We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not really a pleasant stay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haunsperger Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Haunsperger Hof
Ranked #117 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not really a pleasant stay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed in the Haunsperger Hof for about five days with my school. Mostly we were outside and came to hotel only for sleeping and breakfast but even that little time was horrible. On the first day, I came to the reception to ask about the wi-fi and the man sitting by the desk told me they had no such thing (even though it was listed in the available networks on my phone but it was password protected). Later on, one of my professors managed to get it but I didn't - I was told there was no such thing. Next day, I rushed down to the lobby and there was another man sitting by the front desk. He had no problem with getting me the password and user name while the man a day ago claimed they had no wireless internet even though I could see in the book you had to sign to get a password he had handed out passwords and user names to other guests on the same day he told me they had no such thing as wi fi.

As for the cleaning, we had cleaning ladies first two days and then they didn't come anymore even though they were cleaning other rooms. Was it the lack of tipping or something else I don't know, but our room wasn't messy and I really don't know why did they skip it. Of course, that day we were left with old towels (fortunately, we had our own just in case) and full trash cans. When I went down to the front desk to ask about the cleaning ladies, the same man who claimed they didn't have wi-fi, instructed me to the trash can in front of the hotel.

As for the towels, they seemed washed out and mismatched - different style, different origin. And when I first came into the room and wanted to use the toilet I first had to clean the seat with sanitizer tissues because it seemed downright dirty.

Also, some of the rooms are more modern while some seemed pre-historic. All of my friends payed the same price and some got big and comfortable bedrooms while some got bedrooms that were so small and cramped that you could barely move in them.

All in all, it wasn't quite a pleasant stay, nor a moderate one.
I would advise everyone to stay away from this hotel as far as possible, unless they don't mind taking out their own trash in a HOTEL, not having fresh towels every day and being lied to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaRafaela96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    40
    22
    28
See reviews for
31
25
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I were three nights in this hotel which is actually more of a B&B. Our room was of a reasonable size and so was the bathroom except that the size of the shower stall was too small even for a man of average build like myself. The problem with the room was that it faced a busy street and the sounds of the vehicular traffic at night made it difficult for us to get a good night's sleep. You would be well advised to request a room which is set back as far as possible from the road (Haunsperg Strasse). The room had a TV set but no English-language channels were available despite CNN and CNBC being listed; the man at reception didn't have a convincing answer for this. WiFi was available as was a hair dryer; however, a kettle wasn't. The buffet breakfast was adequate despite there being no eggs and the crowded dining room on two of three mornings was testimony to the popularity of the hotel. This, we took it, was due to the rather moderate charges.
The Haunsperher Hof is located to the east of the Salzach river; the advantages of its location are that it is close to Salzburg Hbf (about 400 mtrs) and Mirabell Platz (a greater distance) from where the popular bus tours start. The major visual attraction on that side of the river is the Mirabell Palace and Gardens - all the other attractions are on the west side of the river, I.e. in the old part of the town. The walk to the other side takes about 30 minutes; fine if the weather is favorable but it could be a nuisance in inclement weather. Happiness would be a reasonably- priced lodging on the west side of the river.
The staff appeared overworked but were reasonably friendly.

Room Tip: Request a room as far back from Haunsperg Strasse as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandp_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the staff was decent- not exceptionally helpful, not rude either. It was about a 15-20 minute walk to the river, about 10 minutes to Mirabell Garden. There was no parking when we arrived so we had to park three streets over- we did NOT have to pay for (no parking allowed on the street) which wasn't a big deal but one of the reasons I booked the hotel was because it offered parking. The beds were very comfortable, we did not have any problem sleeping. But do note (especially to Americans) that the "queen sized bed/double bed" is really two beds pushed together. (Which is fairly common in Europe but a lot don't know) Breakfast was a standard European continental.. 2 types of meat, 2 types of cheese, coffee, milk, juice, tea, and raisin bran/bran cereal. All and all, it was a nice, safe, and quiet little place to stay in close (enough) to everything in town. I do think next time we go, we will be closer to the river/Old town though- walking back in the rain is NO fun! Wi-Fi worked great.

Room Tip: I read some of the recommendations to book a "deluxe" or a room on the upper levels- that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed during the music festival, so rooms were at a premium, but our family room on the third floor was excellent. Breakfast however, was dire. Reception staff ranged from lovely, to one gentleman who was arrogant and obnoxious. Parking is limited. Walk to old town was easy and pretty.

Room Tip: Third Floor family room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMH550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

There is nothing at all about this place that makes it ok. Even using the word budget is generous. If you are the type that can fall asleep standing up and you are ok with showers that you need to climb over the toilet to get to, or you enjoy lumpy pillows and beds made of concrete...this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Warm staff, good location and lovely blue building, but it seems like a B&B, a good choice for budget traveler. They allowed us to have a early check-in, we arrived at 11:00am and the price is very good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Easy walk from the railway station and a pleasant stroll to the old town along the river. A warm friendly welcome from the duty manager. Our room was clean fairly spacious and on the corner of the building so had windows on two sides. Breakfast was adequate but the staff were slow to clear away and top up the buffet. Free use of wi-fi was a bonus.

A down side was the banging of doors in the night by a group who arrived late.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#33 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#47 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scherer Hotel
Scherer Hotel
#95 of 138 in Salzburg
3.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#44 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#66 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haunsperger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haunsperger Hof

Property: Hotel Haunsperger Hof
Address: Haunspergstrasse, 30, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haunsperger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Haunsperger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haunsperger Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing