We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit For A Dignitary... Like You!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Why not feel like an aristocrat? My wife and I did, and it was very much worth it! Our stay was everything we expected and more so. It is what one would expect from The Sacher... Class, elegance and charm.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrolexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sacher Salzburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had an amazing stay at the Sacher before joining my choral festival-
It was so perfect in every way. They gave me a beautiful, quiet suite on the top floor-
it could not have been better. Literally everyone on their staff(at least the ones I ran into) is pleasant and friendly, just working very hard to make your stay the best possible.
I cannot recommend this hotel too highly- it is a bucket list item, as far a s I am concerned. Can check this one off!

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a superior room for 4 nights and were very happy. Our room(331) had a balcony overlooking the river and old town. Room spacious and nicely decorated tho a little flouncy. Breakfast was very good and staff were courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briarglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a few days at Hotel Sacher and absolutely loved it (Oct 2008). It is in a great location and the ambiance is stunning. The breakfast room is very posh. On our first day, we turned up in a touristy t-shirt & jeans, only to meet the disapproving eye of those savouring the champagne breakfast. We quickly scoffed our meal and got out to do the trips around town. The location allows you to enjoy everything within walking distance. The Sacher torte was truly lovely and we also ended up buying a piece of hotel memorabilia!!

The only reason this gets a 4 instead of a 5 - The rooms are a bit tiny, but well kept.

Room Tip: 1) Dont forget to buy the Sacher Torte (you can buy it even if you dont stay at the hotel) 2) Champ...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_UK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just stayed for 2 wonderful nights in this brilliant hotel in Salzburg. Once the doorman realised we were indeed staying at the hotel (our appearance after a long journey seemed to wrong foot him!) he was brilliant as were all the staff throughout.

Particularly memorable: Sacher Grille where they serve excellent informal food in great ambience and at very fair prices. The bar looking out over the old town. The room was just fabulous in every way. All the modern requirements were there - free wifi, wide range of TV channels etc - you would expect that from a five star hotel but it was just so beautifully appointed and designed? Responses to room service demands etc seemed almost instantaneous. There is a TV in the mirror in the bathroom - that's a first for us. Excellent extra things like a DVD player and an iPod connection unit were also there and available. Okay, that is not special, but both of those things have been conspicuously absent in all of the other hotels we have stayed in on this three week trip through Austria, Sitzerland, Italy and France - several of them 5 star.

Particularly impressed by Peter serving breakfast and Heidi in the Grille.

We would stay at Hotel Sacher again in a heartbeat.

In an effort to find something negative to say.........
Why offer so much and then leave water in the room at 6€ for a small bottle?
The senior people at reception were just slightly 'sniffy' compared to their junior counterparts. I suspect they were just a little more formal really but isn't naturalness so much better than formality?

Room Tip: Face the river
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Sacher and can’t praise the experience highly enough. I would describe it as an Old World European hotel, with excellent furnishings and décor. Recent renovations have only enhanced the hotel.
The hotel is located right on the water with easy access to everything you want to see in Salzburg and the smallish room was more than made up for by our balcony, with superb views of Salzburg river (spectacular at night). The bathroom was compact but immaculate. There was some traffic noise but this was more than compensated by the views.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful with some good tips for seeing the city, and really enjoyed the breakfast with plenty of choice in Cafe Sacher, a wonderful wooden panelled restaurant overlooking the river. Free Wi-Fi and the choice of television channels were a bonus as was the plate of cakes/desserts on arrival.
The Hotel is what one would expect from a 5 star Hotel and I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with river view- less traffic noise and spectacular views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location, and a perfect example of a proper old fashioned european hotel. It is old, so therefore not entirely 'spotless' and could do with a little updating here and there, but it was a pleasure to stay there and made you feel like going back in time! The breakfast buffet was great (if expensive!) and the staff were very helpful. I would certainly stay here again if I were to visit Salzburg in the future.

The one downside is the price. Compared to other places I've stayed around the world, this hotel was incredibly expensive, but compared to other similar hotels in Salzburg, it's fairly competitive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tastysnacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $329 - $785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing