We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Been to a lot of Science and Tech Museums...this one is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus der Natur

Haus der Natur
Book In Advance
$27*
and up
Salzburg Card
Ranked #6 of 145 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Fara San Martino, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Been to a lot of Science and Tech Museums...this one is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Planned to just spend 3 hours here (11-2pm) but we were the last to leave at 5pm!! Although many parts of the museum are only german, there are enough parts in english to keep you reading...and for the kids it didn't matter because there were so many hands on exhibits that they just ran from room to room to room touching, turning, playing, etc....was really really good!

Tips: The lockers in the downstairs coatroom are free (returns your one euro when you re-open it)...keep your tickets as you'll need them to access the restaurant on the second floor....do get an audioguide, although it hung from my neck more than at my ear, its only 3 euro's and provided lots of interesting info....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug13B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    156
    19
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“5 floors- some great, some just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we went with two young children (2 and 4 years old). They loved the aquarium, the reptile display, the interactive science part and the human body display. some of the (stuffed) animals displays were too scary or too boring. some spots (tyrannosaurus, dragon, crocodile and snakes...) might be scary for some children. altogether worthwhile, but invest a few minutes in planing the visit so you won't waste all your time on dark gloomy stuffed rodents displays, where exciting hands on science is right next door.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You need an entire day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Haus der Natur has expanded and includes a wide variety of displays and interactive activities. There is a wonderful aquarium! The Doppler exhibit was fascinating. We wished we would have had the grandkids with us, because they would have loved it too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FrauMadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Cool place if it is raining when with kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Being from Florida, I am used to science/fun exhibits. This spot is another one. Good if you have nothing else to do as it does help spend the day with the kids. Nothing fabulous, however, i have been a few times since the kids like it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nature at it's loveliest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Everyone should take the time to visit and enjoy this natural place! Great for folks of all ages too! Austrian's are very proud of their gardens and love nature!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tuffone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus der Natur also viewed

 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Haus der Natur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing