We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow..this was wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you want to feel like a queen or king than you must stay here. We had a wonderful surprise with our accommodation here. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Th food was really good and the service fast except in the cafe where it took 10 minutes to take our order.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sacher Salzburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Called the hotel to book the room and was told only after I gave my credit card information, that the hotel was undergoing renovations. Was advised that there would only be noise from 8-5 and it is true that noise did not detract from our experience. The hotel personnel did however fail to mention that the air conditioning was not operational. The room was stuffy and warm, yet opening a window resulted in our inability to sleep because of loud traffic noise. The rooms with a view are being renovated and only the street view (very busy thoroughfare) are available. If you're paying this kind of money for a room choose elsewhere. You can always come to the cafe for you Sacher cake or get it to go!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your effort to tell us about your visit here on TripAdvisor. It was very nice to welcome you at our Hotel.

Please kindly allow us to express our sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We are really sorry that the air conditioning has not worked as you were expecting and that our staff had not advised you in a correct manner in that issue. Of course, we do some refurbishment by few guest rooms but there are also rooms & suites bookable with splendid view to the old town.

Dear Reviewer, we really hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to accommodate you at your next visit to Salzburg once more at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg, with pleasure in one of our newly and splendid refurbished rooms.

Kindest regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

By all standards, this is an outstanding hotel. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the river and the beautiful old city of Salzburg. The view of the old fort and the city of Salzburg at night was one we will always remember. We had visited Salzburg before and had stayed at the Monchstein several times. From now on, the Sacher will be our home in Salzburg. The decor of the hotel is very stylish without being stuffy. The staff is, without exception, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and very efficient. Be sure to meet Patrick in the lounge and Julian, one of the bellboys. The weather during our four day visit was chilly and rainy, but the staff brought sunshine into each day.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the river. The view is amazing at night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredB911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arrived, late , around 11h00 pm, was welcomed in a personal way, was the first time, hotel has a lot of allure and ambiance, piano music was heard ( felt immediately at home), hotel room was well decorated, high service level, one slightly minor point: airco/ventilation did not work that well, it stayed relatively warm in the room, breakfast was great

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Marnix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Right from the start everything is made easy and comfortable for the traveller. Met at the door and the bags are removed from the car which is parked for you and the room has the gracious ambience of yesteryear but with all modern conveniences.

The hotel is positioned on the river just a footbridge walk to the old town and just 2 minutes from the Mirabell Palace with its beautiful gardens and daily music performances. We used it as a base for a day trip to the lakes around Bad Aussee, particularly Grundlsee. This is a most beautiful part of Austria.

At the hotel the greatest pleasure was dining in their first class restaurant. The weather was good enough to sit on the terrace overlooking the river and the food was excellent. Special dietary needs posed no problems for their chef and they went to no end of trouble to ensure appropriate substitutes, including good quality gluten-free bread.

Staff were universally helpful and polite. We are already planning a return visit.

David C

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is best but the rooms facing the Mirabell are great too.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the Sacher Hotel for 3 nights. Unfortunately the room was next to the service lift, and sound insulation is poor. All noise from the lift mechanism, and serving trolleys could be heard from early morning, and late at night.the internet did not work inside the room, unless you stand next to the door. They are going through refurbishment, and hope they pay attention to this. I would have given it poor rating, but for friendly staff, and breakfast and food are of the best quality, with wide variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nouta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your time to tell us about your trip to Salzburg here on TripAdvisor.
As a Leading Hotel of the World, direct guest-feedback is most important for us to improve continuously guest’s needs and expectations.

We are really sorry that we did not meet your satisfaction with your guest room. Please allow us to express our sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay. Please be assured that we are always aim to meet guest satisfaction at any time, unfortunately we did not know about your dissatisfaction and were not able to solve your mentioned inconvenience.

On the other hand it is very nice to learn that our staff convinced you with the utmost of service quality as well as that you enjoyed the high quality of our restaurants.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for telling us about your recent stay and taking your time. We really hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel Sacher is world class. It has a lovely location on the river in Salzburg with marvelous views of the beautiful city. It is the perfection combination of old world charm and tradition with excellent service, a great concierge, good restaurants and comfortable well appointed rooms. We are repeat guests and the hotel staff are all so welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurants are very good - from the charming cafe with the most delicous apple stuedel to the less formal restaurant with wonderful roast goose and interesting and delicious Austrian wines. The bar is cosy and the formal restaurant beautiful and delicious. This hotel is professionally run with the highest standards of customer care but also manages to be intimate and welcoming. Not to be missed and for me one of the joys of this magical city!

Room Tip: A river side room is delightful and a must have
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPMNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $330 - $778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing