very comfortable and breakfast was good. The car park is situated across the road from the hotel in an unlit, gravelled area and it didn't look very secure so I was a little worried about leaving the car there (not knowing what crime is like in the local area). However we had no problems and we were able to unload our cases from the car on the road immediately outside the front doors of the hotel, which was handy, The lady on reception spoke good English and this was very helpful. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Friendly staff,ample private parking lot is very convenient for car parking.
The breakfast is good and service is excellent.
Location is not close to city center.
Room is clean and cosy but no air conditioned.




  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Wen Chuan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The rooms at the Drei Kreuz are a bit dated but ours was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is the usual continental assortment of breads, cheeses, hams and yoghurts, with the unexpected and very nice addition of scrambled eggs.

We had a problem with our shower; the gentleman at reception (presume the owner) didn't speak English but we communicated nevertheless and he (a) offered us another room to shower in and (b) by the time we had done this, had fixed ours anyway. Everyone else was very helpful.

Parking is free but was full when we got there (was still able to park overnight in front of the hotel) and the hotel is only about a 10-minute walk away from the centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Cicubo Hotel
Villa Cicubo Hotel
#94 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.9 mi away
Hotel Turnerwirt
Hotel Turnerwirt
#59 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#53 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganslhof
Ganslhof
#58 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drei Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Kreuz

Property: Hotel Drei Kreuz
Address: Vogelweiderstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Drei Kreuz 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located-comfortable-cozy family-run three star hotel-24 rooms- with free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Drei Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drei Kreuz Hotel
Drei Kreuz Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing