We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel Am Dom is a real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Dom
Ranked #20 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hotel Am Dom is a real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

There's everything to love about this boutique hotel. Joseph, the owner, is friendly and helpful. The staff is efficient and helpful. Our room was well decorated and very, very clean. We stayed at the Hotel Am Dom for three nights while on a hectic business trip and found it to be an oasis. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    102
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
68
160
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We were booked into this hotel after the Hotel Elefant "lost" our reservation. Looks like they updated the rooms recently, they have flat panel TV, and swank bathrooms, comfy beds. There is really only room downstairs for a reception area and a few tables and breakfast bar. No lounge area to congregate and meet other vacationer's. However, that was made up for by its excellent central location in old town. So easy to walk wherever we needed. And most of the sights were in the old town anyway, so we were right close by that and numerous restaurants. Staff was nice and friendly. We had them help us book a tour- and it was obvious that was still new to them. But again, friendly and had a good grasp of English, so it turned out fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canatrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Visiting the Hotel Am Dom was a wonderful part of my holiday in Austria. It's location was ideal... on a picturesque side street very close to the centre of town. The staff could not have been friendlier or more thoughtful, despite the language barrier. It was a beautiful hotel which could boast all the luxuries of modern conveniences while still maintaining in architectural character at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemarylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We booked this hotel after reading good reviews here and at booking.com and we were not disappointed. This hotel has a very very good location - its bang in the middle of the old town, on Goldgasse street literally within a stone's throwing distance (with a strong arm, of course) to the Dom. Funicular to go up to the salzburg castle is within walking distance too. The rooms are new and very stylish - and very comfortable beds too! And free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel!

Two minor shortcomings -there's no room service for food and only a limited breakfast spread + it was quite understaffed with one man running the show from handling the reception to making eggs for us at breakfast!! As there are plenty cafes and restaurants around the lack of food didn't really bother us though..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We were actually sent over to Hotel Am Dom because a nearby hotel (Zur Goldene Ente) couldn't fill our reservation. What could have been a bad situation turned out fantastically, as we got a great rate at the pricier Dom, a free dinner, and were treated to a sophisticated, newly renovated hotel right in the heart of Salzburg. The staff was friendly & accommodating, the room chic, and it was a great starting point for all of our Salzburg adventures (embarked upon on foot). One word of caution- the glass bathroom doors, although frosted in the most critical 60%, do reveal more of your bathroom activities than you might expect. While it's fine for couples, it might be awkward for family members and colleagues visiting your room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmq_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

This is an awesome hotel in a great location. I can't wait to return to Salzburg so I can stay here again!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The hotel is located in the very middle of the old town, the feeling is great: not only all the monuments are close by but, little by little, you are being absorbed in the history of the city and start feeling like living in the 17th century. The hotel is very modern and very efficiently run, rooms are small but highly comfortable. Breakfast is good, quite consistent, eggs cooked as you wish, any kind of coffee or tea, even Red Bull is available! Everything is very cozy. Still the best feature of this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the entire personnel, from hotel manager to staff: they manage to make you feel a strange mixture of 'visitor' 'at home'.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mircix2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#9 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Property: Hotel Am Dom
Address: Goldgasse 17, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing