We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveler rating
1,254
323
98
44
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
323
98
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssacher tortethe riverpillow menuold townbeautiful hotelturn down servicepedestrian bridgefresh fruitold world charmclassic hotelrenovated roompublic areaspiano barfive star hotelbeautiful roombreakfast buffetjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Visited Salzburg in the middle of September and stayed at the Sacher for 4 nights as a couple. Very nice hotel with an upscale luxury feel. Service was generally excellent and the rooms were well-appointed. location of the hotel is terrific if you want to be in Old City without all of the tourists that are mainly focused on the other side of the river. Very short walk to all the sites. The breakfast is especially good and the service at breakfast was always top-notch. Generally we liked the feel of the hotel.

We got a great rate and I was aware that the hotel was under some construction. I thought the construction was limited to the rooms and hoped that the great rate did not end up meaning we got an old room. In fact our room was beautiful, but the outside of the hotel was being renovated and our view consisted of scaffolding. They were also having problem with the temperature change and the heat came on in the hotel even though it was fairly warm. We were told that the temperature was not controllable on a room-to-room basis. If the heat was on you could only control the heat and not the AC. Most guests had to open the windows if the room was too hot. Not normally a problem for us but our room was above the employee exit and several employees would smoke at night and the smoke found its way up the scaffolding and into our room. It was late in our trip so it was unfortunately not resolved properly. If I were assured that the location of the room or better, I would go back. If not I think there are a few other properties comprable in Saltsburg. I do wish they had made a better effort to resolve our problem and addressed it before we left. We do plan on coming back to Salzburg for the Christmas season

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pjkopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Wonderful short stay at this beautiful hotel in the heart of Salzburg. Easy walk to all the great sights in old Salzburg across a great walking bridge adorned with "locks of love." Would recommend this hotel to anyone lucky enough to visit and stay in this beautiful Austrian gem!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank Blender2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Overall a great experience. When booking I had imagined a grand, regal hotel that combined both old world charm and new world comforts, and that's essentially what Hotel Sacher Salzburg is.

Location - none better in Salzburg with gorgeous views across the river to old town with the fortress looming over.

Staff - extremely curteous, helpful, and polite, always with a warm greeting whenever we entered the property.

Rooms - we were 103 so 1st floor (2nd in US), river facing, small, quaint, bathroom was amazing, comfortable bed, small but pleasant balcony, TV (which we never even turned on), fresh fruit daily. Request a river facing room to maximize your view, minimize street noise.

Food - 2 restaurants and a cafe on site, we only ate at the cafe and found it enjoyable.

Price - people all comment about the price but we were surprised how reasonable our 4 night stay was. I am not sure if it was because of the season (October), or if the current construction on the hotel was decreasing demand, but our stay, booked on expedia.com was, dare I say, not only affordable but a bargain considering the quality/location/service the hotel offered. If returning ever to Salzburg I would stay here again.

Room Tip: request river facing room for view and less noise
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

The room was so nice and luxurious. Welcome snacks are a Sacher cake and an apple. Service and concierge was really nice. Got free breakfast by joining in as a member of a hotel club ( not sure what it is... just fill in some basic information) Several kinds of cakes from Sacher cafe are at the breakfast buffet (including Sachertorte). Not cheap but worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank 宥㚬 黃
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

From the very moment we arrived, I knew this experience was going to be positive. Every single staff member treated us as though we were the most important guests in the hotel. Everything we needed was taken care of, including dinner reservations, coffee service, tickets for the Sound of Music Tour and general guidance. The room was plush, clean, well appointed and beautiful. The towels were warmed, the tile floors were heated, the bed was comfortable and the closets were spacious. This hotel is in the heart of Old Town Salzburg and provided much to see and do. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank H9140KHrobertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews