We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is situated on the bank of river with good view and convenient location. Our room was upgraded with spacious space and excellent view but room was very dark due to only few lights in the room. Reception staff at check in did not explain on our breakfast benefit which resulted in we had to pay more as there was no explanation at breakfast room, either. We were also overcharged from concierge and this was taken off after the unfriendly who had no manner and hospitality mind checked with concierge. We told the concierge to inform our private tour provider that we would be late and ask to come 15 minutes later. He said it would be fine but at the end, we were charged for additional 30 minutes, it would not be charged if he informed them to come later. Apart from the friendly service from Gerhard, Concierge, the rest of staff especially front desk did not greet us or acknowledge us. This was totally different from the other hotels in same category that we stayed during our trip this time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Simplylife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Guest!

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your effort to tell us about your visit here on TripAdvisor. It was very nice to welcome you at our hotel and we are very happy to learn that you liked the location of the hotel as well as your guest room with excellent view. Of course I will pass your friendly feedback to our Concierge Gerhard.

On the other hand I´m very sorry that we did not meet completely your satisfaction. Please kindly allow me to express my sincerest apology for any disappointment you have had experienced during your stay. Please be assured that I will investigate very carefully on your comments, especially about the behavior of some of our staff members, because that is absolutely not our common understanding of excellent service quality and should absolutely not happened. Regarding the private tour provider I´m also very sorry that I have not the opportunity to discuss this issue directly with you during your stay but I will do my very best to figure out the circumstances to prevent any future occurrence.

Dear Guest, thank you again for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We really hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future and show you here that excellence for that Hotel Sacher Salzburg is known for.

Yours sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great Hotel in Slazburg, great interiors. We had a room with the Salzach (river) view, it was wonderful. Love the Cafe and the Salzachgrill. The bed was really good, room service, too. Hope to go beck soon.

Room Tip: The room with the Salzach view was great. I would suggest it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtravelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The decison where to spend 3 nights in this gem of a city was between Hotel Sacher, The Bristol, and The Goldener Hirsch. Hotel Sacher is the only grand 5 star deluxe hotel in the city and I ultimately decided on Hotel Sacher for a number of reasons: Location, historical significancet and architecture, room and view, and restaurants.

The location was a deciding factor because it is perfect...right on the river in new town BUT with a foot bridge crossing over to old town right at the hotels rear and at a 5 minute walk it is super convinient. The hotel is a block from Mirabell Palace and Gardens, Mozarteum, Salzburger Landestheater, Marionette Theatre, Mozart's family Residence, and St. Sebastian's cemetery where Mozart's wife and father are buried. Due to the location of Hotel Sacher we were able to see all the new town sights in a little more than half a day.

Historical Significance and design: Visited by celebreties and royalty for over 100 years the hotel is elegant, regal, and classic in turn of the century design and architecture both inside and out. Historic works of art, antiques, silk-lined walls and elaborate carpets are throughout the hotel.
The lobby with it's soaring stairways under a glass roof is enchanting. The lobby and public rooms are all beautiful and centered with a grand piano that can often be heard throught the day and evening. The bar...wow!..the bar..the most beautiful, timeless bar I have ever had the pleasure of ordering a drink in...a clubroom like atmospher in tasteful, rich colors, and historical pieces and photos. You could imagine walking in and seeing Winston Churchill smoking a cigar or James Bond sipping a martini. The bar also has a lovely patio with views of old town and the foot bridge. The bartenders are inventive, fast, and pleasant.

The View: terrific! We booked a Junior Suite but we were upgraded for free upon check in (thank you to the hotel for this!) to a Deluxe Junior Suite on the top floor with a complete long wall of windows facing the river and old town...it was perfect! Room is entered through your own foyer with large double door closet. The room was huge and classically decorated with fabric covering the walls (not wall paper) in a very light green and white color scheme that carried over to the furniture and bedroom. Large couch, comfortable chair, coffee table (kept stocked with fruit and sacher tortes), with orchids, desk and chairs, wall sconce lamps, entertainment dresser with flat screen TV, DVD player, and surround sound speakers in the rooms corners, all on top of area rugs and hardwood floors...tasteful and elegant! ...Major wow factor.
The bedroom is seperated from living room and has the same elegant furniture, flat screen TV on the wall, docking station, elegant accesories, and table side lamps. Bed is luxurious!
Bathroom was very nice, double sink with vase and real flower, sunken tub with pillow, glass shower, bidet and toilet in seperate room with sliding frosted glass door, heated towel rack. There are evene speakers in the bathroom so you can listen to music if you wish. The hotel stocks the bathrooms with their very nice signature chocolate bath products. Classically elegant room...we were extremely pleased and felt spoiled.

There are 4 restaurants: The Rotor Salon serving Austrian and international specialties with a view.
Salzachgrill serves grilled meats , fish, and burgers with a rustic atmosphere.
Cafe Sacher..the Austrian Cafe Experience...known for it's Sacher Tortes, coffee, and other sweets as well as terrific Austrian cuisine. We had a wonderful lunch here and had fun looking at all the photos of famous people who have stayed at Hotel Sacher and eaten at the cafe. The cafe is a must if staying here or not.
Finally there is the flagship restaurant Zirbelzimmer operated by Chef Manfred Stufler. A traditionally decorated space that is VERY nice and cozy with an outside dining terrace as an option in nice weather. We dined here one evening (the most expensive meal of my life) and thouroughly enjoyed it!! Fantastic food, wine, and service. The menu changes often and is a la carte, degustation, or vegetarian 3-4 course. I had Dover Sole that was perfect! as were the lobster medalions with caviar, and the amuse bouche was tasty. Fine wines are expertly paired with each course, and the dessert..the Sacher Savarin...wonderful. Sitting outside under dim lighting in the early evening with views of old town spires was an experience. I have, regrettably, one complaint though and it is not against the restaurant or service but rather certain guests..... business casual is all that they "request" for dining here and most people dress accordingly, however, there was one particular man at dinner wearing a T-shirt, shorts, and sandals...I know!! What's the big deal?! The big deal is this is not Burger King..have some class and take some time to do what the rest of us have and not look a slob.
The confectionary shop serving all of Hotel Sacher's delicious chocolates is also a neat place to go in..they will ship chocolates anywhere in the world.

Service is top notch here and everyone from day one (including housekeeping) knows your name. There is no request they will not try and fulfill (they even ask you upon check in what newspapers to specially order for you if you want) and you are treated like royalty. All staff are knowledgeable about Salzburg and it's environs. The doorman gave me lots of tips while waiting on the car (which valet will park for around $35 to $40 a night I believe).

Hotel Sacher is very expensive and caters to a (mostly) well heeled, savy, and monied international clientele with some couples and families looking for an indulgent splurge.
This hotel is simply fantastic and worth a spurge if you can...cannot say enough great things about it. Go be spoiled!

Note: Currently the road in front of the hotel is under construction causing a lot of congestion. To arrive at the hotel by car just wait in the traffic line until you get in front of the hotel and slightly pull up into the curb in front where the front doors are and the doorman should be, they will wisk your car off and take your baggage in.

Room Tip: Old town view rooms are in my opinion the best but can be hard to come by and are pricey but worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your time to give us such a kind and detailed review here on TripAdvisor. Direct guest feedback is most important for us and we will thank you very much indeed for your positive feedback.

It was with great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and we are very delighted to learn that we could make your stay as memorable and comfortable as possible as well as that you liked all the details of Hotel Sacher Salzburg. Oh behalf of our employees we will thank you very much for your motivating feedback and of course we will share your comments with the entire Sacher Team who will be certainly encouraged by your remarks.

Dear Guest, thank you again for staying with us and for your time to give us this detailed review. We are really looking forward to welcome you soon back to Hotel Sacher Salzburg to serve you once more with highest quality and excellent service.

Best regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I just checked out of the Hotel Sachet and we both agreed it was the single best experience we have had in a hotel in our lives. The staff is wonderful. No detail is overlooked. Our room was beautifully appointed and had a very comfortable and large bed. Pillows were excellent too! (There is a pillow menu if you need something differ too!) The bathroom was a good size and the chocolate-scented bath products were a really nice touch. Nice big towels were very much appreciated, as were the slippers and bathrobes. Really appreciated the turn-down service; the staff's attention to detail really showed there (like putting down your bath mats for you and drawing your curtains). Absolutely loved the welcome gift of fresh fruit and mini Sachertorte!

During our stay we had lunch at the Cafe Sacher, which we enjoyed very much. We also had dinner on the terrace of the Salzachgrill. This was our best meal in Salzburg. Our waiter, Johannes, was excellent and very enjoyable. The food was traditional and very well-prepared. The atmosphere on the terrace overlooking the river and city on a nice summer night cannot be topped.

Overall, we would definitely stay at Hotel Sacher again. The service and staff is of the highest quality without any pretentiousness. We were always comfortable and happy at the hotel!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Between the old and new city. On the Salzach River. Near Mirabell Gardens. We were charmed when we found Punchtorte samples on our pillows. The staff was very accommodating. Lovely hotel, much friendlier than the Vienna location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClassyJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Expensive but you get what you pay for
The concierge team are brilliant, the breakfasts remarkable and the location ideal, between the old city and the new
The fine dining restaurant is worth a look for one night at least and sachertorte in the cafe a must

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Loved every moment here! Beautiful, great staff and wonderful service. Rooms are exceptionally clean and well appointed. It was our first time to stay here and first time in Salzburg so we did not know to ask for a river view. Next time! The hotel is located right by the padlock bridge over the river. Cafe and bar have a great view of the river and the walking path. The hotel has lots of history and we loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jasmine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $324 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing