We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff member”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best staff member”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The room was elegantly decorated and the cleaniness impecable. Not great fan of the restaurant in the hotel, but only cos its just too pricey.Would stay there again mostly for the fabulous service and obliging majority staff member. Even the cleaning lady was a sweetheart Especial mention to Hunter. Recommended for sure.

Room Tip: I stayed at the bastien und bastienne suite.. which was great and quiet w lovely view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJJOSEPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    292
    77
    36
    24
See reviews for
307
773
56
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
221 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 769 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at this charming hotel in a charming city. The rooms are elegantly appointed with modern touches. The bed, linens, towels, bathroom, etc are first class....not old and stodgy as what could be with a classic hotel. Not a sound was heard from other rooms. Wifi was difficult to get anywhere else but by the door, unfortunately but the walls are thick.
The location is perfect as all you need to do is walk across a bridge to the charming old town. The staff was totally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the best we had on our trip to Germany, Austria and Switzerland.
The Sacher is an excellent choice for Salzburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

When visiting the storybook city of Salzburg, why not stay in the famous Sacher Hotel Salzburg, have some of their decadent Sachertorte (the best ever!) and enjoy one of the best views of the city possible. My wife and I have stayed here several times while attending the Mozartfest. The service is excellent, location great and hotel VERY comfortable. We strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSallyTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent 1 night at Hotel Sacher Salzburg in December while visiting the Christmas Markets with a friend. It was unforgettable! This was actually my second stay, as my husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Sacher in May 2010. The hotel was recently renovated and was absolutely gorgeous. My friend had a 1 bedroom suite which included a large living/dining room with kitchenette, separate bedroom and bathroom. My deluxe K room connected and was a little on the small side, but beautifully decorated. The bathroom was all marble and had heated floors. We both had a lovely view of the river and bridge. There was some noise from downstairs (I think we were over the bar/lounge) until about 2am, which was bothersome. We had drinks in the hotel bar and it was lovely and full of people. The service was very good, not excellent-the staff wasn't that friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to most of the Salzburg sights-it does sit on a busy street, but that wasn't a distraction. I would definitely stay at the Sacher again. Ask for a room with a view of the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river and NOT above the bar/lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend and I wanted to quickly share my thoughts of this exemplary hotel;

We have been lucky enough to stay in a selection of premium 5 star hotels around the world over the past number of years and would have to rate Sacher Hotel at, or very close, to the top of our experiences anywhere to date.

We arrived early on Friday evening and were parked outside for just 30 seconds before a most discrete and most helpful Gunter appeared, addressing us by name (not sure how he knew that!) and escorting us inside to perhaps the most professional check in we've yet experienced in any hotel, before taking our car to the underground garage.

We had booked a junior suite and were pleased to be upgraded to a suite up on the top floor with a gorgeous view across the city - it's a perfectly appointed place to stay, every detail has been attended to, everything is where you'd like it to be and the fittings are sublime - old beautifully mixed with new.

As others here have already written, the staff at The Sacher are extraordinary - nothing is too much trouble and everything is made with a smile.

Breakfast was exquisite and it was difficult to avoid being a glutton each morning - the experience of finishing off breakfast with a slice of rich Sacher Tort is one not to be missed (there were at least 5 different types of cake on offer, it'd have been a crime not to!)

It's hard to fault this experience; if we were to be critical, we'd say that the sauna is a little on the small side (albeit I acknowledge that it's not a wellness hotel so I guess having a sauna at all might be considered a bonus - the gym is well equipped btw) - but that's it, the rest, for us, was absolutely perfect in this hotel and we would highly recommend it, whether you're thinking about a week or a weekend, it's ideally situated and will likely exceed your very highest expectations.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evokative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. We went over Christmas, and the hotel was decorated beautifully. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. Our room was beautiful with views of the old town and fortress. The restaurant is also haute cuisine at it's finest, I recommend it over the Sacher Cafe, which is a better place to go for just pastries. The hotel recently instituted a new luxury, which is the choice of your own pillow. Every evening the staff gives you a little pillow menu where you can select your pillow for the next day. This is the finest hotel in the city! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julez7298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Located at the head a the foot bridge across the river leading to old town Salzburg, the setting and views from the hotel could not have been better. Add a little snow for Christmas, and well, it was a stay of a lifetime. Modernly appointed rooms in a hotel that gives the feeling of standing still in time. Greeted by a 25 foot tall Christmas tree somehow wedged into the lobby. A great and helpful staff, a wonderful cafe and excellent restaurant. If you can afford this hotel, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Property: Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing