We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful hotel right in centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wolf
Ranked #73 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel right in centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It's a wonderful very Austrian hotel with a contemporary feel of the room we stayed in. The room was small but funky and functional. Breakfast was simple yet more than adequate especially if you are into meats.

I would be more than happy to return to this hotel when going to Salzburg

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyW423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
33
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. It's really charming, clean, comfortable, and perfectly located in the center of town. While it's not "historic", it has plenty of character. The older couple who run it clearly love the place. As noted by others, the husband is friendly and helpful, but the wife is grumpy and walks around frowning all the time, it's kind of funny actually, just don't ask her for any favors. However she puts out a fantastic breakfast spread, so they make a good team. The place has some quirks typical of old places, like the floors creak, the doors squeak, no AC (or fans), terrible internet. Plus it's kind of pricey. So it ain't perfect, but I liked it anyway. Bring earplugs if you're staying here in summer, as you'll need to open the windows at night and street noise may bother you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie_Chicago_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice, little place perfectly situated in Salzburg. You walk right out into the middle of everything. The place is small but really satisfactory by all measures for a couple. Clean and in excellent repair despite being 600 years old! Wifi only in the breakfast room and lobby. Breakfast quite good. The desk help could have been a little bit more attentive but that was easy to overlook. We would recommend this as a good value and a convenient stay in Salzburg.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank patnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family of 6 felt very lucky to stay in 2 of this lovely, super clean boutique hotel's 16 rooms last month! We added extra beds to each of our 2 rooms, which naturally made the rooms feel a little tight. We didn't mind, though, because we were out seeing the sights of Salzburg continuously!The warm local owner and front desk staff were engaging, helpful, kind and patient.

This charming, unique hotel is perfectly located in oldtown (Alstadt) Salzburg. It's about 60 paces from Mozart Square, across the street from an acclaimed, small modern modern art museum and within an easy walk to restaurants (such as 220, which has fabulous coffee, great breakfast and lunch). Healthy and fresh breakfast self-served at the Hotel Wolf til 10, crisp white tablecloths, and the owner himself serves rich, freshly brewed coffee, tea and cocoa with a warm smile. The beds were comfortable, our rooms a little small (the hotel was built around 1362), bathrooms updated.

One feature we really appreciated is that the hotel closes their front door at 9 pm, thus entry only by room key thereafter.(The owner lives on site, so in case of emergency he will awaken to answer the door after 9.)

If you like dogs, you're also sure to love "Wolf" whom we only discovered as we were leaving. Wolf (the owner's small dog) played easily with the kids as we were checking out.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMarie88_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A clean and comfortable hotel just around the corner from Mozart Square. Only a couple of grouses. The windows were difficult to open until we were shown the trick. The bathroom was good, with the strange exception of the mirror - the magnifying portion was curiously positioned over the toilet, and therefore not very useful. Apart from these minor points, all was well. Nice breakfast, catering for all tastes. Platters were constantly refilled. The staff were extremely helpful, even providing a flask of coffee for my husband when he had a very early start. Taxis were ordered and were punctual. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You can see the castle (just) from room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVWA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in June, had a great location for exploring the old town and the quad room really worked well for us. The staff was friendly and helpful, only one small error on a local laundry mat but that was not really their fault. Breakfast was great and we thought the variety was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in room 30 at the front of the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right in the old Salzburg area and near a bus stop for public transportation. Also, our Sound of Music tour company picked us up almost at the front door. The staff person who greeted us was very friendly and even confirmed our reservations with the tour company! The breakfast was continental style, but offered a nice variety. I wish we stayed longer here, and if we ever come back this way, we will definitely stay at Hotel Wolf.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DV52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#31 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#18 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Restaurant Weisses Kreuz
#110 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#6 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf

Property: Hotel Wolf
Address: Kaigasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing