We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up on a mountain!”
Review of Untersberg

Untersberg
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.34*
and up
Salzburg Card
Ranked #2 of 164 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beaconsfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Up on a mountain!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Amazing and truly magical! A small pleasant bus ride away straight to the mountain. Very reasonable fares. The top of the mountain is just beautiful! Takes your breath away :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    335
    54
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We took the bus from old town to the tram that takes you up to the top of the mountain. The view was breathtaking. The world below was a snowy wonderland. This is a definite must do any time of year. I recommend buying a Salzburg card while your there, because the Untersberg is included as well as many other fabulous attractions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great way to see Salzburg”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing way to see Salzburg and the surrounding countryside! No matter the time of year, summer or winter this would be an amazing experience for anyone wanting to see some of the natural beauty of the area.

Firstly, myself and my girlfriend visited during late December where the temperatures are approaching 0C during the day with highs of 5C so we got to see the mountain covered in snow compared to the low ground still being quite green and fresh. This contrast is absolutely amazing when you see snow laden mountain ranges in the distance with green pastures in between.

Secondly, we had very good weather so my recommendation is wait until you get good weather (I.e. Very few clouds in the sky) otherwise you'll not see a thing from the mountain as the low cloud covers it.

Finally, ensure you buy a Salzburg card as the bus fare and Untersberg ticket are included with the card and therefore it pays for itself, you then get added advantages of free beer tasting at the Steigl brewery or free entry to a number of the museums depending on your tastes (there are a number of other discounts/waived costs I'm merely trying to identify the spread of options).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning views of Salzburg”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to have amazing clear weather. Incredible views out over salzburg and of the mountains. A very steep cable car ride up which was a bit of an adrenaline rush! Be sure to wear shoes with grip on the bottom - there were a few inappropriately dressed women (high heeled boots) slipping over which was a bit dangerous and would have detracted from the experience for them!

Helpful?
Thank Angelique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
519 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Amazing views - highlight of our Salzburg visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We just took the Untersbergbahn and it was as wonderful as the reviews have said - amazing views. Really good value if you have the Salzburg card, which we did not...otherwise it's 21 euros round trip per adult, but still worth every penny. I have to echo the recommendation. To wear proper hiking gear...this time of year it there is snow at the top and it is packed down and pretty slick from all the people walking over it. To get to the highest view points the packed snow is pretty slick and trails are steep. This is Europe so there aren't guard rails either, everything is at your own risk. Not sure I would bring small kids either.

I thought the ride up and down was nice too but not for the faint of heart. I didn't think the car was overcrowded...typical for Austria and imagine it with skiers on it! But you do have to stake out a window spot if you want a view. If it's i portent to you then you might want to wait and be one of the first on to the next car. They seemed to run every 10-15 minutes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingInWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Untersberg also viewed

 

Been to Untersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing