We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not a wholehearted recommendation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doktor-Schlossl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Doktor-Schlossl
Save
You added Hotel Doktor-Schlossl to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glaser Strasse 7 & 10, Salzburg 5026, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Holetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not a wholehearted recommendation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is outside the centre of Salzburg. It is easy enough to walk to the buss top and take the 15 minute journey into town but it is a nuisance after having walked all round Salzburg. It also adds about 5 euros per person for the journey. The hotel has a interesting history and is decorated in period style. The rooms were a good size and as well as the sleeping area had a little table to sit at. Everywhere was very clean. However the room was very warm and when we opened the window it meant that we were able to hear the next door rooms occupants especially as their balcony was literally inches away from our window. I am not sure it would be a problem in the Winter but in the Summer the room felt stuffy. The wireless Internet advertised is only available in very specific places in the hotel and not at all in the room. The staff know this and feel that this should be made clear. We had hoped to plan our travel when our date was asleep n the room and this was not possible. We had a few general queries and felt underwhelmed by the help given, which was perfunctory rather than friendly. The indoor pool was well received by my daughter but the outdoor pool is very small and unheated.

Overall I would not stay again. There are no huge negatives just a feeling that for the price you could do better and be in the centre of a very beautiful Salzburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKandEIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed in Salzburg for two days while paying a longer visit in Italy. This hotel was simple and good price. I would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was delicous and included. We took the bus into town and it was very easy to figure out. The beds were not very comfortable and were small, but I was fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enj0ying_the_M0ment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The Doktorschloessl is located at the southern periphery of Salzburg. To find a parking for the car is no problem. To the centre of the city it is a bustrip of 15 minutes. The rooms of the hotel would need some refurbishment. Especially the beds are not very comfortable and caused backache. Breakfast could be better. The rates are even or especially during the festival period too high.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weltreisender09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alentejo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

Stayed there on August 2006. When arriving I thought we might have done a mistake. It didn`t seem a good hotel, a bit old house, the reception was on one side of the street and the building with the room on the other, no lift, was a little far from the center town. We (a couple with a 8 years old daughter) stayed there for 2 nights and, after all, it was the best choice. The room was large (larger than usual), confortable so we can rest after exploring Salzburg, Breakfast was fine, everything very cleaned, staff professional and correct. Of course it`s not center town, but it`s a quiet area with a very good restaurant near (don`t miss it if you like good meals for a good price), and there was a bus stop close to the hotel (but you can take a taxi, it won`t cost so much, salzburg it`s not a very big city). If we come back to salzburg (we will), of course we will stay there again.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fernandao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

Just to tell you there is a big mountain right behind the hotel. The hotel is a small one, the picture of the house is actually only the restaurant. It has 3 floors and no lift and is quite far away from the city. It is a great little hotel that has the charm of the Sound of Music almost next door! I will try to return!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#22 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#6 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#8 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doktor-Schlossl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doktor-Schlossl

Property: Hotel Doktor-Schlossl
Address: Glaser Strasse 7 & 10, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doktor-Schlossl 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Doktorschlossl Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing