We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,757 results
Traveler rating
1,254
322
98
44
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
322
98
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssacher tortethe riverpillow menuold townbeautiful hotelturn down servicepedestrian bridgefresh fruitold world charmclassic hotelrenovated roompublic areaspiano barfive star hotelbeautiful roombreakfast buffetjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
937 - 942 of 1,757 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed in double standard room. Room was beautifully decorated. we had two "floor to ceiling" windows with velvet drapes tied back with corded ropes. Very "Sound of Music" and a perfect room for a short two day stay. Bathroom was small but one of the cleanest I have ever seen. The marble sparkled and plenty of fluffy towel and amenities. Upon arrival we found a plate bit size "Sacher" cakes and home-made chocolates & fruits. Very nice welcome. Hotel was just outside the "Lovers Bridge" and easy walk to Old Saltburg and all the sites. Not much happening in the hotel bar area but beautiful place to hang out and take a rest after a long day of walking. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If in a standard room - ask for higher floor away from traffic noise. Bring your own iPod speakers as no docking station or radio.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toby_Drake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having spent three lovely nights at the Sacher in Vienna we were naturally excited to experience the sister hotel in Salzburg. This is as expected for the tariff a beautiful hotel complete with the Sacher touches of amazing art works and of course the little taste awaiting in the room of the famous torte.

Don't forget though that this is a five star hotel at five star prices and many of these things are expected just to meet that standard. Our upgraded room was still European small but with a great balcony overlooking the river and the old town. This is a view worth having so ask when booking for that side of the hotel.

So to the concierge, that first impression is the make or break and he did not make it. We had driven a hire car from Vienna and with the other half double parked on the street I raced into reception for some help, the usual, bags, parking, some guidance to clear the traffic jam we were causing. To cut a long story short as there were several niggling incidents with the same concierge, not helpful, not warm, not deserving of his keys.

For fairness the other staff were good particularly Arabella with her mid west American accented English and lovely genuine smile.

The breakfast and the restaurant are all that you would expect and are paying for in a top quality five star hotel but we did not leave here feeling like we had had a special experience.

Room Tip: Room facing the river and the old city.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcguigs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your effort and for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at our hotel and it is very nice to learn that you loved the amazing interior of the Hotel Sacher Salzburg as well as your room with fantastic view to the historic center of Salzburg. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Page Arabella and other staff members, of course we will pass your feedback to the Sacher Team and especial to Arabella .

On the other hand we are very sorry that your arrival and our concierge service were not as efficient and friendly as usual and as is it should self-evident for a 5-star Superior hotel. Please allow us to apologize for any inconvenience you have had experienced. We will definitely follow up carefully on your remarks because guest satisfaction is one of the most imported objects for us.

Dear Guest, we kindly thank you for your comments and are asking you to give us another opportunity in the future, to show you that excellent service quality that Hotel Sacher Salzburg is known for.


Sincerely,
Elfi Kammerhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's hard to find such an old time palace still working. With fully modernised rooms it still keeps everything of the time of Sisy and kaiser Franz-Josef. I keep on staying here for 20 years now, at this time it was Hotel Österreicher Hof, but belonging to already to the same group as The Hotel Sacher Vienna.
Huge five star hole on the bank of the Salzach, just two steps away of the downtown. Big, nice room, even the small ones are of quite comfortable size. Sleeping quality is also very nice. Helpful staff, and everything you can expect here...
Well, it is expensive. Yes, but it is a five star palace too.

Room Tip: Try to have a panoramic view of the downtown.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InnSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was a highlight of our trip! The rooms were large and comfortable, as were the bathrooms. We had an impressive breakfast buffet each morning with a delightful array of choices. The staff was warm and welcoming and dinner in the restaurant was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

What to say - gorgeous in every way. Impeccable service. Individual and perfectly decorated rooms. Bathrooms to die for. Turn down to die for. Breakfast to die for (yes- Sacher Torte for breakfast!). Only problem was internet in our room - basically didn't work (though it did in my kids room). Never told the desk, my bad.

Restaurant recommendations perfect. Didn't push up upscale when we wanted casual, and didn't skimp when we wanted all out.

You want a five star experience? This is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARKLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews