We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,760)
Filter reviews
1,760 results
Traveler rating
1,257
322
98
44
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,257
322
98
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssacher tortethe riverpillow menuold townbeautiful hotelturn down servicepedestrian bridgefresh fruitold world charmclassic hotelrenovated roompiano barpublic areasfive star hotelbeautiful roomjunior suitethe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
915 - 920 of 1,760 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A lovely hotel on the banks of the river with old world charm. The rooms are spacious and very well kept, clean and tidy. Staff are courteous and helpful. However, there is a very big problem for the visitors from this part of the world that no tea/ coffe maker is provided in the room which is considered a necessity these days.This must be available; as in all modern hotels.Breakfast spread was very good, however the space in the restaurant is limited and no Indian delicacy is provided despite a fair sprinkling of guests being from India.Further, no Indian channel is available on the TV.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are preferrable.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pralhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your honesty to tell us here on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us at Hotel Sacher Salzburg.

We were very delighted to welcome you at our hotel and we appreciate your remarks regarding your occupied guest-room as well as that our staff could meet your satisfaction with our highest understanding of service quality. With pleasure I will pass your feedback to the entire Sacher Team.
We do understand your concern about tea & coffee facilities at guest rooms, therefore we offer 24 hours room service and our staff will be happy to provide you with this service. Allow us to point out that we offer on request beside our extensive breakfast buffet also other dishes and as a point of note, we have a wide range of different TV channels available, including a huge selection of English speaking TV channels. Please be assured that we will follow up very carefully on your remarks.

Dear Guest, thank you again for telling us about your stay. We would be very happy to welcome you again in the future, to serve you once more with our highest understanding of quality and hospitality.

Best regards

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Overlooking, the river, the castle, the hill, a limited hotel renamed as the local Sacher- Wien's sibling. A refined limited bar, a fine restaurant with a good breakfast buffet. The crowds depending on the Season (the festivals Easter | Summer) can be of interest. The staff is first class and the amenities are good. Buses to and fro. Chocolates and theatres near by. Fine location and the Uhren Siegl watch maker across. It is difficult to chosse an equivalent on the river.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bardangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel was the highlight of our European trip! It has a perfect location on the river. The staff was wonderful, even when we arrived at 5 am from the train station. They offered up all the comforts until our room was ready at checkin time. Our room was newly renovated with heated floors and a large tub with a view to the main room. Fresh fruit was offered every evening to boot! It was wonderful and a joy to come back to at the end of the sightseeing day in Salzburg!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Felt uncomfortable upon arrival with the insistance of not only somebody taking your luggage to the room but somebody else had to shown you round it first (both hesitated long enough to show they expected a tip). Nice room (junior suite) with a chandelier, chairs and tables and free chocolates and sweets. Also advised of free bottled water which would be replaced daily (it wasn't). Breakfast was alright but everything was placed on a big table in the centre of the room with insufficient room to get past so everyone had to keep giving way to everybody else. When checking out advised doorman we were getting the bus to the station so would not need his help and he suddenly seemed a lot less friendly (probably realised he was not gettng a tip for putting luggage in a taxi).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddygrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your effort to tell us about your visit here on TripAdvisor. I also highly appreciate that you was giving me the opportunity to get direct in touch with you to clarify the circumstances.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay. Please be assured that this is absolutely not our common understanding of service quality and of course we will investigate in this issue and I will certainly set relevant future steps to prevent any future occurrence

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your time to tell us your experience. It would be very nice to welcoming you again at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg to better serve you in the future.

Kindest regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I were greeted at the front door...and that was the beginning of the exemplary customer service at this exquisite hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite with a small terrace and a view of the river...just can't be beat. Upon entering, our escort kindly told us how to work the heat/AC, showed us where the outlets were, and offered her assistance with anything else we needed. On the table was a handwritten note welcoming us with two small pieces of Sacher torte.
The concierge behind the front desk had concert tickets for us both times we requested them within minutes...and they were front row, center. Need change? No problem! Every request we made was met with a smile and an assurance that we would be taken care of ...and we were! When I told him we wanted to ship some things home and asked where I could do that, he offered to take care of it himself...all I had to do was fill out the required form and hand it over with what we wanted shipped.
Our room was spacious (by European standards) and had a minibar and flat screen TV (not that we were watching much TV!). The bathroom was, again, large by Europe standards, and well-supplied with the Sacher's own brand of toiletries. Turndown service was more than the usual turn down the blanket and leave a chocolate; it was more like a second cleanup plus the usual turndown. Take advantage of the free "pillow menu"!
With the knowledge that nothing in life is completely perfect, the one minor nit we had was the service in the bar, which was pretty slow both times we were in there. However, I also think that sometimes Americans are used to a faster restaurant/bar service pace than Europeans are. But as I said, it was a very minor point. Suffice it to say, my husband and I left the Sacher very reluctantly!
I once read that Spencer Tracy loved Claridge's in London so much that he said that when he died, he wanted to go to Claridge's. With all due respect to Mr. Tracy (whom I love!), I'd have to say that I'd prefer to go to the Sacher in Salzburg.

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the river if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Family!

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your honest to tell us about your visit. We highly appreciate your remarks. It is always very motivating for the entire Sacher Team to receive such a positive feedback.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and it is nice to hear that we could make your stay from the beginning of your visit as comfortable and memorable as possible as well as that you enjoyed all the small details. We are very delighted that we have met your expectations with our high understanding of quality and hospitality.
With pleasure I will pass your feedback to the entire Sacher Team.

Dear Family, we are really looking forward to welcome you again at Hotel Sacher Salzburg to convince you once more of the excellence that our hotel is known for.

Kind regards from Salzburg,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews