We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Untersberg

Untersberg
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.34*
and up
Salzburg Card
Ranked #3 of 161 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

It's about half an hour from the city center (the bus drops you outside the cable car place) and well worth the visit.

We went on a really clear day and it was relatively warm too. As neither of us had walking boots on we didn't make it right to the top as the snow was a bit slippy! It's not a particularly long hike from where the cable car drops you off to the top though.

The views are absolutely stunning! On a clear day at least...

There is a bar at the top but be warned- it doesn't accept cards so remember to bring cash if you want a drink!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UndamagedPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    976
    327
    52
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stunning but you need a clear day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

A number 25 bus, running every 20 minutes, takes you there. The views from the top are just stunning on a clear day. We went when there was lots of snow, but were still able to walk 800 m or so along the ridge top. A must.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must Visit !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

One of the best places to visit and have fun..... Such a beautiful day it was to see the city of Salzburg from the top of the hill. Bought the Salzburg card which costs 23 euros and that can be bought in ticket center underground the main station near the buses go to all parts. Bus no 25 goes to this place, Untersbergbahn, 30 min ride . And the cable car ride was Thrilling and Awesome for abt 10 mins . Spent around 3.5 hrs , hiking and sliding over the slopes !!!! Would like to visit again and again !

Helpful?
6 Thank Gopinath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing View and Great Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We bought the salzburg card (24 euro) and used it for this attraction. The ride up the mountain is breathtaking and amazing. We arrived at the top, after seeing mountain goats along the way, and enjoyed a fantastic hike along the ridge above the tram. The view is practically 360 degrees and is jaw dropping. The cost is around 21 euros, but free with the Salzburg Card which pays for itself considering the salzburg fortress is 10 euro, the Stiegl Brewery experience is 9 euro (and amazing) and the Cable Car is 21 euro. If you only did those three things it pays for itself immediately.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank montanafirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“WOULD HAVE BEEN AMAZING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We travelled out by bus to the cable cars but unfortunately on the day we went there was low cloud and we were unable to see the stunning views from the top, only thick mist/cloud. From the pictures it would have been amazing so I would advise anyone to go - but to choose a better day!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Piglet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Untersberg also viewed

 

Been to Untersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing