We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my all time favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my all time favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was and awesome stay. The people from the time we pulled up until the time we got our car the next day could not have been better.

Our room was very nice but on the street side as they had renovations going on there where no river side rooms available. The renovations really did not effect our comfort outside of not having a great view of the river.

We did not eat at the Sacher but we did spend some time at the bar and had a few drinks and a cigar at the Bar. Alexander was great to talk to and is a very bright young guy with a good opinion on hotels and restaurants in Europe.

I loved this place, its on of the nicest places I have ever stayed. Its one of the few places I have been that really deserve the 5 star rating I give it. I feel "excellent" many times is over kill for many places I have stayed but "very good" just seems a bit short. I think in this rating system maybe an exceptional rating should be in order. The Sacher was everything I would expect from a world class luxury hotel and hope I make it back sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanG986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    229
    56
    28
    19
See reviews for
196
609
47
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here while some reconstruction work was going on but we didn't hear any noise not even once. The room was furnished beautifully and everything in the room was set perfectly.
The location was good as the Mozart House was just round the corner from here. The Hotel has a famous cafe which is cozy where you can try an original Sacher Torte or an Apple Strudel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Salzburg, Austria is a beautiful and elegant city and the Hotel Sacher Salzburg is the perfect place to stay in which to appreciate it. Ideally located on the River Salzach with easy access to the old city we spent four nights here in October. Having been notified about the refurbishment programme beforehand any concerns we had were quickly dispelled. The work has hardly any impact on the majority of the hotel. We stayed in a recently refurbished and beautifully appointed superior double room with an enormous large and comfortable bed. The public rooms were elegant, traditional in style and very comfortable, the only criticism we had was that smoking was allowed in some areas. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, everything you could wish for. At night we ate in the Salzach Grilli with a menu of grills, fish and vegetarian options and the formal Zirbelzimmer restauraurant..The desserts and puddings were delicious, a feast for the eyes and taste buds! We found the staff to be professional welcoming and helpful. The bottle of champagne in our room for our wedding anniversary was a delightful surprise. we hope to return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 evenings in mid September with 3 other couples. We all agree that the hotel was everything we expected. It is a traditional "old world" hotel, very appropriate for our short stay in Salzburg. As others mentioned it is a short walk to old town and many tourist sites. Rooms were very acceptable, bathrooms were lovely with tub / showers. Entire staff was very accommodating. One evening after returning from the Mozart Dinner Concert, we decided to stop for drink in the bar, and even though the young gentleman was getting ready to close, he graciously accommodated us and kept the lounge open. Very polite and interesting young man. wish I could remember his name. Terrace, lounge area and all public areas are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights having stayed at ritz Carlton in Vienna. Can't compare the 2 the Sacher is nice and in a good location but is a bit dated and we really struggled to get the air con working in our room, had to sleep with the window open. Breakfast was also a bit limited. We've decided we prefer modern hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest!

We thank you very much indeed for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your invested time to give us a review here on TripAdvisor.

We are really sorry that we did not meet completely your satisfaction.
The aim of our Hotel is to epitomize Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort -tradition hand in hand with innovations. Therefore we have done already a lot of refurbishment by our guest rooms as well as by our Wintergarten, the Sacher Bar & Lounge and public areas. To improve continuously the standard for our guests we do in the moment renovations by our guest rooms and try to save the aesthetic of historic elegance combined with modern technology and luxury bathrooms.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your remarks and for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We really hope that we will have another opportunity to show you our effort to combine tradition and modern in a perfect way.

Kindest regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent 2 nights here, despite the renovating which I was informed of before booking, the noise was kept at a very acceptable level. Hotel within easy walking distance of all the sights. Sits on the river with a nice terrace out back on the river. Good service, nice rooms.

Room Tip: Standard double is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this 5 day trip to salzburg a few months ago. Having stayed at the Cipriani in April and the Hermitage Monte Carlo last May. Our expectations were high. Our superior double was tired and tatty. My friend wanted to leave the next day. Stains on the padded walls, dirty curtains and a stale smell. As we were situated at the front of the hotel on a busy main road we were unable to leave the window open to help this problem. Also the traffic was a huge problem. We were also not informed about the renovation work. Staff wonderful even though they couldn't change our room.

Room Tip: Ask to view it before you check in. We should have done this then changed hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer!

First of all I would like to thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your open feedback regarding your recent visit her on TripAdvisor. It is nice to learn that our staff members met your high expectations.

I am really sorry that we did not meet your satisfaction with your provided guest room and that we were not able to make a room change. Kindly allow me to express my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you have experienced. Of course, I will follow up on your remarks very carefully because your described faults regarding the guest room matches absolutely not our highest standards. I will do everything to solve your described issues immediately to prevent any future occurrence.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for staying with us and for your invested time to tell us about your recent visit. We kindly ask you to give us another chance to accommodate you by your next visit to Salzburg again at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg to show you that not only our “Software” maches highest standards but also our provided “Hardware”.

Kind regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Manging Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 138 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#5 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#2 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Property: Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing