We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great character and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus Wartenberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haus Wartenberg
Ranked #77 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great character and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel! It's old and corky but had great character. I was on a trip with my family and we booked one big room but the people at the front desk ended up giving us 2 rooms to make it more comfortable. The location was also easy walking distance to all the attractions in the city. Loved the charm, loved the service and left Salzburg with great memories.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelstaff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    16
    15
    9
See reviews for
45
45
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived to friendly & helpful staff who helped us with our luggage up to our rooms on the first floor. Yes it is an old building & after being on a tour with 5 star hotels, it was abit of a shock but once we were settled in, all seemed better. Unfortunately we were asked to move rooms due to a mix up but our new room had a small bar fridge so that was a great bonus. We had an old TV which was there purely for decorations as it didnt work.
The WIFI had a strong signal, very pleasing. Only half our lights worked so we moved globes around to suit our needs. We asked if an electric kettle was available for hot water ( cuppa tea) & one was promptly delivered to our room with cups & milk.
We stayed for 2 nights & in the afternoon the sun streamed into our room, great for drying our washing!
Location was good with 2 convenience stores located within 5 minute walk. Great restraurant just around the corner, Poseidin, ate there both nights. Parking only on the street but the staff with great giving us a time clock sheet to allow free parking.
Interesting 15 minute walk into the old town & Fortress through the Monchs Berg, literally you walkthrough a mountain.
The beds were comfortble, good hot shower but no where to hang wet towels.
All in all, we would stay here again. The staff were incredibly helpful & friendly. No, its not all new & glitzy but Haus Wartenberg is still good value & provides a comfortable base when in Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wylie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel but prospective visitors need to be clear about what to expect. This building is over 400 hundred years old. It can in no way be seen as up to the standard of a chain hotel. The rooms are all very different and odd. Our rooms was actually two double rooms sharing a bathroom which would have been good for a family visit. The electrics leave quite a bit to be desired. In one of these rooms only one bedside light reached a socket. The central light was not attached to the ceiling and did not have shade. The bedside light smelt of scorching after about ten minutes and had to be swapped. The furniture is old - some would say antique - and obviously doesn't match. The water however was hot and the shower was very good. The towels soft and clean and plentiful. The beds were comfortable - well ours were but I couldn't guarantee the others - you get the idea. The breakfast room is small but cosy and there is an overflow room. The breakfast was good but not exceptional - one morning we had boiled eggs, the other morning we didn't - you get the idea. The staff were on the whole very friendly and helpful - except when we first arrived and weren't expected despite having emailed and being acknowledged and being put into a room with four beds rather than the two double rooms we had booked through the website. This was resolved but not until quite a bit of stress on our part and some annoyance on the part of the staff. After that though, or because of it, the owner Johannes and his wife and the rest of the team were very helpful and accommodating if not completely organised - you get the idea. The location is excellent - it is ten to fifteen minutes walk from the centre (or less by bus) in a quiet residential area. Overall, this is a marvellous building that needs to be looked after and with some substantial maintenance could be a real gem, but it isn't quite there at the moment. If you can cope with the quirky and a little odd and most things working - rather like the wifi - then you will leave smiling if a little wryly. If you can't, then do n't even try it - you get the idea.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiddiprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The 400 year old building was the attraction for our booking this authentic hotel, however on arrival it was clear to see that our room and bathroom had not been cleaned since the construction of this building. For the heavy price charged we would expect a high level of cleanliness however old the building is. Its location to the city was a positive, as indeed was the continental breakfast offered. The alfresco dining matched with the reasonable prices (compared to Salzburg) were the hotels best attribute.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights in Haus Wartenberg and were not impressed at all. We had high expectations based on the positive reviews on this site, but left with a bad feeling. The rooms are small and very dated. The antiques are nice and all, but the rest of the furniture is just old and in poor condition. We had dinner upon our night of arrival, but unfortunately tastes were bland and nothing special. The breakfast was even worse with plastic cheese and unripe fruit.

We were charged some EUR 130 per night, which was about twice what we think it was worth, so we definitely would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexterduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

It's umm. A little 'Jesusy'. Pictures of the crucified Jesus greated me at breakfast, baby Jesus when I went to bed and annointed Jesus when I came in and out of my room. My wife is Jewish so you know, she thought that was weird haha.
Nice enough people, nice room, very unique. Breakfast ok, nothing special.
Street parking free, but I didn't have trouble finding a spot.
I'd stay here again. Walking distance to Saltzburg center

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkalinenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel (more of pension, perhaps?) is an historic building that's nearly 400 years old. Upon our arrival, Johannes, the owner, let us select our own room! For a family of four, we chose the top suite which was large, quiet, clean and comfortable. No creaky floors there as they were all tiled; had two bathtubs with showers and two toilets. The suite could have easily slept 6 or 7, but being at the top meant the wifi was weak to no-existent. No matter--you can always read a book. It is certainly a unique place with a good amount of antique furniture, but it has character like no other place I've stayed. The owner's wife made a birthday cake for our daughter, and it was a delicious, beautifully made cake with a huge sparkler and a candle! Their four children even came down to the dining room to watch the presentation! The food is also excellent, and some of the locals even come by to eat. This is a very family-oriented place, and my kids loved to play with the rabbits in the pen outside in the garden (the family pets). Johannes gave us Salzburg cards to get around the city for free, and those were very handy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viator45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
1.2 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#45 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#54 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#56 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#29 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Wartenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Wartenberg

Property: Haus Wartenberg
Address: Riedenburger Strasse 2, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Haus Wartenberg 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Budget Places, Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Haus Wartenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Wartenberg Salzburg
Haus Wartenberg Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing