We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $375/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$251
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$252
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Goldgasse(Salzburg)
$311
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Salzburg City(Salzburg)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Imlauer & Brau(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
$90
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,740)
Filter reviews
1,740 results
Traveler rating
1,245
320
95
43
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,245
320
95
43
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssacher tortethe riverpillow menubeautiful hotelold townturn down servicepedestrian bridgefresh fruitold world charmclassic hotelrenovated roompublic areaspiano barfive star hotelbeautiful roombreakfast buffetjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 1,740 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for a short break. We fancied a few nights away without the kids and a friend recommended Salzburg. After looking on trip advisor we liked the look of hotel Sacher we booked for ourself and some friends for three nights. Unfortunately our friends had to cancel so I contacted the hotel as the rooms had been paid for and they were very happy to give us a room upgrade as our second room was unneeded.
We arrived at the hotel to a warm greeting and our bags were taken to our room while we enjoyed a drink at the bar.
Our room was very nice with antique furniture and a lovely balcony that looked out over the river and toward the old town. There was a fresh fruit plata, plate of their famous chocolates and a couple of servings of their also famous sachet torte.
Due to the short amount of time that we had in Austria we didn't spend that much time in the hotel but what time we did we really enjoyed. The staff were always friendly, courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We loved our stay at the Sacher and hope that we can return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Yes the hotel is going through renovations but we lucked out and had a renovated room. In fact we were bumped up to a junior suite which was perfectly beautiful. The breakfasts were very good and we had dinner in the elegant dinning room. The staff was extremely attentive. We loved the menu and dined twice in the hotel since it was so convient and in every way. the location of this hotel was across a foot bridge away from the "old town" which we found to be perfect and not noisy or congested as hotels in the 'Old Town" were.

Room Tip: Newly renovated room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel Sacher

We have stayed at many four and five star hotels over a dozen trips to Europe and the Sacher Hotel is probably now my favorite. We were traveling with another couple (from England) and stayed three nights; arriving on my 60th birthday. We had reserved Junior Suites and requested river view if available. Upon arrival, we were informed we had both been upgraded. Our suite was gorgeous and comfortable with windows opening above the river Salz. There was welcome fresh fruit and chocolate; as well as a bucket of iced champagne and a note wishing me a happy birthday. The fruit plate was replenished daily. Every single member of the staff we encountered from doorman, to reception, to wait staff, to housekeeping was warm, friendly, and knowledgeable. Getting my husband into long pants only occurs at dinner time; so I am always conscious of a snooty response to our casual dress; but we were always treated as though we were wearing Rodeo Drive attire. The room keys are the old fashioned metal key on a leather fob, which are left in the charming key slots at reception when leaving the hotel. They fit the ambiance of this old world hotel which has updated all the conveniences you would want. The bathrooms are gorgeous. I can’t think of a single glitch or even a suggestion for improvement. Our traveling companions had a problem with their safe, which was promptly responded to and fixed with a battery replacement. If you are requesting a river-side room, be aware there may be some late night noise from the bar opposite on the river; but that is not in the hotel’s control…just something to weigh against the view. It happened just one night during our stay on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Even though the hotel was undergoing a renovation, our experience with the stay there was very positive. The renovations did not affect us other than some noise one morning. The river rooms were being renovated so we had a room on the street which was ok. The rooms were very nicely appointed and there was candy, water, and fruit in the rooms. The staff was very helpful and the rooms and common areas were very clean even with the construction. The bar and lounge area were very lovely and there was a piano player there in the evenings. The cafe food was good. The included breakfast was above most hotel breakfasts and of course the Sacher torte was delicious. The location was very close to old town and all the sights. You just had to walk across the bridge to get to old town. We enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linadal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is definitely one of the top hotels in Salzburg. The public and bedrooms are very nice.
The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful in fact can't do enough for you.

My only complaints are 7 Euros for a bottle of water in your room, and charging for breat and butter with your meal is outrageous. Also don't think the "Grill Room" is really a grill, tyhe only bef on the menu is a burger??.
The bars, and restaurant terraces are terrific.

Room Tip: get a view of the river, much nicer view and quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much indeed for your recent stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and it is very nice to learn that we met your expectations with an optimum on service and quality.

On the other hand we are very sorry that we did not completely meet your satisfaction. We would like to state our honest apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Please kindly allow us to mention that we only have a cover charge at our fine dining restaurant, not at our other restaurants. Our informal restaurant Salzachgrill offers beside our most famous burgers also grilled meat and fish. However, please be assured that we will defiantly follow up very carefully on your remarks.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your experience.
We are looking forward to serve you again in the future with excellent hospitality.

Sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews