We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice hotel - beautiful views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sacher Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - beautiful views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed here 10/16-10/19 of 2010. Very nice hotel with great views of Salzburg and the Fortress, especially at night. The rooms were clean and lovely, we had an 'older' style room on the back side of the hotel. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast array was good, and well stocked.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    227
    56
    28
    19
See reviews for
196
606
47
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The Sacher lived up to its fabled name; the room was beautiful; the service was impeccable. There was construction outside the front entrance which was a nuisance but through no fault of the hotel. The Breakfast Buffet was incredible! The Hotel location on the Salzach River just across from the Old City via the Staatsbrücke was convenient. Staying here made our Salzburg adventure even more wonderful. The fitness equipment, steam room and sauna were excellent. We received a 4 nights for the price of 3 via Panorama Tours. It may have been simply a limited promotion or you may be able to secure this deal any time. Try it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangofrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This was the final stop on our 4 week long 50th anniversary trip and we wanted it to be someplace special. Sacher was an absolute gem. We arrived in a rental car and it was not an auspicious beginning. The front entrance was completely blocked by street construction work and we had to drive by twice before we could pull over to the curb. Luckily a doorman jumped out of the car behind us and took over our luggage and our car. On entering we had our first encounter with Gerhard, the best and friendliest front desk person I have ever met. For the next three days Gerhard and his sidekick Christian as well as the rest of the impeccable Sacher staff gave us the royal treatment. Because we arrived early and our room was not quite ready, Gerhard arranged for us to be served coffee in the piano bar. He arranged for the car rental company to come pick up the car and had a few items we'd left behind, delivered to our room. Once our room was ready, we said goodby to the delightful Margarethan who served us in the Pinano bar. The room was spectacular - spacious and elegantly appointed. Very comfortable king bed, chaise lounge, dining table and spotless well-equipped bath with tub. The only drawback was a rather awkward access to the mini bar that was in the bottom of a secretary whose desk wouldn't stay upright unless held with one hand while one knelt on the floor to gain access to the small refrigerator underneath. But that's nitpicking. The room was gorgeous and comfortable. We had a special "Fall for Sacher" package that included Sacher torte and coffee in the cafe', full breakfasts and a price including taxes of under 300 Euros per night.
Hotel located directly across the bridge to the old city and a short walk from the Mirabel gardens.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Our visit to the Sacher was a great experience. Upon arrival, we were immediately assisted by the friendly staff. We were very tired, but the extremely kind valet whisked our worries away.

The Sacher is a beautiful hotel. We were shown to our room, a gorgeous Jr. Deluxe suite with huge windows, chandelier and elegant furniture. A very delicious bowl of fruit and complimentary Sacher Tortes were provided. The room also had a flat panel television and fridge stocked with goods.

I'm rather selective, but this is still my favorite bathroom ever, lined wall to wall to exquisite tiles, gorgeous fittings and full shower / bath. The decor is superb, but we did smell a light musty smell in the room. Our daughter (three at the time) said "Oh Daddy, what a beautiful room!"

The Sacher's real strengths are location and service. Immediately next to the pedestrian bridge, Old Town is a brief three minute walk. The staff at Sacher were extremely helpful and famously kind. Not one need was overlooked, they honestly didn't miss a thing. I only wish the housemaids didn't seem quite so scared, but given some of the clientele, I'm sure they would have reason to be. Almost everyone spoke some English.

We frequently ordered room service and splurged. The food is quite good, all brought to you on a rolling cart with silver service and extremely quick response time. I've had better coffee. We ordered everything from foie gras to a cheeseburger (awesome). The prices were high, but we were never dissapointed.

The breakfast was very good with plenty of fresh fish, yogurts, breads, meats and cheeses. The atmosphere was refined & reserved, without being too haughty. What would have made it perfect? Well, we laughed when we got back to the US and stayed in a $100 room with free internet and a full kitchen. It was a big room.

When you spend so much money and the staff work so hard, the experience is greatly diminished by petty expenses like 8-10 euros an hour for wi-fi and overpriced mini-bars, especially in a room that costs 500 to 2000+ dollars a night. If the Sacher would just include it all, it's expensive anyway, I can't fathom a better place to stay in Salzburg.

Overall, our visit to the Sacher stands out as one of the best. They were very kind to our daughter too. A well earned reputation, just needing some easy, minor adjustments from the management.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rangerross584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Sacher Salzburg in Sept 2010. As short as it was simply one of the most enjoyable stays we ever had. The Hotel Staff was pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive. We took advantage of the Room Service for breakfast one day, and dessert on another, and were not disappointed. We also ate at the casual restaurant during our stay. The food was OK, not fantastic (it was a casual place, after all), the service was acceptable. We also took several opportunities to eat in the cafe, where they serve the infamous Sacher torte. The sweets in the cafe are fantastic, and highly recommended. All in all, the hotel was great, and we would definitely go back.
The hotel was in the heart of the city of Salzburg. Well within walking distance of just about everything your average tourist, especially the first timer, would enjoy doing or seeing. The people for the most part were pleasant, although it was a tad bit more expensive than we had anticipated. There were two shopping areas in easy walking from the hotel, right on the River Sacher. Dining was plentiful, if not particularly extravagant, and there was not a great variety of foods, unless you enjoy trying new things. If you're not a foody, then you might have difficulty finding places to your liking.
Overall, both the city and the hotel were excellent for our first time visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbenware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed here with my husband for a quick weekend getaway. The Sacher does have a great location within walking distance to everything you will want to see in Salzburg without having to navigate through the streets of old town. Parking is easy too as the valet takes your car to a lot underneath the hotel. The rooms were nice as well although the bed was a bit firm for my tastes. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel and instead found wonderful bakeries within a few blocks. Overall, given the last minute deal we got for 175 euros, it was a pleasant stay and I would return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Despite its opulant interior, this hotel has a lovely warm ambience due to the efficient, helpful yet unobtrusive staff. Lovely room with very comfortable bed, an amazing pillow menu and luxurious complimentary toileteries. Wonderful breakfasts complete with sacher torte! All this right next to the bridge connecting old and new town. The only small critism is the lack of free Wifi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nretiredBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 138 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#4 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#6 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Property: Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing