We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel Sacher

We have stayed at many four and five star hotels over a dozen trips to Europe and the Sacher Hotel is probably now my favorite. We were traveling with another couple (from England) and stayed three nights; arriving on my 60th birthday. We had reserved Junior Suites and requested river view if available. Upon arrival, we were informed we had both been upgraded. Our suite was gorgeous and comfortable with windows opening above the river Salz. There was welcome fresh fruit and chocolate; as well as a bucket of iced champagne and a note wishing me a happy birthday. The fruit plate was replenished daily. Every single member of the staff we encountered from doorman, to reception, to wait staff, to housekeeping was warm, friendly, and knowledgeable. Getting my husband into long pants only occurs at dinner time; so I am always conscious of a snooty response to our casual dress; but we were always treated as though we were wearing Rodeo Drive attire. The room keys are the old fashioned metal key on a leather fob, which are left in the charming key slots at reception when leaving the hotel. They fit the ambiance of this old world hotel which has updated all the conveniences you would want. The bathrooms are gorgeous. I can’t think of a single glitch or even a suggestion for improvement. Our traveling companions had a problem with their safe, which was promptly responded to and fixed with a battery replacement. If you are requesting a river-side room, be aware there may be some late night noise from the bar opposite on the river; but that is not in the hotel’s control…just something to weigh against the view. It happened just one night during our stay on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Even though the hotel was undergoing a renovation, our experience with the stay there was very positive. The renovations did not affect us other than some noise one morning. The river rooms were being renovated so we had a room on the street which was ok. The rooms were very nicely appointed and there was candy, water, and fruit in the rooms. The staff was very helpful and the rooms and common areas were very clean even with the construction. The bar and lounge area were very lovely and there was a piano player there in the evenings. The cafe food was good. The included breakfast was above most hotel breakfasts and of course the Sacher torte was delicious. The location was very close to old town and all the sights. You just had to walk across the bridge to get to old town. We enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linadal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is definitely one of the top hotels in Salzburg. The public and bedrooms are very nice.
The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful in fact can't do enough for you.

My only complaints are 7 Euros for a bottle of water in your room, and charging for breat and butter with your meal is outrageous. Also don't think the "Grill Room" is really a grill, tyhe only bef on the menu is a burger??.
The bars, and restaurant terraces are terrific.

Room Tip: get a view of the river, much nicer view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much indeed for your recent stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and it is very nice to learn that we met your expectations with an optimum on service and quality.

On the other hand we are very sorry that we did not completely meet your satisfaction. We would like to state our honest apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Please kindly allow us to mention that we only have a cover charge at our fine dining restaurant, not at our other restaurants. Our informal restaurant Salzachgrill offers beside our most famous burgers also grilled meat and fish. However, please be assured that we will defiantly follow up very carefully on your remarks.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your experience.
We are looking forward to serve you again in the future with excellent hospitality.

Sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg for four nights in mid-September 2013. We’d come down to Salzburg from Prague by train on the Czech railway. Our room, #124, overlooked the Salzach River. A river view room really is perfect – carefully select your room, however. Our room had only a partial view because of fully grown trees. Without the trees the view would have been a full river view. The weather, overall, was a bit iffy with on-and-off drizzle throughout our stay. Still, with so many classic Salzburg sights within easy walking distance from the Sacher, the weather was only a small annoyance and didn’t really detract from our visit. Besides, cloudy weather is much better for close-quarters architectural photography – no sun to mess with the light meter.

We loved this hotel. The service was spot on perfect and always friendly. The breakfast buffet, while typical of European hotels, was excellent with a good variety of items. The hotel restaurant was able to easily accommodate my wife’s gluten-free dietary needs. Also, a very nice, intimate bar with live piano in the evenings. Housekeeping did an excellent job for us every day of our visit. In many ways, The Sacher Salzburg is like Salzburg itself – very nice and very comfortable without being stuffy. We went on to stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien in Vienna and, while quite wonderful, the Sacher Wien was several notches more formal. On balance, we think we prefer the Sacher Salzburg for comfort and relaxation.

One caution: you may wish to delay your visit to the Sacher Salzburg until construction/remodeling is complete. There was some noise associated with the construction a bit later and earlier than should have been. Our schedule had us out of the hotel into the evenings but I overheard other customers lodging noise complaints with the front desk. We did hear pounding and drilling one morning at 7:00AM – not good. Anyway, a wonderful hotel and a perfect location in Salzburg. A classic 19th century Salzburg experience.

One big hint: buy the Salzburg Card! Gets you into many, many venues, onto the riverboat, up the funicular, and more. Great value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up high with a view of the Salzach River. Avoid the construction areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you want to feel like a queen or king than you must stay here. We had a wonderful surprise with our accommodation here. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Th food was really good and the service fast except in the cafe where it took 10 minutes to take our order.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Called the hotel to book the room and was told only after I gave my credit card information, that the hotel was undergoing renovations. Was advised that there would only be noise from 8-5 and it is true that noise did not detract from our experience. The hotel personnel did however fail to mention that the air conditioning was not operational. The room was stuffy and warm, yet opening a window resulted in our inability to sleep because of loud traffic noise. The rooms with a view are being renovated and only the street view (very busy thoroughfare) are available. If you're paying this kind of money for a room choose elsewhere. You can always come to the cafe for you Sacher cake or get it to go!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your effort to tell us about your visit here on TripAdvisor. It was very nice to welcome you at our Hotel.

Please kindly allow us to express our sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We are really sorry that the air conditioning has not worked as you were expecting and that our staff had not advised you in a correct manner in that issue. Of course, we do some refurbishment by few guest rooms but there are also rooms & suites bookable with splendid view to the old town.

Dear Reviewer, we really hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to accommodate you at your next visit to Salzburg once more at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg, with pleasure in one of our newly and splendid refurbished rooms.

Kindest regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

By all standards, this is an outstanding hotel. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the river and the beautiful old city of Salzburg. The view of the old fort and the city of Salzburg at night was one we will always remember. We had visited Salzburg before and had stayed at the Monchstein several times. From now on, the Sacher will be our home in Salzburg. The decor of the hotel is very stylish without being stuffy. The staff is, without exception, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and very efficient. Be sure to meet Patrick in the lounge and Julian, one of the bellboys. The weather during our four day visit was chilly and rainy, but the staff brought sunshine into each day.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the river. The view is amazing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredB911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $324 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing