We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveler rating
1,254
323
98
44
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
323
98
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssacher tortethe riverpillow menuold townbeautiful hotelturn down servicepedestrian bridgefresh fruitold world charmclassic hotelrenovated roompublic areaspiano barfive star hotelbeautiful roombreakfast buffetjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Right from the start everything is made easy and comfortable for the traveller. Met at the door and the bags are removed from the car which is parked for you and the room has the gracious ambience of yesteryear but with all modern conveniences.

The hotel is positioned on the river just a footbridge walk to the old town and just 2 minutes from the Mirabell Palace with its beautiful gardens and daily music performances. We used it as a base for a day trip to the lakes around Bad Aussee, particularly Grundlsee. This is a most beautiful part of Austria.

At the hotel the greatest pleasure was dining in their first class restaurant. The weather was good enough to sit on the terrace overlooking the river and the food was excellent. Special dietary needs posed no problems for their chef and they went to no end of trouble to ensure appropriate substitutes, including good quality gluten-free bread.

Staff were universally helpful and polite. We are already planning a return visit.

David C

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is best but the rooms facing the Mirabell are great too.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the Sacher Hotel for 3 nights. Unfortunately the room was next to the service lift, and sound insulation is poor. All noise from the lift mechanism, and serving trolleys could be heard from early morning, and late at night.the internet did not work inside the room, unless you stand next to the door. They are going through refurbishment, and hope they pay attention to this. I would have given it poor rating, but for friendly staff, and breakfast and food are of the best quality, with wide variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nouta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your time to tell us about your trip to Salzburg here on TripAdvisor.
As a Leading Hotel of the World, direct guest-feedback is most important for us to improve continuously guest’s needs and expectations.

We are really sorry that we did not meet your satisfaction with your guest room. Please allow us to express our sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay. Please be assured that we are always aim to meet guest satisfaction at any time, unfortunately we did not know about your dissatisfaction and were not able to solve your mentioned inconvenience.

On the other hand it is very nice to learn that our staff convinced you with the utmost of service quality as well as that you enjoyed the high quality of our restaurants.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for telling us about your recent stay and taking your time. We really hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel Sacher is world class. It has a lovely location on the river in Salzburg with marvelous views of the beautiful city. It is the perfection combination of old world charm and tradition with excellent service, a great concierge, good restaurants and comfortable well appointed rooms. We are repeat guests and the hotel staff are all so welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurants are very good - from the charming cafe with the most delicous apple stuedel to the less formal restaurant with wonderful roast goose and interesting and delicious Austrian wines. The bar is cosy and the formal restaurant beautiful and delicious. This hotel is professionally run with the highest standards of customer care but also manages to be intimate and welcoming. Not to be missed and for me one of the joys of this magical city!

Room Tip: A river side room is delightful and a must have
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPMNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked two nights with a special rate that included breakfast, and were not disappointed! Great selection of goodies including Sacher Torte and a couple other cakes included. The buffet scrambled eggs were typical, but they also offered poached eggs on toast which was MUCH better. Had Coffee & Kuchen right after we checked in, and the choices were as good as expected. Our only negative was the room we had faced the street, which was quite noisy until late, and since it was warm we had to leave the window open a bit to stay cool.

Room Tip: River-view rooms are quieter, but more expensive.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had been to Salzburg before,but never stayed ,so had no idea what to expect from this hotel. We were absolutely blown away by the luxury and service for the price. The room was a corner with furnishings out of the 19th century (in a good way) complete with chandelier,dining table,divan,desk, sitting area and a mini bar housed in an ornate commode. Absolutely spectacular. The staff was extremely helpful and the restaurant was superb. All inclusive,one night including room, a dinner, bar, and valet parking, the price was around 400 euros. Not cheap,but worth every cent. The location is excellent although with Salzburg's rather peculiar traffic patterns( to a non-native) a bit difficult to navigate to and from. The interior of the hotel is likewise spectacular. Stay at least one night for fun and luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews