We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this 5 day trip to salzburg a few months ago. Having stayed at the Cipriani in April and the Hermitage Monte Carlo last May. Our expectations were high. Our superior double was tired and tatty. My friend wanted to leave the next day. Stains on the padded walls, dirty curtains and a stale smell. As we were situated at the front of the hotel on a busy main road we were unable to leave the window open to help this problem. Also the traffic was a huge problem. We were also not informed about the renovation work. Staff wonderful even though they couldn't change our room.

Room Tip: Ask to view it before you check in. We should have done this then changed hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Reviewer!

First of all I would like to thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your open feedback regarding your recent visit her on TripAdvisor. It is nice to learn that our staff members met your high expectations.

I am really sorry that we did not meet your satisfaction with your provided guest room and that we were not able to make a room change. Kindly allow me to express my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you have experienced. Of course, I will follow up on your remarks very carefully because your described faults regarding the guest room matches absolutely not our highest standards. I will do everything to solve your described issues immediately to prevent any future occurrence.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for staying with us and for your invested time to tell us about your recent visit. We kindly ask you to give us another chance to accommodate you by your next visit to Salzburg again at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg to show you that not only our “Software” maches highest standards but also our provided “Hardware”.

Kind regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Manging Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Despite having made our reservation six weeks in advance of our stay, we were not informed that the hotel would be undergoing rennovations until two weeks prior to our arrival, when it was too late to reserve elsewhere. Nevertheless, the construction noise was not an issue. The issue was that we were placed in what I believe must have been a single room; 12' x 12' max, with a queen bed and no room to stage two suitcases, despite having reserved a "Standard Double Room, double or twin, 215-270 sqft" and request for twin beds. There was absolutely no ventilation unless the window was open, and the window opened onto a very busy street. We had a choice of traffic noise or stifling heat.

The bed was very hard. The solution is shown in my photos; tattered matting under the sheets. The housekeeper who added this to our bed told us that the only softer beds in house were twins, as we had requested.

The common areas were very nicely appointed, and the breakfast buffet was marvelous. I, like another reviewer, would advise eat here but stay elsewhere until rennovations are complete, and make sure you are placed in the room type you requested.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Riolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and your invested time to give us a review regarding your recent stay hear on TripAdvisor. Direct guest feedback is very important for us.
It was with pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and it is very nice to learn that you liked our newly refurbished public areas as our Wintergarten and the Sacher Bar & Lounge as well as that we met your satisfaction with our extensive breakfast buffet in our Restaurant Roter Salon.

On the other hand I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations with your provided guest room. Please kindly allow me to apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Your provided guest room was one of our smaller Standard Double Rooms, however we regret that your preferred bed request was not respected, this should not happen. Regarding the bedding, this is absolutely not according to our common standards. I will follow up very carefully on all your mentioned issues to prevent any future occurrence.

Dear Guest, thank you again for telling us about your recent stay. We really hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future and welcome you another time at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg.

Yours sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Sacher. I stayed with my two teenage daughters in an oversized room with a king bed and a rollaway. The room was large and beautifully decorated with a table for four in the middle of the room. There was a bowl of fruit and Sacher cake waiting for us upon our arrival. It was those kind of little touches that made our stay special. The staff was top notch and the front desk personnel went above and beyond to be of assistance booking concerts, meals, and tours. I highly recommend seeing a performance at the Marionette Theatre and dinner and concert at the castle. The Mozart Candlelight dinner and Sound of Music tour are also musts during your visit.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that accommodated three guests. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtotravel903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for a short break. We fancied a few nights away without the kids and a friend recommended Salzburg. After looking on trip advisor we liked the look of hotel Sacher we booked for ourself and some friends for three nights. Unfortunately our friends had to cancel so I contacted the hotel as the rooms had been paid for and they were very happy to give us a room upgrade as our second room was unneeded.
We arrived at the hotel to a warm greeting and our bags were taken to our room while we enjoyed a drink at the bar.
Our room was very nice with antique furniture and a lovely balcony that looked out over the river and toward the old town. There was a fresh fruit plata, plate of their famous chocolates and a couple of servings of their also famous sachet torte.
Due to the short amount of time that we had in Austria we didn't spend that much time in the hotel but what time we did we really enjoyed. The staff were always friendly, courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We loved our stay at the Sacher and hope that we can return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Yes the hotel is going through renovations but we lucked out and had a renovated room. In fact we were bumped up to a junior suite which was perfectly beautiful. The breakfasts were very good and we had dinner in the elegant dinning room. The staff was extremely attentive. We loved the menu and dined twice in the hotel since it was so convient and in every way. the location of this hotel was across a foot bridge away from the "old town" which we found to be perfect and not noisy or congested as hotels in the 'Old Town" were.

Room Tip: Newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel Sacher

We have stayed at many four and five star hotels over a dozen trips to Europe and the Sacher Hotel is probably now my favorite. We were traveling with another couple (from England) and stayed three nights; arriving on my 60th birthday. We had reserved Junior Suites and requested river view if available. Upon arrival, we were informed we had both been upgraded. Our suite was gorgeous and comfortable with windows opening above the river Salz. There was welcome fresh fruit and chocolate; as well as a bucket of iced champagne and a note wishing me a happy birthday. The fruit plate was replenished daily. Every single member of the staff we encountered from doorman, to reception, to wait staff, to housekeeping was warm, friendly, and knowledgeable. Getting my husband into long pants only occurs at dinner time; so I am always conscious of a snooty response to our casual dress; but we were always treated as though we were wearing Rodeo Drive attire. The room keys are the old fashioned metal key on a leather fob, which are left in the charming key slots at reception when leaving the hotel. They fit the ambiance of this old world hotel which has updated all the conveniences you would want. The bathrooms are gorgeous. I can’t think of a single glitch or even a suggestion for improvement. Our traveling companions had a problem with their safe, which was promptly responded to and fixed with a battery replacement. If you are requesting a river-side room, be aware there may be some late night noise from the bar opposite on the river; but that is not in the hotel’s control…just something to weigh against the view. It happened just one night during our stay on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Even though the hotel was undergoing a renovation, our experience with the stay there was very positive. The renovations did not affect us other than some noise one morning. The river rooms were being renovated so we had a room on the street which was ok. The rooms were very nicely appointed and there was candy, water, and fruit in the rooms. The staff was very helpful and the rooms and common areas were very clean even with the construction. The bar and lounge area were very lovely and there was a piano player there in the evenings. The cafe food was good. The included breakfast was above most hotel breakfasts and of course the Sacher torte was delicious. The location was very close to old town and all the sights. You just had to walk across the bridge to get to old town. We enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linadal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $324 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing