We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$258
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Goldgasse(Salzburg)
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$343
$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Imlauer & Brau(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$478
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$583
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveler rating
1,244
320
95
43
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,244
320
95
43
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssacher tortethe riverpillow menubeautiful hotelold townturn down servicepedestrian bridgefresh fruitold world charmclassic hotelrenovated roompublic areaspiano barfive star hotelbeautiful roombreakfast buffetjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is definitely one of the top hotels in Salzburg. The public and bedrooms are very nice.
The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful in fact can't do enough for you.

My only complaints are 7 Euros for a bottle of water in your room, and charging for breat and butter with your meal is outrageous. Also don't think the "Grill Room" is really a grill, tyhe only bef on the menu is a burger??.
The bars, and restaurant terraces are terrific.

Room Tip: get a view of the river, much nicer view and quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much indeed for your recent stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and it is very nice to learn that we met your expectations with an optimum on service and quality.

On the other hand we are very sorry that we did not completely meet your satisfaction. We would like to state our honest apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Please kindly allow us to mention that we only have a cover charge at our fine dining restaurant, not at our other restaurants. Our informal restaurant Salzachgrill offers beside our most famous burgers also grilled meat and fish. However, please be assured that we will defiantly follow up very carefully on your remarks.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your experience.
We are looking forward to serve you again in the future with excellent hospitality.

Sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg for four nights in mid-September 2013. We’d come down to Salzburg from Prague by train on the Czech railway. Our room, #124, overlooked the Salzach River. A river view room really is perfect – carefully select your room, however. Our room had only a partial view because of fully grown trees. Without the trees the view would have been a full river view. The weather, overall, was a bit iffy with on-and-off drizzle throughout our stay. Still, with so many classic Salzburg sights within easy walking distance from the Sacher, the weather was only a small annoyance and didn’t really detract from our visit. Besides, cloudy weather is much better for close-quarters architectural photography – no sun to mess with the light meter.

We loved this hotel. The service was spot on perfect and always friendly. The breakfast buffet, while typical of European hotels, was excellent with a good variety of items. The hotel restaurant was able to easily accommodate my wife’s gluten-free dietary needs. Also, a very nice, intimate bar with live piano in the evenings. Housekeeping did an excellent job for us every day of our visit. In many ways, The Sacher Salzburg is like Salzburg itself – very nice and very comfortable without being stuffy. We went on to stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien in Vienna and, while quite wonderful, the Sacher Wien was several notches more formal. On balance, we think we prefer the Sacher Salzburg for comfort and relaxation.

One caution: you may wish to delay your visit to the Sacher Salzburg until construction/remodeling is complete. There was some noise associated with the construction a bit later and earlier than should have been. Our schedule had us out of the hotel into the evenings but I overheard other customers lodging noise complaints with the front desk. We did hear pounding and drilling one morning at 7:00AM – not good. Anyway, a wonderful hotel and a perfect location in Salzburg. A classic 19th century Salzburg experience.

One big hint: buy the Salzburg Card! Gets you into many, many venues, onto the riverboat, up the funicular, and more. Great value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up high with a view of the Salzach River. Avoid the construction areas.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you want to feel like a queen or king than you must stay here. We had a wonderful surprise with our accommodation here. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Th food was really good and the service fast except in the cafe where it took 10 minutes to take our order.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Called the hotel to book the room and was told only after I gave my credit card information, that the hotel was undergoing renovations. Was advised that there would only be noise from 8-5 and it is true that noise did not detract from our experience. The hotel personnel did however fail to mention that the air conditioning was not operational. The room was stuffy and warm, yet opening a window resulted in our inability to sleep because of loud traffic noise. The rooms with a view are being renovated and only the street view (very busy thoroughfare) are available. If you're paying this kind of money for a room choose elsewhere. You can always come to the cafe for you Sacher cake or get it to go!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your effort to tell us about your visit here on TripAdvisor. It was very nice to welcome you at our Hotel.

Please kindly allow us to express our sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We are really sorry that the air conditioning has not worked as you were expecting and that our staff had not advised you in a correct manner in that issue. Of course, we do some refurbishment by few guest rooms but there are also rooms & suites bookable with splendid view to the old town.

Dear Reviewer, we really hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to accommodate you at your next visit to Salzburg once more at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg, with pleasure in one of our newly and splendid refurbished rooms.

Kindest regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

By all standards, this is an outstanding hotel. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the river and the beautiful old city of Salzburg. The view of the old fort and the city of Salzburg at night was one we will always remember. We had visited Salzburg before and had stayed at the Monchstein several times. From now on, the Sacher will be our home in Salzburg. The decor of the hotel is very stylish without being stuffy. The staff is, without exception, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and very efficient. Be sure to meet Patrick in the lounge and Julian, one of the bellboys. The weather during our four day visit was chilly and rainy, but the staff brought sunshine into each day.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the river. The view is amazing at night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredB911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews