We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb historical and classic hotel in the best location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Superb historical and classic hotel in the best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had four nights here and re had paid Cresta holidays a surcharge to have a higher floor river facing room, although they did state this was on request and could not guarantee. However we emailed the hotel in advance and requested this, based on reviews we had read with Trip Adviser.
On arrival we were early as the flight arrived at Salzburg but the Reception Manager/Concierge confirmed we had room 207 and he arranged for this room to be made available as soon as possible. Excellent service from arrival and it was like this throughout our stay.
Room 207 which also had a balcony was just ideal. Beautifully furnished, excellent comfortable bed and again room extremely well maintained and classically furnished.
Reception staff very knowledgable and helpful.
Breakfast again was top quality and choice and we were here during the heat wave so it was nice to have breakfast on the terrace.
Wifi complimentary in the room and although a bit slow on occasions very convenient.
The location by the river overlooking the old city and fortress with a pedestrian river bridge adjacent makes this one of the best located hotels in Salzburg. Hotel full of history and really made our stay in Salzburg so pleasurable.
We would definitely use this Hotel again and recommend this to our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: This is not a cheap hotel so book a river facing room with balcony on the 2nd or 3rd floor. We had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    268
    69
    31
    22
See reviews for
258
713
48
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Finally got to take the trip I was given for Christmas - a Sound of Music Tour.

Arrived by train from Zurich and the hotel is only a short taxi ride (or walk) from the station. Warmly greeted at the door and ushered to reception where again the team were enthusiastic to meet us.

We were taken up to our room by one of the team and shown its facilities. A first impression was traditional and very green!! Green walls, carpet and furniture - I think Kermit the Frog had exploded! That said it really was done very tastefully done. We had a suite which really was just a very large room with lounge furniture. This was set out like cinema seating over the bed - a bit odd but was fixed with some redecorating. We were also lucky and managed to snag a room with river views. I do believe that there are rooms which have been renovated also.

Biggest gripe was the bathroom which was small and a bit old fashioned. The worst part was the shower head. This required a degree in physics to balance so you could stand under it to have a decent shower. It really does need some work. I was also not a fan of the toiletries which were "chocolate" scented - given me floral and herbs any day.

Breakfast was a decent buffet and also had a menu for cooked item. The staff were efficient and never stopped running around.

We had a dinner included but traded it for lunch which was at the casual dining bistro. Again terrific service and a decent schnitzel and steak tartare was had.

Didn't use the gym or the spa but did have a look at it and it is pretty basic and down in the dungeons! Didn't really inspire use.

Overall it was pretty good and certainly gets you in to the spirit and feel of Salzburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer!

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay.

It was with great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and it is very nice to learn that you enjoyed your stay with as in general as well as that our employees met your highest expectations with excellent service. Of course I will pass your friendly and motivating feedback to the entire Sacher team.
On the other hand we are very sorry that we did not meet completely your satisfaction regarding the bathroom; please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience. We have only a few rooms with smaller bathrooms, but in the nearest future we are planning to refurnish these rooms with larger and state of the art bathrooms. For your next visit please let us known, we are delighted to provide you with additional toiletries.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for staying with us and for your time to share your comments.
We would be more than pleased to welcome you again at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg to serve you once more with highest quality and excellent service.

Kindest regards from Salzburg

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel steeped in tradition. The reception is excellent. We were tired after a long train trip from Grindelwald and the reception was so flawless we were in our room in just a blink. We were very fortunate to get a room on the top floor which was the second room to a suite. The upside of this is that we had a walk in closet I would have loved to take home. The room came with the traditional Sacher treats and the fresh fruit was refreshed every day. The room is very comfortable, beautifully maintained and is so clean it hard to imagine it has ever been untidy. The heated bathroom floor must be so blissful in the winter because it was great in May when it was rainy but not cold. The hotel location is wonderful and a great hopping off spot for a walk to just about anywhere. The buffet breakfast was decadent and could be enjoyed with Sacher treats as icing on the breakfast enjoyment. We had an opportunity to take a cooking class in the Sacher kitchen and that was great fun learning to make a Sacher torte. It is a beautiful kitchen staffed with excellent chefs. I absolutely could recommend the flawless Sacher Hotel. I would love to return for the winter holidays.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Recently (May 2013) we stayed at the Hotel Sacher in Salzburg, Austria. If we ever return to Salzburg I would definitely stay here again. The door-men, the front desk staff, the chamber-maids, and the restaurant staff are all wonderful: they are polite and helpful.
The buffet breakfast is very nice with fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs cooked to order, as well as buffet staples. The breakfast room is cheery and lovely and overlooks the river.
We had dinner one night in the cozy, charming restaurant and that was very good too. The food and service at both breakfast and dinner is terrific. Also, in the evenings there is a pianist in the cozy lounge area - playing some lovely music. It is a very nice spot to relax and unwind with a drink after a busy day of sight--seeing.
The room we stayed in was average size, but very clean and comfortable. A welcome plate of fresh fruit and mini sacher tortes were waiting for us in the room, which was a nice touch. The bathroom was very clean. The white sheets and duvets were very clean and comfortable. Our room faced the city, which was okay, but next time I would pay a bit more to have a room facing the river and old town.
The only negative I can think of is the elevator - which is typical of European hotels - they are small compared to North American elevators. A roomy elevator in Europe is the exception!
On a side-note, when we were in Vienna we ate lunch at the Hotel Sacher Vienna, after which I stopped at the concierge desk to ask a question. The Vienna Hotel Sacher concierge staff did not have the same friendly or helpful attitude that the Salzburg Hotel Sacher always had. Just saying... maybe the Vienna Hotel Sacher staff should travel to Salzburg for training so that they can offer the same level of hospitality as the SALZBURG Hotel Sacher.
If you do go to Salzburg, be sure to visit the "Easter in Salzburg" - "Christmas in Salzburg" store on Judengasse for their BEAUTIFUL hand-painted eggs (for both Easter & Christmas) as well as other Christmas decorations. They make fabulous gifts or souvenirs and the store will amaze you at the sheer number of hand-painted eggs available.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, request a room facing the river. The other rooms are good too, but it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

During our Europe trip we flyed to Salzsburg to have a couple of days there. Of course our choice dropped on a classic! Good location, best sweet panorama and very good lounge and tea room where you can taste the famous Torten together with the salzburger elegants gents and ladies .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krug1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Terrific location very near the old centre even though its across the river its only a few minutes from the old centre museums & locations.
Room was spacious and very clean. Some nice touches with free fruit & Sacher cake (delicious)
Service was good from all staff & were attentive & helpful.
Maid service often came at inconvenient times - early morning & just before dinner. They almost wouldn't take no for an answer - however small detail & didn't detract from a really good hotel

Room Tip: Breakfast is expensive so go next door to Cafe Bazar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Summary: Our stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg was Good. Our trip was a family vacation with myself, my wife, my 19 year-old son and my nine year-old daughter. We had two rooms and both were good quality. Overall, I feel the hotel is a bit overpriced, but I was happy with our stay.

Location: The hotel is in a good location with easy access to the Marionette Theater, Palace and other attractions.

Facilities: I wasn't terribly impressed with the hotel facilities. Everything about the hotel feels old and out-of-date. The rooms were not particularly spacious but they were acceptable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel does not have a pool.

Food: Breakfast was included with our rooms. The breakfast was a buffet style and the choice and quality of the food was great. We had desserts and coffee in the Sacher Cafe and it was good but too expensive for what you get.

Staff: Our experience with the staff was great. The desk clerks were helpful as were the wait staff and the concierge staff.

Internet: Internet access was free but the quality of the wireless access from our rooms was poor.

Cost: A big pet peeve of mine is feeling "nickle and dimed" and I'm afraid that there was some of this at the Sacher. My biggest complaint was the water. 10 Euros for a bottle of water is just ridiculous! There were no other fees on our bill that were unexpected.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nextstopgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 131 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Property: Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing