We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family-run hotel in the Old City”
Review of Hotel Wolf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wolf
Ranked #78 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly family-run hotel in the Old City”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A clean and comfortable hotel just around the corner from Mozart Square. Only a couple of grouses. The windows were difficult to open until we were shown the trick. The bathroom was good, with the strange exception of the mirror - the magnifying portion was curiously positioned over the toilet, and therefore not very useful. Apart from these minor points, all was well. Nice breakfast, catering for all tastes. Platters were constantly refilled. The staff were extremely helpful, even providing a flask of coffee for my husband when he had a very early start. Taxis were ordered and were punctual. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You can see the castle (just) from room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVWA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
37
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in June, had a great location for exploring the old town and the quad room really worked well for us. The staff was friendly and helpful, only one small error on a local laundry mat but that was not really their fault. Breakfast was great and we thought the variety was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in room 30 at the front of the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right in the old Salzburg area and near a bus stop for public transportation. Also, our Sound of Music tour company picked us up almost at the front door. The staff person who greeted us was very friendly and even confirmed our reservations with the tour company! The breakfast was continental style, but offered a nice variety. I wish we stayed longer here, and if we ever come back this way, we will definitely stay at Hotel Wolf.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DV52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice clean hotel in the center of Salzburg. Room was clean the and staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Location is perfect, driving is a pain, however the work with you. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Altstadt location but in a quiet street. Friendly staff who were very helpful. Breakfast was a delight. Small, cosy room perfect for single occupancy. Everything we wanted to visit was on the doorstep. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 11 perfect for single occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location in the middle of the Altstadt is the key to this hotel. The prices are good value for Salzburg, and the rooms are clean if small-ish but more than adequate. The coffee at breakfast was good, and aside from a decent muesli the breakfast offering was limited. That said, there's a large variety of food offerings nearby. The staff is accomodating.
No problem recommending this to people there to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newfoundlander709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
419 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Walk out the front door and begin your exploration of this amazing pedestrian friendly city. Car traffic is limited to before 11am daily, only cabs can enter to drop off of pick up riders. Which makes walking around and gazing into the many beautiful storefronts a dream.This hotel is very conveniently located, very clean & we had a nice room. I did feel they fell short on breakfast however. Not much to say as there wasn't much out daily as compared to the various other Romantik Hotels we stayed at during this trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
#93 of 132 in Salzburg
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf

Property: Hotel Wolf
Address: Kaigasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing